We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swings and Roundabouts”
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #7 of 94 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Swings and Roundabouts”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Its a funny business booking an hotel, particularly if youre going off old photos in magazines and other peoples critiques. You haven't a clue whether the pictures have been 'photoshopped' or the people making the crits are friends of the manager or shareholders in the company!
Then theres the situation of the the hotel before you consider the hotel itself. Is it among the clubs and pubs of the resort, on the Mulsanne Straight of said resort or is in its own grounds surrounded by surf beaten beaches and palm trees with only the song of sea birds for company. . The hotel in this case is very close to the town centre and great for the evening meander around the coast or through the towns shops and tavernas.
Having closely analysed these factors theres the hotel. Who is it owned by and whats their reputation. How many hotels are there in the group and where are they situated.
The boxes so far ticked you book - you get out of your transfer vehicle take a first glance at the location and walk in to the foyer and how first appearances matter. The Hermes while pretty minimalistic has a clean and spacious entrance. The public areas on each floor are pleasantly carpeted. The rooms vary in size and aspect. We had a large 3rd floor room over the front door with delightful views from the balcony. The room was just off basic, but clean and adequate. Like others we found the beds hard, but the mattress topper was forth coming and made a huge difference. We would have liked to have slept with the balcony doors open but the noise of the silencer- less motor bikes and early morning coaches and delivery vehicles prevented that.
The sunrises were stunning. I would have preferred a light duvet to sheets and a bed cover.
The service in the restaurant was excellent Anthony and Eva et al were exemplary in their attentiveness and courteousness.
The food. The breakfasts lacked that je ne sais quoi that made it a great start to the day. It was all there fresh fruit oranges and grapefruit, but why oh! why tinned fruit in bowls - sorry Hermes not on! The same hot dog sausage for the full English every day - please! The fresh bread though was hard to beat and with Greek Honey was great. So, varied . Dinner in the evening was similar some star turns , when it was good it was greatbut more often than not it was of a mediocre standard. Lacking consistancy.
Evening entertainment varied similarly.
The present manager has been in situ a comparatively short time and is certainly hands on and door wide open in approach and it is very clear that he is making progress and will continue to up the hotels game. We wish him and his team every success. Given the pluses and minuses i hope we'll be back.

Room Tip: Mattress topper. If you are a non smoker sit up wind of smokers on the patio at meal times. Take yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank themustang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    268
    85
    22
    11
See reviews for
154
398
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We were recommended and were not disappointed.The hotel is in an excellent position in agios,only minutes from the centre.Good food,great room,excellent views,and good staff.the hotel has certain charm that seems to be missing today.3 beaches +a small pebble beach in front of hotel.suited to the more mature traveller.fridge,a/c,safe + pool towels.

Room Tip: 4th floor and above to avoid street noise although it was'nt too bad.pay extra for sea view.It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

A nice comfortable hotel, in a great location.

The bedroom was quite spacious, but rather lacking in drawer space. The staff were all very friendly and efficient. We found the bed a bit too hard for us (and we like a firm mattress), but we requested a mattress topper and some extra pillows at about 9:00 a.m., and when I went back to the room at 10:30 they were in place - excellent service!

We had a sea view room on an upper floor (i.e. higher up than the roof terrace on the 5th floor). The upper floor rooms are set further back from the road, so there is no problem with noise. NOTE: Some of the floors are not full accessible by lift, for example for our room on the 9th we had to take the lift to the 8th then walk up a short flight is stairs - not a problem for us, but it might be for some folk.

Breakfasts were OK, but not great - choice of fresh fruit was rather limited.

We were booked as half board, but ended up only taking two dinners in the hotel. The food was passable, but rather bland, and nowhere near as good as could be had in a lot of local tavernas.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room with a sea view. Try to book B&B only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed in Hermes from 12th till 19th June and had a great time. Pictures on internet dont do it justice. The pool and bar area are fantastic - on the 5th floor, so the panaramic view is breathtaking. The bar is run by 2 great ladies, they look after you really well an have a good conversation too. Food in the buffet restaurant was ok, but on the last night it was fish night and i'm not a fish lover so it was pizza instead. We stayed in room 811 - beds a bit hard but the maid got an additional matress topper and it was really much more comfortable,and again great views to wake up to in the morning. Some of the evening entertainment was out of this world, especially the Brazilian dancers - unbelievable what they could do - you must watch them if they're on. Ag Nik is just around the corner - turn right from hotel. Load of restaurants. Walk up the hill and down other side to sandy beach. Take a boat trip to Spinalonga, we decided on smaller boat with Victor on Nautilus - 10E each, well worth it and you pay 2E to look at the island, they then stop for a swim in the sea - fab. Great hotel and positioning for walking

Room Tip: Room 811 was quiet and great views - twin or double room with fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tracycas03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

My husband and I spent a week at the Hermes in early June. We travel frequently but this hotel was everything we hoped for and more. The sea views were stunning over the bay. The hotel has its own pebble beach which is fine but five minutes walk along the seafront is Amoudi beach which is a beautifully sandy beach. We went there every day and on our second day the chap that rents the beds had saved our preferred spot for us!! This is our tenth time in Ag Nik, first time at Hermes, the staff, food, cleanliness and friendliness of the staff was second to none. If you are booking be sure to request sea view.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martelandhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I have been going to this hotel since 1991 and I can honestly say I have never been disappointed! It is in the ideal location with only a short walk into the centre of town; it has the most amazing views of the Mirabella Bay; it is spotlessly clean; the staff are so friendly and welcoming; the food is varied, plentiful and of a good standard; there is now an entertainment team and if you wish you can take part in the daily activities; there is entertainment every evening if you wish to stay in, but the town offers many lovely bars and typical Greek Tavernas; the hotel has two bars serving every kind of drink you can imagine, including mouthwatering cocktails and I must make a special mention of Koula and Clio in the Pool Bar who serve up tasty lunch and snack menu along with drinks. I have just returned and am currently planning my next stay.

Room Tip: Because of the stunning views of the Mirabella Bay, it is is worth spending the extra for a sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisGord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

My husband and I spent a week here in May. We were delighted that there was food in the room for us (covered in the fridge) when we arrived ( 2 a.m.) as we had had a long journey and had not eaten since early afternoon. Our room was spacious and the beds were comfortable, although we had to ask for extra pillows. The bathroom was adequate and clean.The shower over the bath was somewhat dated but it worked well enough. The choice of food in the restaurant was good and the staff always very pleasant and considerate. The hotel is well located, and it is a pleasant few minutes walk into the town where there are some delightful shops and tavernas. The small private beach and the roof top swimming pool are a little disappointing, but when we were there one could always be assured of a sunbed, and the sun terrace is fairly spacious. We will definitely choose this hotel next time we visit Agios Nikolaos.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. The Mirabello Bay is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McCleery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agios Nikolaos hotels
1.0 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#10 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
801 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coral Hotel
Coral Hotel
#14 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
419 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace
Sensimar Minos Palace
#4 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Candia Park Village
Candia Park Village
#5 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
559 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lato Hotel
Lato Hotel
#9 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
448 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
#6 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Property: Hermes Hotel
Address: Akti Koundourou 17, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece (Formerly Dessole Hermes)
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the coastal line of Mirabello bay, Hermes hotel gives you the opportunity to tastethe unique Mediterranean Sea and is only one step away from the heart of the lively city ofAgios Nikolaos. Hermes is the perfect starting point for those wishing to explore the wondersof Crete simultaneously offering an experienced service and numerous facilities for yourcomfort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Hermes Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Hermes Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Hermes Hotel Crete/Agios Nikolaos
Hermes Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing