We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Coral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coral Hotel
Ranked #12 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for one week all-inclusive at the Coral Hotel and we never wanted to leave. We paid extra for the sea-view which was worth every penny and more. I couldn't wait to open the curtains every morning!

Transfer from Heraklion took two hours as there were so many drop offs along the way. We missed dinner by a long way so they had left two salads and some water in the fridge for us which was very nice.

Room was great - we had air con, a safe, a TV, a kettle and teabags / coffee / hot chocolate (plus powdered milk - good thinking!), dressing table, room phone, and a hairdryer in the bathroom. The maids cleaned it every day and brought fresh towels and bedding. We were also provided with a beach towel each.

Pool area was nice too. It's a rooftop pool so I often felt a bit like I was on a cruise! Great views out over the bay, free drinks and ice cream for all inclusive guests whilst snacks were half price. Never had any trouble getting a sun lounger, and there was direct sun there from first thing in the morning until about half five. The pool wasn't massive but there were only ever a couple of people in it anyway, just having a dip to cool down. It would be a waste to have a bigger pool really as the sea is right outside the front of the hotel.

The pebble beach across the road from the hotel is just great. It doesn't look a deal from the road but we gave it a go and ended up spending most of the days there. The pebbles are plenty comfy enough to lie on (although you can hire sun loungers for 2.50 and parasols for 2 euros), the sea was lovely to swim in and there were buoys to mark out the safe area, and they also have scuba diving there. If you want sandy beaches there is one a five minute walk to the left, and one ten / fifteen minutes to the right. I would recommend the one on the right, you have to walk through town but the sea there is so calm that it's like being in a huge Swiss lake (just a lot warmer!)

The food was lovely, all buffet style so you can try whatever you want. Breakfast was full English, continental, bread, fruit, cereals, yoghurt, etc. Lunch and dinner had plenty of different dishes - usually spaghetti, lots of nice fish, different meat dishes, rice, potatoes, veg, pizza, etc, and they had some traditional Greek dishes too. More salad than I ever seen in my life - all very fresh. Dessert was a selection of cakes / mousse and there was always ice cream and sauce. At lunch and dinner the waitresses took drink orders at the table. They gave us a packed lunch when we went for a day out - this was a ham and cheese sandwich (they put butter and a tomato in the bag so you could add what you wanted), an apple and a boiled egg.

The bar downstairs was fine for a drink or two in the evening. It wasn't the most amazing decor (the furniture reminded me a bit of a sixth form common area) but the staff were lovely (as they were through the whole hotel) and we enjoyed just having a drink there before / after dinner and then walking into town (five / ten minutes to the right). It's not the sort of place you could sit in all night every night, but that's not what we wanted. They had one or two nights of entertainment in the week we were there but we didn't see it as we were usually walking around the town.

We left late on the last day (9pm pick up) but we had to check out of the room by 12 noon. I was a bit unsure about how that would work but they gave us somewhere to store our luggage and provided a room where we could have a shower and get changed later on so we could still go the beach and freshen up afterwards, they left lots of towels and shower gel for everyone to use. There is only one room though so don't leave it til the last minute because you might have to wait for other people to finish! As we were so late leaving they let us have an extra evening meal free of charge which made life a lot easier too (our board was meant to be Tuesday evening til the following Tuesday lunch).

I really can't emphasise enough what a lovely hotel this is. We were just looking for a sunshine getaway to chill out after a busy year, but we somehow stumbled upon this little gem. Perfect location, great service and it didn't break the bank!

Room Tip: Without a doubt, pay the extra for a sea view!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jess G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
There are newer reviews for Coral Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 482 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

Just returned from a last min one week all inclusive from the coral. Know the area well as have been visiting elounda for the last 6 years on a self catering basis, so all inclusive was very weird for me, we arrived at the hotel at 5am, quick service at reception and a night porter brought our cases up for us as we were on the sixth floor. Hotel seemed full and knew we had booked an inland view but was very disappointed to be looking at the side wall of the next building on top of that we didn't even have a balcony!!!!! And it was a double bed that my mum and I had to share, never the less otherwise our room was great, air con, safe, room cleaned every day with fresh towels and also towels for the pool area,this was great until I returned to my sunbed after lunch and someone had stolen the sunbed and towel!!!! Food was lovely, plenty of choice from hot to cold food cakes to fresh fruit. Staff arw very helpful and friendly and work very hard. All inclusive finished at 11 so we stocked up on drinks just before. One thing that did disappointed me was the entertainment, or should I say lack of!!!! Out of a seven night stay there was only three nights entertainment. We arrived early weds so weds was a Greek night, very enjoyable then nothing Thurs Fri or Sat then disco was entertainment on Sundays by dj manos,Monday nothing and then lucky we had a late pick up as tue entertainment was three girls dancing, well worth watching they must have changed costumes 15 times at least, we had to be out of the room by 12 mid day but wasn't being picked up until 23.50 we were then able to keep the room until 6 for a cost of 30euro, this was expected and at least we were able to have a shower after a last min day at the policy,.

Room Tip: Make sure you have see view and room with a balcony. Tip not room 625
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nerys184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Due to overbooking at our hotel, the Santa Marina, we were placed here for one night, before 'returning to base'.

Trouble was, we were spoiled, for this was certainly a 'cut above' our real hotel!

We were given a suite, just for the 2 of us. It was very spacious and had a separate twin room off of the main room.

The 'all inclusive' food was excellent and the views from the wonderful roof top swimming pool and bar were brilliant, overlooking the bay.

The Coral also provided entertainment at night - we saw a really good professional dance troupe.

The 'free' bar ended rather early at 11pm, but this was still 1 hour later than our 'real' hotel.

Orders for (free) drinks were taken at the table in the evening and delivered to you (again in contrast to the Santa Marina). The range of food available at Dinner and Breakfast was extensive and very well cooked.

The wonderful town centre of Agios Nikolaos was only about a 10 minute stroll along the sea front.

After breakfast we returned to out home base in the free taxi that was provided for us. Although we had a really good time at the Santa Marina (see separate review) it was a great shame to leave the Coral.

Room Tip: I would imagine that the sea view rooms would be excellent, but we had a sideview - but we were ther...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank uplandswolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Me and Vanessa are currently here in Ag Nic, staying at the coral hotel. We are staying for a week all inclusive. The food is great with plenty of choice lunch and dinner with salads and at least 7 main courses on offer. Breakfast is a mix of full English and continental. No issues here and the service is great. Room - we booked a sea view, well worth the extra, room is cleaned daily, bedding changed with fresh towels left. Hotel pool area is lovely and clean, plenty of space with good bar staff. There is a beach below the hotel (pebble) and a lovely sandy beach 5 mins walk to the left when you come out of hotel. Marianne in the hotel main bar is a star !!! Making up cocktails for me to try. Booked this last minute, did not know what to expect, yes it's 3 star but brill value for money and deserves more. Nightlife in Ag Nic is great, tip - get out to the alexandros roof bar !!, make the most of the all inclusive - we've been all round the world but recommend this hotel to anyone, yes it still needs a bit of paint n a new carpet but hey wouldn't change location, Vanessa and Michael

Room Tip: Book a sea view room
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vmbuck2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We wanted somewhere to celebrate my wifes retirement in June and decided on Crete as we had never been there or anywhere else in Greece. We usualy go to mainland Spain,the Canaries or Balearics. We had heard some bad reports of Greece & its islands but decided to try for ourselves,and are so glad we did.From the moment we checked in this hotel exceeded all expectations. A porter showed us to our room,showed us how the air con.,t.v. & safe worked-these were all included in the all inclusive price-unlike the hotels were we have stayed in Spain who charge extra for these facilities. The rooftop pool has beautiful views and the pebble beach is just across the road (well ok its pebbles,but at least you don't get sand everywhere).The restaurant again has beautiful views and is spotlessly clean and very well run with no waiting for food or tables. All the staff at this hotel,management included,work hard to make your stay as enjoyable as possible and are always happy & friendly.Although all inc. we took a walk to the lake a couple of evenings for a meal and a few drinks,it's a lovely area and well worth the extra cost. We were very impressed with everything about this hotel & the area & will be returning as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms on lower level as these are just above the main road & can be noisy at night.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank senora53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at the Coral Hotel from 16th July-23rd July 13. We arrived at 10:30pm and were provided with a 'cold plate' which consisted of ham, cheese, stoned olives and some potato salad thing as the all inclusive dinner buffet ends at 21:30. The cold plate was disgusting, so we just went to bed hungry.

As for the food, we could not fault it. We had paid for all inclusive so were able to benefit from the amazing breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet including drinks and snacks in between from the dinner hall and pool side bar. The food was extremely mixed so there was something for everyone. The breakfast was American style until 10am, which included a cooked option, croissants, breads and cheeses and between 10-11am was continental. The lunch and dinner options were just as delicious!!! Just watch your waste line is all I can say.

Unfortunately, the food was the only good thing about this hotel in my opinion based on our stay. We were in room 208 and the view was dismal. Talk about room with a view, we had a view of a brown unfinished wall of a building that was in construction. The main road was very busy and you could hear the crashing of lorries, cars and motorbikes very early in the morning. The bathroom was tiny! You could barely move around in it. The list goes on with how awful our room was. Dirty and shabby carpets and curtains, unwashed towels and bed linen, no wifi (which we had to trek all the way down to reception for- at one point packed up for 2 days leaving us with no wifi with absolutely no apology from the hotel), no plugs (the man on the front desk was very rude and thought it was ok for us to pull out a huge, heavy desk to reach a multi-plug behind the tv-set which got very hot and was hazardous)

We didn't bother with the pool. It was so tiny, compared to the size of the hotel with not enough sunbeds. We spent most days at the small, man-made beach in-front of the hotel which was very nice indeed! The hotel does benefit from its amazing, central location and was just a 5-10 minute walk from the main centre with the 'bottomless' lake.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which overlooks the bay and swimming pool area.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soph20193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Booked with Jet2 Holidays on AI, a girls' holiday for 4 60 something friends. We hadn't realised it was adults only. Great! We usually do SC so this was a real change for us. We couldn't fault it.
From the moment we arrived, all the staff were helpful and friendly and everywhere was spotlessly clean.
Arriving after 11pm, there was a salad in the fridge for us.
We had 2 sea view rooms on the 5th floor - amazing to overlook the bay. It was too hot on the balcony even before breakfast but shady from mid afternoon.
The food was great. How could any reviewers complain about the food? Many of the dishes were based on Greek dishes but were catering for foreigners. Breakfast - cereals, fruit juices, cold meats and cheese, yoghurt, hot dishes, fruit (fresh and tinned), and a variety of breads to die for. Lunch - a massive salad bar and half a dozen hot dishes and dessert or yoghurt. Dinner - soup, salad bar (not the same as lunch), half a dozen hot dishes and hot vegetables, dessert and yoghurt. Greece is not known for it's desserts so don't expect a great choice but you are usually full after the other dishes anyway. The restaurant staff are very hard working and the manager makes sure everything runs like clockwork. If we didn't arrive together he could always point out where our friends were. And he ensured people were appropriately dressed.
There are loungers round the pool - hard to find one mid-afternoon or mid morning - but not many people reserved them, except when they just went for lunch (or breakfast). You can't get onto this area before about 8.30 anyway as it isn't cleaned before then so there's no "towels out at 6am!!" The girl at the pool bar works so hard and soon gets to know what you are likely to ask for.
The staff in the bar work very hard - usually only 2 of them so they are rushed off their feet mid evening. But early on they have time for a chat about your day.
There is a small man-made beach opposite. You really need shoes to go in the sea as it is very rocky. Loungers and parasols are charged for here.
Buses pick up and drop off at the hotel next door, so you can get to Elounda and Plaka very cheaply. If you want to go anywhere else, take a taxi to the bus station first.
A 10 minute stroll along the promenade gets you into the centre of Agios Nickolaos with its many bars, restaurants and shops. The market on Weds is good for fresh food for the locals but not much else.
There is a kettle in the room and a hairdryer in the bathroom.
if you have mobility problems this is not a hotel for you. The hotel is in 2 connected buildings with 2 separate lifts (one in each building) with stairs in between and stairs only to the dining room from the lifts.
If I came to Agios Nickolaos again I would definitely stay at the Coral again.

Room Tip: Sea view room worth the extra.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mayantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agios Nikolaos hotels
0.0 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#7 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
847 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only
0.5 mi away
Santa Marina Hotel
Santa Marina Hotel
#13 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#10 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
940 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mistral Bay Hotel
Mistral Bay Hotel
#64 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
32 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ariadne Beach
Ariadne Beach
#19 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Hotel

Address: Akti Koundourou, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece (Formerly Dessole Coral Hotel)
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#16 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range: $68 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Coral Hotel Aghios Nikolaos
Coral Hotel Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing