We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vilija & Smilte”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Vilija & Smilte”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2007

We spent 10 wonderful days in Saint Nicolas Bay hotel. There is a very good aura. In this hotel you can forget all your stresses, problems and the rush. Good food, friendly and attentive staff, the rooms kept clean all the time, amazing view from your window and blue, clean sea. It’s all you need for good holiday.
If you want to spend your evenings in a nice, romantic atmosphere, you should choose The Minotaure or The Greek Kafenion restaurants instead of having half-board, though food is good in all restaurants. The service is professional and very helpful. Especially we would like to say thanks to manager Costas and we wish him all the best.
On the beach or near the main pool there is enough space and it's not necessary to occupy the umbrellas and the deckchairs in the early morning like in other hotels.
If you have any problems or questions, you can ask about it the manager assistant. He will help you immediately.
We have been in Crete for five times and we can approve that St Nicolas Bay is one of the best.
We highly recommend St Nicolas Bay hotel for all who appreciates quality, friendliness, cosiness and the tranquil atmosphere.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smiltbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    188
    82
    27
    20
See reviews for
242
559
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2007

Not having been back to Greece for several years, I offered the family (my wife, son, daughter, son and daughter in law and their respective infants ,both under a year old - in all, 8 of us) an open choice. Having spent several excellent holidays in Crete in previous years and knowing that the island had a good selection of quality hotels with good facilities, we opted to return. The two hotels that stood out were the Elounda Beach and St Nicolas Bay, both of which we have stayed at in the past.
I contacted both hotels with details of the three generations who would be travelling and asked for suggestions as to the most suitable rooming formula and prices. St Nicolas Bay replied the same day and offered a two-bedroom suite with private pool and garden for our kids and their offspring and a Jr suite with terrace for my wife and I. The price suited our budget (Elounda Beach was excessive) and I then confirmed our arrival/departure dates with flight details for the hotel to arrange transfers.
We arrived late afternoon (June 2007) and were met by smartly presented drivers with air-con Mercedes taxis and bottles of mineral water set out n the back of the cars (a refreshing touch) and were whisked away on the 50 minute drive to Aghios Nicolaos at an acceptable speed (it seems, thankfully that taxi drivers in Crete have moderated their speeds since we last visited.
The rooms we had been allocated were perfect for our needs. The larger suite was made up of 2 bedrooms with efficient air-con and a sitting room in the middle. Two well equipped bathrooms with shower and sliding doors that led out to the terrace, garden and decent sized pool and breathtaking view of the sea and coastline. The Jr suite was equally well equipped with TV and DVD player (the reception keeps a good selection of DVDs for adults and children at no extra charge). Cots had been put in the rooms as requested and the mini-bars were stocked with a good selection of drinks and snacks.
The grand-children were tired and put to bed and then we went for dinner at the outdoor Labyrinthos restaurant where we enjoyed an excellent meal overlooking the bay and Aghios Nicolaos.
Our ten days at St Nicolas Bay were faultless. Blue sky and sunny weather allowed us to enjoy the safe beach for the children, the large sea-water pool with surrounding terrace and plenty of good quality loungers, superb lunches at the Blue Bay Bar and outstanding treatments at the spa. The staff were always friendly and smiling and they all spoke good English. Taxis to go into town were summoned by the reception within 5 - 10 minutes (€ 5 each way). The gardens were well tended by an army of gardeners and the general atmospher in the hotel was extremely pleasant. Other guests seemed to be predominantly British, French, German and Belgian and we didnt see any chavs or yobbish behaviour. We noticed a lot of improvements throughout the hotel since our last visit some six years ago and I gathered that the hotel had actually reduced the number of rooms in order to offer a higher standard and more rooms with private pools and gardens.
In conclusion, we were pleased that we chose St Nicolas Bay rather than Elounda Beach and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone. It offered an ideal atmosphere with charm and character and was totally unpretentious. We did not eat at the restaurant in the main building, so am unable to comment on the standard of food served to guests on half board (we opted for B & B basis). The final bill for 6 adults, 2 infants who had all their meals prepared and served either in the rooms or at the Blue Bay, spa treatments, private taxi transfers from the airport was unalarming and very good value.

  • Liked — It was all so effortless. Very relaxing. Unpretentious
  • Disliked — I cant think of anything I didnt like
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Avoiding_chavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2007

We have just returned from our holiday at the St N Bay hotel. We weren't disappointed at all by the hotel, or our holiday, as it is a great hotel, and had a recharging vacation, but I wouldn't go as far as saying it was luxury - expensive yes, luxury no.

We arrived, and shown our room by the assistant Manager and his ego of aftershave ;-). The room was a deluxe junior suite, with two terraces. Really great bed, nice and big and firm. The bathroom included a bath with jacuzzi and Molten Brown toiletries (that were restocked!). The room included tv with video, cd player and mini bar fridge. Housekeeping came twice a day. Be aware, they come early so grab a do not disturb sign from reception if you don't want to be awakened, and be trying to find the greek for not now, come back later!

One thing to note though about the room, we had specifically asked for a non smoking room, and when we got there although it was clean and fresh, there was a trace linger of smoke about it and I mean a trace, you got a whiff of it I think with the air con blowing, (ashtrays in the room confirmed it). We dithered about complaining - as the room was in essence ok and by no means something we couldn't live with, however we thought that as we had spent a good sum of money for this holiday, we really should have it noted and see what the hotel's response was. The response from the assistant Manager was of surprise really. He, I think thought us very naive to think that a hotel could operate a non smoking room policy. He said that there was nothing he could do as there were no other rooms available, when one did become available he would tell us so that we could move, and in the meantime he would remove the ashtrays for us. As you can imagine the topic was never mentioned again, it was by no means a huge problem as the room didn't smell stale, especially once we aired it a bit, just be aware if you are wanting a non smoking room.

There are plenty of eating places at the hotel, and on the night of arrival we were told about a weekly bbq buffet in one of the restaurants, we went along. We found it to be a pretty standard hotel buffet with a good selection of Greek food, salads, and deserts (best backlava I'd tried). We were sat outside looking at the sea, although a tad windy. There was entertainment of sorts! A guy playing piano and guitar - rather badly, so bad it did actually make you laugh, and after all you are on holiday so don't really care. However for approx 40 euros per person, without wine (a cheap bottle of rose at 30 euros), it was by no means good value. Due to the cost of this meal, it rather put us off trying out the other restaurants and chose instead to go into the town of Ag Nik on an evening.

Be aware that going to Ag Nik is either a good 20mins walk into town or a 10 euro round trip via taxi. However the taxi's are booked by reception and come frequently.

We did lunch at the beach cafe restaurant, which served typical lunch food, a selection of salads, club sandwiches, cheeseburgers, gyros (Greek Kebabs). Also they do a great strawberry milkshake.

Pool facilities we thought were great, a largish pool with adjoining paddling pools (all seawater) with a suburb view of the sea, and a great small sandy beach, with watersports (again expensive 45 euros for a 15min jet ski ride.

The hotel was very family friendly, and couple friendly, really good mix. When we were there, there were lots of brits, french, and a smattering of German and Russian guests.

The staff were at times distant and a bit surly, but in all they did all that you asked of them.

I would recommend this hotel just be aware that it isn't going to come cheap and yes drinks from the mini bar were cheaper than in the restaurants so if you want to save some pennies, there is supermarket Kriti just up the road for tonic water and beer supplies!

  • Liked — Good beach/pool hotel that's not too crowded
  • Disliked — Early Housekeeping!!! & Expense of restaurants at hotel
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meredith_Montgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2007

We have just returned from a weeks stay at this property. Overall we have no major complaints. We where upgraded on arrival to a 1 bedroom suite with a massive balcony over looking the pool, fantastic suite, loads of room and lots of storage. Loved the location very close to Ag Nik, as other reviewers have mentioned you can either walk or get a taxi for 5 Euros. The property grounds are very well kept and have amazing views over the mountains and sea. Everyone that worked at hotel where incredibly friendly and helpful.

Now here for the buts. One of our little grumble's is about the cost of food and drink, really shocked at cost of fizzy drinks, it amazes me that the rooms mini bar are actually cheaper then if you ordered a drink from the pool bar! A diet coke is 2 Euros out of the mini bar and 4 Euros round the pool, altho a even cheaper option is to go to local supermarket about a 5 mins walk from hotel and purchase your own supplies. Cost of a glass of wine in the evening at the Astra bar is Euros 5 where as downtown at a local taverna a bottle of white wine is Euros 11, this is a very small grumble as I am well aware that this property is 5* so therefore have 5*prices. The only other small complaint is the hotels main swimming pool, this seemed not to be very clean, infact we where told by a member of staff that the filter was not working, after a couple of days you could see a green slime like substance on top of the water, not very pleasant! We did complain and the pool was duely emptied and cleaned but even after they had done this it still was not very clean.

There are plenty of restaurants and Taverna located in Ag Nik, one that is worth mentioning is the Migomis, has fanastic views over the whole resort, a 2 course meal plus bottle of wine will set you back approx Euros 86 for 2 people. Well worth a visit, food is superb and the atmosphere is fantastic.

Overall I would definately recommend this hotel and I will def returning, just hope the pool is cleaner next visit

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Swimming pool
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank kez33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie, Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2007

Our second time at this hotel and it will not be our last. The room was beautiful with first class views, the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much bother for them, especially Costas, he made a brilliant stay even better.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing holiday. Only one thing that I can think of that lets it down is the price of the food and drinks. We were 36 Euro for 2 G & T's. The following night we ate at a lovely Taverna in Ag Nic and had 2 starters, 2 main courses and a bottle of wine for 37 Euro. 5 Euro for a taxi into town or a 15 - 20 min walk. Well worth it. Will be back again next year without a doubt. Fantastic!

  • Liked — clean,modern,very nice, 5 star
  • Disliked — expensive to eat and drink in the hotel
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 190964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2007

I got back yesterday and couldnt wait to put straight some of the fears of people reading the negative reviews for this hotel. We booked our holiday back in March and then read some of the reviews before we went... I have to say that i was worried. But from the minute we arrived we were treated like royalty. All of the staff were ultra efficient and couteous, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel and grounds were picturesque and the pictures that you see in the travel brochures are exactly how it is. Its tranquil and picturesque setting really made for a peaceful and relaxing holiday. Get the hotel photographer to take some pictures by the poolside they're great value and a lovely momento.

If I had one gripe it would be the cost of the Spa treatments and you have to pay to get access to the indoor pool.

  • Liked — The beautiful and tranquil setting
  • Disliked — The comfort it was like home from home
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonRadleyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2007

Dear Sir,

Having returned last month from a terrific holiday in Crete, my friend Anna and I thought it only right to express our sincere gratitude to the Management and staff of The St Nicolas Bay Hotel for making our holiday one that we both shall never forget. In a word it was............magnificent.

The accommodation was very luxurious and kept clean all the time. The food and service in the restaurants were superb, with an excellent choice and variety of menu. The presentation was also first class.

The swimming pool and beach were wonderful and always very inviting because of the location that provided stunning views of Crete.

The Hotel offered peace and tranquillity with a balance of fun for those people who enjoy water activities, with the on-site water sports club.

Finally, on behalf of Anna and myself we cannot praise this hotel enough; the Management and staff are a credit to this very fine 5 star Hotel.

Anna and I look forward very much to our next visit to The St Nicolas Bay Hotel very soon and we both highly recommend this hotel to those who are lucky enough to read this review.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank acropolis0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
67.0 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.2 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace
Sensimar Minos Palace
#4 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
1.7 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
0.4 mi away
Minos Beach Art hotel
Minos Beach Art hotel
#3 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
6.2 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas

Property: St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Address: Thessi Nissi 10, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#1 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#2 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spacious Balcony or Terrace in each Room or Suite provides a private and secluded open air lounge to sit and relax with great sea views.- From the secluded privacy of your room balcony / terrace only 2 minutes walk through flower scented gardens to reach the private sandy beach and sunbathing terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel And Villas
Saint Nicolas Bay Hotel
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing