We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Boutique hotel, just lovely!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fantastic Boutique hotel, just lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

I have worked in travel 10 years and have been too many destinations and hotels, some have been lovely and we have fond memories but for the first time ever we both agreed we would return to the Saint Nicolas bay and in fact have already start to arrange an October trip.

We are a young 30year old couple with no children and although i think the St Nicolas bay would suit a family holiday this is just our perspective of what we like on holiday.

The hotel on arrival is tucked away in a secluded haven that feels more like a your in your own mansion walls, the staff and extremely lovely and always professional and will do anything they can to make your stay a good one. You will often see the Manager and general manager around the hotel making sure everything runs smoothly.

The food was some of the best i have eaten in a hotel Half board is a mixture of buffet and waiter service and some of the best food we had. Lunch is fab with a mixture of international, traditional Greek and some lovely salads, breakfast is lovely and often served near the pool in the sunshine which is just divine. The choice of buffet and the option of hotel is all done in a nice way and does not feel as if you are in a canteen.

The pool area is smaller than bigger hotels but there is plenty of space, the same goes for the beach the sandy cove itself is limited but there are fantastic bathing platforms above the sea which we preferred as no messy sand and a nice breeze.

The views from this hotel are to die for the go for the best sea view you can afford, we have a deluxe suite and for a family they are a brilliant size with more than enough room. There is a DVD player in the room which seems silly but was actually a nice addition so after dinner drinks we could catch up on the films we have been wanting to watch all year but never go round to.

The beds are comfortable and big, the bathrooms are well equipped and the showers are excellent. All areas of the hotel have free wifi and they have a free of use computer in the cinema room.

The spa is one of the best i have experienced and the rooms for couples are like hotel suites in themselves, some of the pool rooms are large with enough space for a family to share and others are very private if you do not like to be seen.

Agios Nikalos you can see from the hotel but its the other side of a small beach and the walk around the beach is about 20 mins although a taxi would take no more than 5 if you didn’t feel energetic. The town is a good size and better than the hotels in Elounda which have nowhere to walk to.

In all this hotel is elegant boutique hotel but with a nice quiet family feel and lots of facilities, its also one of the best located 5 star hotels for walking into town.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UK_travel_agent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    188
    82
    27
    20
See reviews for
242
558
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2011

The hotel itself is ok but not 5 star. As a member of the SLH group we were shocked. This is a good 3 star environment. Food ok but not great. Service variable. Rooms basic by English standards particularly the villas. Kids very bored by the club. Would never go back and feel I wasted my money.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mysteryeater14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

My wife and I decided to get married at this hotel and we had a great 2 weeks stay with our 2 year old daughter. On the day of the wedding - the ceremony and reception was better than we could ever have imagined. The views were romantic, the atmosphere was chilled and the wedding planner Marie and all other staff including Yiannis were brilliant from start to finish. The attention to detail of every aspect of the wedding and reception was exceptional. The reception was reasonably priced and everyone said how nice the food was. Such a memorable day! Thanks again to the staff.

On arrival we got a free upgrade to a room with a pool and view of the Bay which was a nice surprise, and we were spoilt for choice at breakfast time. The private beach is peaceful with excellent watersports facilities and the pool is ideal for Adults and children. There are also 3 restaurants to choose from on an evening at the hotel and we decided to eat at The Minotaure - again the food and service was very good. There is also a spa on site which we used as part of our package and we were treated like royalty almost.

Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gazwilbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

My husband and I got married at St Nicolas Bay in June, it was absolutely perfect. On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by the hotel manager and shown to our room. We had booked a standard room but had been upgraded to a private pool room as part of the wedding package and it just got better and better from then on.
Maria, the wedding co-ordinator provides an outstanding service, making sure that every minor detail is perfect. The staff are helpful and will go out of their way to meet your needs. We did not have our meal at the hotel but this did not affect the service that we received.
The place where you get married is outside on a platform over looking the sea, it is absolutely beautiful. The ceremony is very short but can be made longer by putting readings in it etc.
The hotel itself is fantastic, the rooms are gorgeous and the food is delicious. The drinks are very expensive but you would not expect them to be cheap at a hotel like that.
All in all we would recommend the hotel to anybody who is looking to get married in Crete, the staff, service and location are amazing and we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyLocket1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
98 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

Situated in a quiet bay about 20 minutes walk from Agios Nikolaos the most noticable highlight of the hotel is that it has great serenity. It has all of the facilities that you would expect to see in a large 5 star hotel, but without the crowds and the noise! Everything is done at a relaxed pace with no need to rush and reserve sunbeds as there are plenty to go around, with beds and umbrellas on the beach, around the pool and also on a stepped rocky area. Beach towels are found in your room and are changed each evening ready for the following day by the well trained house keeping team.

The room we had was very small for a five star property, the bathroom minute, a plastic stopper was required to stop the door banging the bath as they were side by side, the addition of the plastic shower curtain had all the charm of a travel lodge but it was functional and well appointed - the only shortcoming apart from its size was that there was no kettle or hot drinks facility to hand if you required it and the hair dryer unit as expected was a mere warm draft so don't rely on it for a salon finish.


The hotel food is excellent (albeit the breakfasts are repetitive), and the restaurants are really well run. We also used the spa which was great, and the water sports centre from where you can hire pedaloes, kayaks, speedboats etc, and which I used for the local diving centre to pick me up from the hotel jetty. The Pelagos diving centre is just across the bay (around the corner) from the hotel, and the dive centre owner Stephanos (Steph) is a great guy where nothing is too much trouble and you are made to feel welcome and part of the "club" immediately.
It is a bit of a hike into "Ag Nik", or a 6 euro taxi but the town has a good selection of restaurants, clothes and shoe shops as well as the usual tourist "tat". It is very picturesque, and we were heartened to find that it was not full of rowdy tourists, with a good mix of locals and people simply out to enjoy themselves and take in the atmosphere.
St Nicholas Bay hotel is one that I would definitely go back to, as the senior management especially Nikos are really hands-on and genuinely try to do anything possible to make your stay as perfect as they can.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

Having just returned from our 5th visit to the St. Nicolas Bay, we can only state that this hotel meets all our expectations.
The hotel management, headed by the general manager Costos Sp. Zarbalas, are very professional and make every effort to ensure their guests have a memorable holiday. On arrival you are greeted by Nicos, the front office manager, who is attentive throughout your stay.
The rooms are impeccable, uniquely designed and tastefully decorated.
The hotel grounds are spacious, very well kept, with an infinity pool as a glorious centre piece and a private peaceful beach.
Dining is delightful from breakfast at the club house, either on decking or under the olive trees, with spectacular views, to the Labyrinth, managed by Kristopher,where a buffet or show cooking is served of an evening.
For that special evening, where we dined on many occasions, the Minotaure A la Carte restaurant serves superb food, is in an idyllic setting and your every need is catered for by Costos, the restaurant manager.
To round off the evening one could not miss a visit to the Astra Bar and Michaelas, the attentive manager, for cocktails and drinks in the bar area or the garden terrace.
We look forward to our next visit in 2011.
Colin&Susie

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dreammaker061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

The Hotel & Resort:: the stone walls and terraces coupled with the well kept gardens ensure that this hotel resort has a great feel. Tasteful lighting makes the grounds look wonderful at night. The views out to sea and around the bay are also great.
Agios Nikolaos harbour with its miriad of tavernas and shops is a 25 min. walk. An
excellent taxi sevice (usually a Mercedes) was E6. Overall mark for the Resort 10 out of 10.

Our Room: taking the advice of a previous Trip Advisor article, we booked a Junior Suite with sea view. The view from our terrace over the pool and out to sea was marvellous. The room itself (with separate bathroom and W.C.), although spacious, was a little disappointing.(It appeared that attempts made to revitalise the room by changing the furniture etc. from varnished to light wood had stopped half-way). There were also a few other small niggles, but our view made up for these. Overall mark for our Room 7.5 out of 10.

Restaurants: all the restaurants and bars are in lovely settings. A table at the Minataure and
at the Kafenion (closed on Sundays) during your stay is a must. Rather than just turning up on the day, booking a table is recommended. Overall mark for the restaurants 10 out of 10.

Food & Drink: the food was of a high standard and not too expensive. The wine was, in my opinion, over-priced. (Sorry Nicos). I found that ordering wine by the glass worked out better. Some people thought the mini bar prices were a bit steep.Overall mark for F & D. 8 out of 10.

Facilities: infinity pool(s) - very attractive. Many loungers and parasols round the pool(s), round the terraces and on the small beach. (NB only room for 10 parasols). Prices of water sports were a bit steep, but not prohibitive. Poseidon Spa (by Elemis), Gym. Children
catered for. Overall mark for the Facilities 9 out of 10.

Staff: all the staff we interacted with were friendly and helpful. The Restaurant Managers were very good. Nicos Demetzos (Front Office Manager) came out to greet us when we first arrived (at midnight) and would, I'm sure, have made a point of saying goodbye on our last day had we not left 30 min. earlier than planned. Nicos loves to show guests round the resort that he is justly proud of .He's always out and about. Overall mark for Staff 10 out of 10.

The only downside of our holiday (apart from Heraklion Airport) were two small children at the hotel, one of whom seemed to be crying all the time and the other screeching all the time.This is, of course, the chance you have to take. However, the Resort is big enough to find a quiet spot. Holiday Overall mark 9 out of 10.
Had our room been better, I would have given a 9.5 or even a 10.

NB When making the arrangements for your holiday to this Resort, make sure you get a private transfer (taxi) to/from the hotel/airport, not a coach which could take you to various hotels en route. (A direct transfer by taxi takes about an hour). If the cost of the taxi isn't included, it will probably cost you E60- E70 each way.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisB1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
0.2 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace
Sensimar Minos Palace
#4 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
67.0 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
1.7 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
0.4 mi away
Minos Beach Art hotel
Minos Beach Art hotel
#3 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
6.2 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas

Property: St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Address: Thessi Nissi 10, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#2 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spacious Balcony or Terrace in each Room or Suite provides a private and secluded open air lounge to sit and relax with great sea views.- From the secluded privacy of your room balcony / terrace only 2 minutes walk through flower scented gardens to reach the private sandy beach and sunbathing terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel And Villas
Saint Nicolas Bay Hotel
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing