We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service, fabulous views”
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #7 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and myself and my 13 year old daughter stayed for 1 week leaving on 25th July 2013. Our first all inclusive experience. Our room was big and a little tired looking but kept very clean and had a fridge and free safe. We were on 4th floor with a view out of the front of the hotel which was just want you want, the turquoise sea, the incredible blue sky and a view of the rest of the island mountains and the quay of Agios Nikalos. Perfect. The service was excellent in the bars, the restaurants and reception. The bars, restaurants and pool are on the fifth floor with the same fabulous views. The snack bar lady was not as friendly initially but she improved as she got to know us. The entertainments lady was full of energy and very pleasant. We had a very lazy week enjoying the all inclusive which saved us a fortune, cocktails were included and we only had to pay for names brand drinks. The food was amazing particularly the Greek specialities, always fully stocked and delicious. Kiriakos the maitre de was very good, assisting with all our needs including a cake with my daughters name on for her birthday. It was my birthday 2 days later but we were too embarrassed to mention but the hotel knew and provided yet another cake, lovely touch. The reception staff also helped my organise balloons for my daughter. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would go back again. No predominant nationality here, just a nice mix and we had no hassle with sunbeds, we were relaxed about them and got them whenever we wanted them. Beautiful beach if you turn left out of hotel about 10 min walk, pebble beach directly in front of hotel with private tunnel from hotel. Highlight of holiday was seeing a giant sea turtle surfacing just outside of hotel. Amazing. Thank you to all the kind staff who made this a lovely holiday for us.

Room Tip: Beds were a little uncomfortable as week progressed. Sea view will make your stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (889)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 889 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

We have just had two wonderful weeks at the Hermes and we can only provide words of praise. We had a problem with the room bookings at the start as they booked a family of five on two floors, but this was resolved the next day. We were also provided with a suite upgrade in the second week with a superb view of the sea and town. Half board basis, which was enough. The rooms are very clean and daily room maid services are provided. The variety of the meals was very good and more than sufficient to cater for five different appetites. Excellent location. Slight criticism is that the "entertainment" was too 1970s/1980s and aimed at an older generation. Not many British in the hotel when we were staying. Not always a bad thing! The staff were very helpful and did their best to meet our requests. Swimming pool is salt water, which was a surprise at first! Would strongly recommend a stay!

Room Tip: Sea view suites are a big bonus. Try and secure one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Review_Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here with my wife for a fortnight half board. I cannot speak too highly of this hotel - the location is superb, right on the sea front with fabulous views over the bay (well worth paying for a sea view), and only a five minute walk to the town centre. The food is varied and really high quality. Service is excellent and the staff are invariably friendly - nothing is too much trouble for them.
Agios Nikolaos has to be one of the most beautiful towns I have stayed in - I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone looking for a wonderfully relaxing holiday (probably not for those with young children / teenagers though!)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
2  Thank Mossgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We have been staying at the iberostar Hermes hotel in Crete for at least 5 years. Never had an issue with the hotel. All the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. 3 years ago we had some friends of ours come out to Crete for a weeks holiday, loved it so much that they have since been out on holiday with ourselves a couple more times. They could not believe how beautiful the island is and we had rooms next to each other which was good to.

Room Tip: When you book your holiday, because we have been their so many times we book the same room. All room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Otter190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

we have just spent two fabulous weeks at the hermes crete the food was excellent and staff brilliant i woulr like to mention eva maria kuola clio elani and andreas. my only downside no fault of the hotel was the russians.

Room Tip: we had room 619 fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in a suite family located on the roof. The room clean and tidy. Great hotel service, The attentive staff provides a solution to every problem. The hotel very suitable for families with older children .The food variety. Located in the city center near the sea. I wish there was some agreement with the beach as we had to pay for beach services. Also it is advisable renew their televisions. Greatly enjoyed our stays.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EytanK43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had a wonderful holiday at the Hermes, from the moment we arrived, our suitcases were taken to our room, there in the fridge we found a complimentary meal and bottles of water, throughout our stay all the staff were polite and helpful, the choice of food was extensive and excellent, the outside part of the restaurant was a big plus for us, fantastic views over the bay and where we were looked after by Eva. We also had a free safe free aircon and free wi fi, carpets on corridors and in rooms also made our stay very quiet and relaxing. The pool is large enough and we always found sunbeds if required, we stayed in the Hotel most evenings as the entertainment was very good and to our taste, there is a shingle beach across the road and sandy one a few minutes walk away, the Hotel provide blue towels for the beach. The Hotel is in a very good position only a short walk into town and buses pass the door. We had a room with a sea view which also had views across the bay. On our day of departure we were able to shower in a spare room at no extra cost, we will return to the Hermes without doubt, in fact we cannot wait! 8-22 June 2013 Room 317

Room Tip: A room with a sea view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Denis354_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
0.1 mi away
Coral Hotel
Coral Hotel
#10 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
502 reviews
1.6 mi away
Candia Park Village
Candia Park Village
#1 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
674 reviews
1.0 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only
22.8 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 173 in Hersonissos
770 reviews
0.8 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Address: Akti Koundourou 17, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece (Formerly Dessole Hermes)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range: $70 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the coastal line of Mirabello bay, Hermes hotel gives you the opportunity to tastethe unique Mediterranean Sea and is only one step away from the heart of the lively city ofAgios Nikolaos. Hermes is the perfect starting point for those wishing to explore the wondersof Crete simultaneously offering an experienced service and numerous facilities for yourcomfort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Hermes Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Hermes Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Hermes Hotel Crete/Agios Nikolaos
Hermes Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing