We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was great!”
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #7 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“it was great!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here in September.
The best location of the hotel, very good service and tasty food, especialy cheese, fish and meat.
Neat the hotel there are two Rental Cars and two shops that work even at night :)
Also there are bus stop and you can go to Elounda even for 1,7 euro.

Room Tip: View from rooms on the 4 floor is amizing! Don't choose room without sea-view because you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerenyukTatiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    280
    89
    23
    13
See reviews for
164
424
34
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed at the Iberostar Hermes for one week on a half-board basis as part of a Direct Holidays package holiday. We were allocated room 450, a spacious twin room located on the pool level of the hotel. The room had a balcony that looked over to the adjacent apartment building but with a reasonable sea-view. The room was furnished to a fairly basic standard but was clean, quiet and comfortable. The domestic service was good with daily cleaning and linens and towels changed on request. Pool towels were provided. Our only issue was that the room's air-conditioning system was not particularly effective.

The hotel is well located on the sea-front, just a few minutes walk from the town-centre. The town's three public beaches are all within 15 minutes walk. In our opinion, the local beaches are not great despite their "Blue Flag" status. We therefore chose to spend our time at the hotel's pool. The pool area is spacious with ample provision of sun-loungers. It is a salt-water pool which we found refreshing - a pleasant change from the usual smell of chlorine.

The quality of the catering was excellent - a good choice of food both at breakfast and dinner and all freshly prepared, well presented and delicious. The dinner menu always offered a choice of fresh salads, fish, meat dishes, Greek as well as pasta and pizza options. Breakfasts offered fresh fruit, freshly prepared pancakes, omelettes as well as the usual cereals and "cooked breakfasts". There was a Greek night with an outdoor barbecue followed by Greek music and dancers.

The "star" of this hotel is the service - from the check-in experience at reception, to the helpful porter, to the friendly staff at the bar and restaurant, to the cheerful domestic staff. They all really made our stay so enjoyable.

We could have easily summed up the above by simply saying - "great hotel, great holiday!"

Definitely recommended and definitely will return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellonway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

the iberostar hotel is a wonderful hotel i had one of the best holidays in my life there. i have only been the one time but would love to go again the only slight downfall is the pretty costly price apart from that everything's great. the food caters for many people for example vegans or vegetarians. when you go you get a free al a carte restaraunt choice may i recommend the mexican it is gorgeous, all in all i think it's an amazing hotel.

Room Tip: the rooms that end in 28 you get a very good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ell e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in August. The location and views from this hotel are fantastic.

The rooms are quite dated in comparison with the rest of the hotel but the air conditioning is good and is a huge relief during summer months. I think a sea view is a must, however the balconies are quite small.

We stayed on an all inclusive basis but didn't eat there very often as the restaurant requires gents to wear long pants which is not ideal in the heat, we also wanted to eat out in the town. The lunches we had were lovely though. If you want a snack round the pool you have to pay but it is subsidised. The drinks are good but local, for Smirnoff vodka etc you have to pay.

The pool area had stunning views but was very busy in August. You have to get up early if you want a good spot!

We would go back to this hotel as the location is superb. The views from the pool area are amazing.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyLocket1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Lucy,

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent visit. They help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve customer satisfaction and therefore our guest´s reviews are of prime importance. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that everybody leaves with beautiful vacation memories.

On the other hand we are very satisfied that you are so enthusiastic about all of our prime pillars to offer a splendid stay to all our guests. Service orientation and helpfulness of our staff, gastronomical delights and a perfect location are the three most important elements of our company and reading that you find all three marvelous, fills us with joy and proud. We thank you for high lightening these aspects of your holiday as they motivate and stimulate us to keep meeting our outstanding quality standards.

We hope you had a nice journey back home, and we can´t wait to may welcome you back among us to thank you personally for your encouraging review.

Our best regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Really want to go back to this place. Great location.. really enjoyed walking down to the lake and looking across the sea in the evening. Nice restaurants in easy reach and a larger beach a short walk away. One evening we had a barbecue. Was well worth the money and Crete was such a beautiful place with lovely trips... really recommend going to spinalonga and reading the book about it called 'the island.' We went in June 2011.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma77s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Good points:
Food is very tasty with plenty of variety.
Maids did an excellent job, reception and dining staff were also very good.
Location is the best you can get! looking out at the bay, can't get closer to the sea and 3 minute walk to the centre, perfect.
Free computer use in the lounge.
Free safety deposit box in rooms.
And small meal and bottled water left in fridge if arriving on a late flight.

Bad points:
Pool is salt water, the levels of salt are extreme, I went in the pool on our first day and didn't go back, the sea is much nicer anyway but if prefer to spend your days by the pool then I wouldn't go here.

Rooms are dated, again this didn't bother us as we spent little time there but if you don't plan to leave the hotel much then I would suggest going elsewhere.

All rooms allow smoking! we booked with Thomas cook which gave the room upgrade option (sea view) but didn't say anywhere about requesting a non smoking room, neither does it say on the hotel's website. We had to be moved from our original room as the smell of smoke was so strong, I couldn't sleep as my chest was so tight from the fumes. We still had a sea view but on the first floor which was incredibly noisy from the traffic, we didn't want to complain about this though because of the reception we received when complaining to the reservations staff the first time around. She said smoking was allowed in Greece and therefore all rooms had ash trays and allowed smoking but if we didn't want a smoking room we should have requested one!? A complete contradiction as she just said all rooms allowed smoking so even if we did request a non smoking room we still would have been put in one.

This put a downer on the start of our holiday, mainly the way the reservation lady spoke to us.

Other then that incident I can't say anything really bad about this place, the location, food and views make it a brilliant place but I don't think it should still be rated as 4* as the facilities aren't really up to 4* standard. The air con in the rooms is very dated, we could only have it on for 30 mins as it would end up given us blocked noses and making us feel ill as it was just dirty recycled air. The first room we were put in also smelt very strongly of alcohol so that air being recycled over and over was just vile.

If I returned to Ag Nik I wouldn't stay here again as we spent very little time in the hotel and could have stayed in a 2* 50m down the road with the exact same great views same standard of rooms for £30 cheaper per night.

If you haven't booked yet and your one for spending most of your days at the beach or exploring I would book somewhere like the Victoria hotel but if you have already booked here I wouldn't worry as it is a nice place with far more positives then negatives and I had a pretty good experience here I just wouldn't book this place again.

Ag Nik is a great resort, eating out isn't that expensive in comparison to the UK, you can get a greek salad in most places for 4e which is very filling and most places bring out a basket of bread with that too (Free of charge). Beer ranges from 2.5 to 4e and cocktails are 7e pretty much everywhere apart from one place where i saw a few for 9e.

The local bus to elounda is very cheap and a very pretty journey that only takes about 10 or 15 mins, eating out in Elounda is also inexpensive (cheaper the Ag Nik).

If your worried about not having a sea view I wouldn't worry you get an amazing view from the fifth floor where the pool is. I found the mattresses very comfortable and slept really well on them although traffic noise on the main road didn't allow for a great nights sleep so sleep quality for me was average.

Room Tip: Sea view from the fourth floor is fantastic if you request a sea view I would ask for the fourth flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TMF90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Our stay in July was my 3rd at the Hermes. Although blocky in external appearance, this Hotel is a gem. The location, reception, staff, rooms, food and pool are all lovely. The bedding and rooms are immaculate and the air con, safes and internet (in communal area), free. I have stayed with both a female friend and my partner. Both loved the Hermes and can't wait to return. Only grumbles are 1 grumpy waiter, who has been at the Hermes every time I've stayed there. The other waiting staff are fabulous, like the rest of the Hermes team, and the pool is very shaded meaning it is usually fairly cold, initially. July was a bit hot for me. I'll stick with June or September in future. I recommend the Hermes to all my friends and family.

Room Tip: Sea View room essential
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pragueophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agios Nikolaos hotels
0.0 mi away
Coral Hotel
Coral Hotel
#13 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
443 reviews
1.0 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#10 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
856 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace
Sensimar Minos Palace
#4 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Candia Park Village
Candia Park Village
#5 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
576 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
#6 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
1,641 reviews
0.8 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Property: Hermes Hotel
Address: Akti Koundourou 17, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece (Formerly Dessole Hermes)
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the coastal line of Mirabello bay, Hermes hotel gives you the opportunity to tastethe unique Mediterranean Sea and is only one step away from the heart of the lively city ofAgios Nikolaos. Hermes is the perfect starting point for those wishing to explore the wondersof Crete simultaneously offering an experienced service and numerous facilities for yourcomfort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Hermes Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Hermes Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Hermes Hotel Crete/Agios Nikolaos
Hermes Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing