We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - excellent location”
Review of Coral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coral Hotel
Ranked #10 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Visited Hotel Coral end of August 2013. Went with friends, who are used to 5* hotels so were a bit nervous as the Coral is only a 3*. We needn’t have worried! The hotel itself is situated in a fantastic position on the seafront opposite a pebbly beach, and within easy walking distance to the harbour and bars and restaurants. We went all inclusive and the food and drinks were really good (although a little repetitive) and service excellent. Definitely pay extra for a sea view room, as the views are stunning and if you ask for a high floor you will be overlooking the pool as opposed to the road. (only downside to higher floor is that the lift is very small and takes a while to come, but the stairs are good exercise after all the food you’ll eat!!) The rooms are well equipped with coffee making facilities, safe, hairdryers and even beach towels. The interior is a little tired looking, but was clean and kept tidy. If you are going out for the day you can also order a packed lunch to take with you the day before. A pebbly beach is just across the road and you can hire sunbeds and umbrellas here (we paid 7 euros for 2 beds and an umbrella per day) and also there is a diving centre just to the side of the beach. Perfect position if you want to nip back to the hotel for lunch. If you want a sandy beach, turn left out of the hotel and walk for about 5-10mins to a small sandy beach again with sunbeds and umbrellas.
The harbour is to the right of the hotel about 10-15 min walk and you can take boat trips to Spinalonga which is great value for just 15 euros which takes about 4 hours and includes swimming in the sea from the boat – well recommended.
The evening entertainment wasn't great but we made the most of the disco night and joined in with the dancing. The AI drinks finish at 11.00pm but we always went out to the local bars for some nightlife afterwards (we are all in our late 40's but young at heart).
The only downside I can think of is that the pool bar closes at 5.30pm which is a shame as it is a lovely bar with great views.
All in all would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a good hotel in great location.

Room Tip: Take beach shoes for the pebbly beach opposite as it can be quite painful getting in and out of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lapis-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 502 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

we booked a last minute holiday to this hotel. it had mixed reviews so we were unsure what to expect.
on arrival we were taken to our room on the seventh floor by a member of staff, who incidentally did not want or expect a tip, he showed how everything worked.
when we opened the curtains we could not believe the view. Spectacular was an understatement.
the good service went on throughout the week.
paying for a sea view room is well worth it. a big advantage of this hotel is it is adults only. this makes the whole atmosphere calm and less frenetic.
my wife found the food excellent, I as a pure vegetarian found it a little limited but if you like salad you are ok. I returned home sprouting rabbit ears.
would we go again? definitely.

Room Tip: sea view has high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grumpyoldmanWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Hotel Coral has a great location just a short stroll from the main attractions within Agios Nikolaos, however, whilst the rooms are very clean and relatively spacious, the carpet in the corridor is filthy! The staff were very pleasant and helpful and I couldn't fault the food at all. My only compalint about the restaurant is the sign at the entrance which states the dress code and that shorts are not permitted, the majority of people ignored this and simply wore whatever they wanted during dinner, my view is either remove the sign or start to implement the dress code!! The room was cleaned every day and fresh towels were also supplied. The beach was very close but the stones made a journey into the sea quite hazardous. All in all we really enjoyed our holiday minus these minor complaints.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week in August 2013 and had the all inclusive package. We had pre-booked a room with a sea view based on previous reviews and were very happy with the choice. Room on the 7th floor was decent size, very small balcony though (rooms at the end of the building had smaller balconies than those in the middle), it hardly fit two chairs. The room was very clean and the towels and bed sheets were changed daily. The interior of the room was worn out though, with stains on the carpet and furniture. The walls seemed to be paper thin as we could hear everything from the room next door and from the disco at the hotel next to ours. Luckily we were staying up late anyways so didn't have too much trouble with the noise.

The food at the hotel was good but nothing special. Mostly more international food and very few Greek dishes, which I was a bit disappointed about. The choice of food was more or less the same every day and for a week it was okay, but wouldn't want to eat it for two weeks. We ended up going to local restaurants just to get some variety.

The location of the hotel is excellent, very close to center of the city and all restaurants and bars. The pool area of the hotel was nice and had a great view. There's also a small public beach in front of the hotel and many others within walking distance.

Overall we had a good stay, felt like the hotel was good value for your money, but would probably pay a little extra next time to stay at a more upscale place.

Room Tip: A room with a sea view in the higher floors is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I came to this hotel with my wife this summer in august 2013
We wait about 1.5 -2 to get our room and then we sew that we got a room far away from -yes -second elevator and after about 55-60 meters walking in the hall.
The room was OK and the room service was good.
The room was with a view to some construction building-not highly recommended!!
In the reception was no hello attitude -till i sad hello to concierge -all 10 nights-not quiet polite!
The food was OK except breakfast -very poore.
The other things are ok ?but i not really recommending on this hotel-service very poor!

Room Tip: You must order a sea room ahead before the trip/
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two weeks in August 2013 with two teenagers. First of all I would like to say that Monarch/Cosmos, with whom we booked, did not mention the suitability of the hotel for that age, and I can confirm that I would not recommend this hotel for anyone under the age of 40, as the majority of the clientele are at least that age (including me!). Location is the hotel's greatest asset; only a five minute walk from the lovely town, with its abundant restaurants, bars and shops, with no tacky English/foreign bars and enough variety to please all ages, including trendy disco type bars that seemed to be packed with under 30s most nights. The hotel has a small shingle beach in front of it, which you get to by descending some steep steps. The sea is lovely and clean here but you do have to pay 2.00 Euros for each sunbed and another 2.50 for a parasol, which is essential in August. As a private beach, I thought this was a bit mean.

I had been pre-warned to book a room on the 4th, 5th, 6th, or 7th room for a view of the sea, which I did. This cost me more on top of the basic holiday, but it was well worth it. The views from there are the best aspects of the hotel. On the 1st ad 2nd floors other travellers reported traffic noise, and some rooms had views of unfinished buildings or faced other peoples' rooms. The room was dated, and the carpets a bit stained in places, but the bathroom was very clean and I was impressed that the cleaners changed our towels every day and provided complementary soap and shower gel every day. Sheets appeared to be changed at least once every three days. I couldn't fault the cleanliness of the hotel toilets or rooms themselves. The cleaners obviously work very hard.

The food was OK, but nothing fancy, and by the end of the holiday I was sick of seeing melon, grapes and peaches as the only fresh fruit alternative to some children's party type desserts. There was not an authentic Greek dessert in sight, apart from the yoghurt. Jelly and what resembled blancmange or cake with mock cream were served regularly; other nationalities appeared to like it, but I would have liked to have seen some Baklava or a greater variety of fresh fruit. I would also have liked to have seen some fresh fish, but had to go to the local tavernas to even have calamares or whitebait. The only fish that regularly appeared was some tasteless, and I suspect frozen, baked perch or similar. Don't get me wrong, the food was edible, just not very exciting. My beer drinking husband and son suspected the beer had been watered down a bit too.

The pool area was very pleasant and well maintained. It was nice to have a salt water rather than a chlorine pool - easier on the eyes. Also the view from the terrace could be enjoyed by those who were not fortunate enough to have a seaview room.. The bar opened at 10.00am and closed at 5.30, with cold drinks, coffee and tea, local brand alcohol, beer and wine served, with "coffee and cakes" for an hour in the afternoon. Ice cream was also available during this time. Most days there were enough sun loungers, except towards the end of the holiday, where several people (not Brits!) decided to ignore the "no reserving" rule and hogged several sunbeds as soon as the terrace was open, but didn't actually use them until a couple of hours later. Most annoying..

There was no real entertainment to speak of; a sad disco once a week with a local middle-aged DJ playing the hits of years gone by (to which nobody, except one French lady, danced), a trio of British dancers one night, and a Cretan night (four locals performing typical Greek and Cretan dances for an hour). The best night was when a young British couple got everyone to skip in the middle of the dance floor; if it hadn't have been for them the place would have been dead. Most nights we went out for drinks elsewhere, despite having paid all-inclusive. In any case, you could only drink local brands, which weren't up to much, although Metaxa 3 Star was OK with coke. I felt sorry for Marianna who worked behind the bar. She was always smiling and cheerful. Some of the other staff in the hotel were not particularly helpful or friendly, particularly the sour-faced middle-aged woman at reception and the scary guy in charge of the restaurant who fingered the croissants with his bare hands.......

I would recommend this hotel for middle aged couples and above, who don't mind not eating local food, want to relax by the pool and do not much else apart from admire the view. I would not recommend it for anyone wanting to try Greek food or be entertained.

Room Tip: Pay the supplement for a sea view room from the 4th floor upwards. Be aware this hotel may not be su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for a week and overall it was a reasonably nice and comfortable hotel with fairly good food. The bed was comfy - although we were a little disappointed that having booked a double room it was just two single beds pushed together, and not even made up with double sheets. The room was clean and the view from our balcony was lovely.

However we were not at all happy to find that the cleaner had been smoking in our room! We also found that the hotel manager was very rude - when we politely spoke to him at dinner one night as the pork was undercooked he insisted quite rudely it was not, and gave us filthy looks for the rest of the week.

I would visit Agios Nikolaos again, but I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Definitely request a sea view room as a lot of the non-sea view rooms had views of a construction si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieSaint1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agios Nikolaos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#7 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
889 reviews
1.0 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
988 reviews
0.4 mi away
Du Lac hotel
Du Lac hotel
#23 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Arhontiko Apartments
Hotel Palazzo Arhontiko Apartmen...
#16 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
160 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only
2.0 mi away
Faedra Beach Hotel
Faedra Beach Hotel
#34 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Hotel

Address: Akti Koundourou, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece (Formerly Dessole Coral Hotel)
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#16 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range: $93 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Coral Hotel Aghios Nikolaos
Coral Hotel Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing