We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not bother”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Ranked #2 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Do not bother”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Very disappointing. We just got back from our vacation in Greece. We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights at the Poseidon villa. Accommodations are okay. The bathrooms are not very well planned as the doors placement was not thought through very carefully. They should also fix their loose hardware and maybe add hooks for the bathrobes as there is no place to hang them. But these are just minor things. The major negative aspect of the resort is the tiny peace of sand they have for the beach. We traveled with a 16-months-old baby and found it quite unpleasant to literally argue for a place under the umbrella by the water. A lot of the guests 'book' their beach chairs early in the morning with the towels. This practice should not be allowed. Most importantly, the tiny beach should be reserved for kids as the other chairs are all on the cliff with no access to the water. Paying $900 for one night at the villa and arguing for a beach chair under the shade just does not go together... I believe there are 6 or 7 umbrellas on the beach and the resort accommodates hundreds of people. So if you are traveling with kids, do not bother unless you are willing to get up early and 'reserve' your spot by the water.
In short, the hotel is too expensive for what it is. Go to Elounda instead.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NGMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    193
    84
    28
    21
See reviews for
248
591
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Chic, high quality furnishings, excellent choice and quality of food for half-board. Invariably smiling and attentive staff. Pleasant but smallish pool area with small beach and sunning platforms and bar/restaurant below overlooking beach area.
The site is relatively small which on one hand lends to the air of exclusivity and reduces numbers of guests. On the other hand though it feels a little 'hemmed-in'. If you are looking for expansive grounds in which to wander this is not the place.
Also the site and nearly all the rooms face due East sloping down to the shore and most rooms and balconies will lose any sun after 2.00pm .
Can't fault it though for 'exclusivity' and service.
Located on a peninsular just outside small port town of Agios Nicholaos which is pleasant enough but nothing special. Short drive north to Elounda and boat trip to Spinalonga more interesting.

Room Tip: If afternoon sun on your balcony is important try for one of the few rooms which face just south of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christ0pher_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

After having been to quite a few places in Greece and nice hotels, too, I have to congratulate the management at St Nicolas Bay : it is a very rare pleasure to be hosted like at the St Nicolas Bay Hotel - the whole staff is very attentive, very friendly and charming - and this at the end of the season !!!
The Spa is very good and offers a wide range of treatments in beautiful suites. Thanks also to the Spa team !
If you want a perfect holiday go to Crete and enjoy this place - we will come again, that's for sure...

Room Tip: we had room 500 - sea front suite with stunning views .... great room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dodo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 nights at St Nicolas Bay Resort in September - there were three of us traveling so we booked a pool villa - a little indulgent but great ! Hotel arranged for airport transfer and we were made very welcome on arrival - champagne, cakes and fruit in our room! Breakfast was more than you could ask for - mostly European type but very good - the cakes were a little on the stale side - after you have seen the same cake for 3 days you know it's not freshly baked - but then who eats cake for breakfast ! We were offered the half board which included dinner - in hindsight probably would not do this again - apart from the daily main special it was the same every night and town is only a 5 minute taxi ride away for a bit of variety. Pool areas and beach were fantastic - we were there at a quieter time - would be glad of my own pool if it was high season but probably would not spend the money on a pool villa that you couldn't see the sea from again - I think deck chairs would be thin on the ground in high season - people were even "reserving" them at 630am! Staff were very friendly and helpful - organized a car through the concierge and all went well - we noticed that the manager (?) Nikos (?) was very attentive to some guests and not so much others - felt a bit left out as we had paid €2500 for the pleasure of 4 nights and he never spoke to us, maybe he'd heard Kiwi's don't tip ! Great place to stay with own private beach and very peaceful - would recommend but if we go back to Crete we might try another resort.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niedergoesgen
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed the third time in this beautiful Hotel. We had the same lovely Junior Suite as last year.
The Food is in all Restaurants very delicous. The variety at the buffet is high, in the morning and in the evening. The Hotel staff is very friendly, from the server to the Hotel Manager.They remembered us from last year and did all what we liked to do. Exremely friendly are the ladies in the Spa.The massages are absolutely great with the appropriate oils and techniques. The most beautiful room is upstairs with an Elevator bringing you at the top. The view from there is gorgeous. You should take a Picture from there. The sea is good for Swimming and entering through a Little sandy beach. We were always lying on the Stone terraces from where the view is magnificent.

Room Tip: Junior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolf m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Excellent welcoming check in, escort to room and bubbles and cookies to get the holiday started. We took a basic room but were really content with it, perfectly big enough and everything you need - apart from tea and coffee facilities. Take a kettle, it's not a massive hardship. We had a lovely view through the gardens to the sea and the herbaceous borders mean you see birds and butterflies when you are sitting on your balcony - lovely.
Room was cleaned above and beyond, we were tidied up and learned to put things away ourselves;)
The only real problem with the room was the shower which leaked quite spectacularly out of the bathroom and into the bedroom the first time it was used. No point complaining, it's not something that could be fixed short term and we subsequently ensured the shower ran well into the bath area and devised a dam, using a towel on the side of the bath.
Breakfast is more than adequate, if you want a proper full English, don't go to the med- simple. The yoghurt was lovely and you will never taste honey like this out of a jar. We used our half board option on the first night and it was ok. They were happy for us to exchange dinner for lunch on the occasion we requested it. The rest of the time we used the excellent taxi service into Ag Nik in the evening. If we went back we would do the same, we like to get out in the evening and try whatever is on offer. The town seemed to be thronging with people but not many in the bars and restaurants - end of season? Both food and service in town is mixed but everyone is really friendly, even when they mess up!
Really liked the sunbathing platforms along the rocky side of the cove. There are excellent swimming and snorkelling opportunities for the experienced and the not so.
As others have said, it's easy to get out and about, buses, taxis, easy.
Finally, after many years of travelling, I'm becoming tired of the increasing culture of different and confusing room categories in hotels and the inevitable extras that go along with them. I don't have time to wade through them all anymore and if I pay a price I expect to be able to enjoy all of the facilities of the hotel. In this establishment, I felt we got that. Well done everyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MxUK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed in a standard sea view room for 9 nights. I was very impressed with the hotel. We arrived at 2am and were greeted warmly, checked in efficiently and taken to our room. The room was as I had expected having read reviews and seen pictures. We were in a ground floor room so the view was limited but having said that our terrace was very private and we loved it. I would ask for a 1st or 2nd floor room if staying again. The room as very clean and spacious. The only disappointment was the shower over bath with a shower curtain, as others have also mentioned. But a minor point.

The hotel facilities were great. The pool was lovely and especially at about 630pm when I did my daily lengths there was no one else around, the sun was low and the view from the infinity part of the pool was lovely. We also loved the private beach. As others have said there is no rush to save a lounger and towels were provided at the pool/ beach.

The breakfast was ok/good. I have had better but the outside setting was fab. Things that would have made the hotel perfect are more choice of snacks during the day. Having had large breakfast and knowing eating out is the main activity once the sun has gone down I didn't want a large meal during the day which even the club sandwiches etc turned out to be. Also loud music at the beachside bar was an issue. In the evenings the area near the beach is turned into an outdoor bar. The harbour walls have lights set in them and the tables have candles. It was idilic but we didn't stay for a drink because of the blaring music. We couldn't hear each other speak and it spoiled the atmosphere. In fact we never stayed at the hotel in the evening more because of a lack of atmosphere than anything else. Don't get me wrong I am no night clubber and I like things quiet but there was just a little something missing. However we were so close to agios nicolas it was not an issue. Just ask at reception and 2 minutes later a taxi arrives for a set fee of 6 euro.

So there are a few small things that would have made it absolutely perfect but it was almost perfect without them. Great location, lovely hotel and great service.

A wonderful hotel that I would recommend without hesitation. This is high praise indeed for someone as fussy as me.

Room Tip: Ask for a first or second floor room for a better sea view. Ask for a room with a separate shower cu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suepem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
67.0 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.2 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace
Sensimar Minos Palace
#4 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
544 reviews
3.0 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,853 reviews
4.0 mi away
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
6.2 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas

Property: St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Address: Thessi Nissi 10, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#2 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spacious Balcony or Terrace in each Room or Suite provides a private and secluded open air lounge to sit and relax with great sea views.- From the secluded privacy of your room balcony / terrace only 2 minutes walk through flower scented gardens to reach the private sandy beach and sunbathing terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel And Villas
Saint Nicolas Bay Hotel
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing