We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel with high standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
Ranked #4 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stunning location, amazing design and friendly and hospitable staff. A great week in perfect sunshine, there was a lack of sunbeds around the pool but the pool team were quick to move towels left for periods of time and created space for guests arriving later to sit in the sun. The Kids club was amazing - really well run and kept our 4 year old entertained so much she really didnt want to leave! Drinks are expensive but this is a 5* Hotel. So well looked after by the staff at Breakfast and Dinner - a definite return visit for us.....

Room Tip: If you travel with children - they do not have interconnecting doors in the rooms. You need to requ...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GDTalent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,823)
There are newer reviews for Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

669 - 675 of 1,825 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

Have recently come back from Daios Cove. A 3 1/2 hr flight from London made it worth it for a short 4 night stay over half term. Beautiful rooms and great service. Location is stunning, all the rooms are subtly built into the hillside so all rooms have fabulous views. Very young vibe, contemporary art, sculptures and furnishings give the hotel a fresh, young, funky feel. Restaurant options varied and delicious. Alot of rooms have private pools. Clean private beach with good water sports facilities. Sea water clear and clean. When we went (late Oct), sun, blue skies and 23 degrees so perfect for us wanting a last burst of warmth before winter. Only two negatives. One is that there are two good tennis courts but no coaching available and the other, which is more major, is that the main swimming pool which is an infinity pool in an amazing position overlooking the beach, is always unheated. It deters everyone. Nobody was swimming in it and it is mentioned by everyone. It puts people off choosing the hotel so they need to sort that out. Had a great stay and would go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rustsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Plenty of places claim to be 5 star and then the promise of the brochure evaporates on arrival. Not here. The furnishings, decor, style, is upmarket by any international definition. Our room was the cheapest option and had everything you'd want, sea views, balcony and a top notch bathroom - anything above would seem superfluous.
Don't really comprehend the complaints about the quality of the food, for a buffet it's exceptional - if you want meal cooked to your particular demands then pay the extra (in the evening) and head for the Italian or the Greek in the hotel. We did and found it less enjoyable than the buffet.
Heading into town (make sure you hire a car at the airport - much cheaper than at hotel) provided the best meals by far, more entertaining staff, better food and some atmosphere which can't be said for the hotel bar - feels like it would be entirely possible to die of utter boredom if anyone ever stayed for a second drink.
The beach is pleasant enough but a little artificial and crowded. Also as a big watersports fan, while the teaching staff were excellent, the equipment should belong in the Greek Museum of Maritime History, Skis and jackets falling apart - not good enough.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonnieyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My first impression when entering my room was stunning. lovely bathroom area, spacious living area, good size balcony with comfortable furniture, and a small private pool at the end of the decking.
The food overall was very good. The Italian restaurant was excellent on our first visit, but the second visit failed to impress The main course had a large amount of meat or chicken, which was very tasty,but served with a very tiny amount of vegetable. The desserts were gorgeous.
Everything was delicious in the Taverna restaurant.
The beach service was 1st class .A cover was provided for the sun bed, and then a lovely white towel to use.
The only thing that niggled a bit was the price of a meal during the day,and bar prices. However on saying this I do realise that these price tags do go hand in hand with this quality of hotel , and in no way spoiled our time in this gorgeous resort.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Daios Cove is a nice resort in a small creek. Far from the road with a private beach (small but cosy), it is really peaceful and quite. Rooms are great with nice view on the Agios Nikolaos bay. We had a room without private swimming pool which was perfect. Not sure it brings any added value and actually we saw no one using it.
Why a "but...": Service. Reception service is mechanical and payment process is complicated. I did not appreciated to have an amount blocked on my credit card without being informed.
Breakfast buffet is rich but standard quality and service is poor. We had to ask every morning to the same ladies for gluten free bread. In a 5* hotel, I expect not even to ask for something I mentioned before at the reception. The seating process for breakfast was a big mess organized by 3 never smiling ladies.
They have never heard of customer care.
We tried the restaurant once for lunch and the service was poor and with no value for money (14€ the Greek salad you normally pay 6€). We had diner in the city of Agios Nikolaos (Piato is the best): Local taverna's are excellent with charming service and great food.
Great place but bad service.

Room Tip: avoid private swimming pool (not heat and small). Not worth having one.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank halleck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I travelled with my parents, teenage brother and grandparents to Daios Cove last October. The hotel is set in the perfect location. It is set in a stunning cove only 10 minutes from Agios Nikolaos. We booked a 1 bedroom villa for my grandparents which was lovely. It featured a private pool, a bedroom, lounge and two bathrooms and was on the edge of the cliff in the perfect location. We booked a 2 bedroom family villa for the 4 of us. Upon arrival we were shown to the wrong villa, a family villa. This villa was clearly for very young children and was shabby and very cramped. The villa only had one shower and the whole setup was very cramped and unstylish compared to the 1 bedroom villa. We complained and they agreed to move us, but not until the end of the next day which meant our first night and day had been ruined. They moved us to a Wellness villa which was then lovely. It featured a pool, 2 bedrooms, lounge, sauna, treadmill and beautiful views right from the edge of the cliff. This room was perfect and very high quality. The pool at the hotel overlooked the sea which was lovely but it was far to cold to swim in and unpleasant to sit by because of the loud music. The beach was lovely but unfortunately there were far too many sun loungers which made it very unpicturesque to sit on. The hotel is set on different levels but they are easily accessed by the funicular running to the beach from the lobby. The main restaurant is a buffet which has good quality food but you soon get very bored of them as each 'themed' night isn't really that different. There is a greek taverna which is a lovely restaurant. It's open for lunch and dinner and the food is lovely. Traditional greek food at it's best. The restaurant is mainly empty however so atmosphere lacks, especially inside. The Italian is another option for dinner but we never dined there as there was no one else inside and there wasn't any atmosphere whatsoever. There is a beach bar at the back of the beach which serves sandwiches at lunchtime. The food is average. Breakfast for the villas was very nice but VERY slow. This brings me onto the general theme of the hotel. Everything is slow and it has a very 'couldn't care less' attitude. The staff are mainly unfriendly and don't ever go out of their way to help you. The food and service are the two let downs of the hotel. Another thing to note- keep your Euros very handy, you'll need them for most things. For example- watersports, tennis and use of the games room. These are all things you would always expect to be included in a 5 star hotel. Overall the location and rooms are fantastic but the food and service really lets the hotel down.

Room Tip: Wellness Villas and 1 Bedroom Villas are superb.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelExpert5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daios_Cove, General Manager at Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

November 6th, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your comments as it is a pleasure to receive constructive feedback, which we may utilize in an effort to further develop the resort and establish its brand awareness globally. We have created a luxury resort of enduring value using superior design and finishes, and we strive daily to support it with a deeply instilled ethic of personal service. We feel that this will allow us to satisfy the needs and wants of the most demanding customers, and it will set us on a luxury accommodation path.
In order to be fair to our reviewers as well as to the services offered by our resort, let me state that this report is the same with the reports below titled: “Great location but flawed with consistently poor service & average food” & “5 star location - 3 star food & service”.
I believe it is important to clarify the allocation of the Villas. As we have been collaborating with the esteemed UK agency you made the reservation for the last 3 years, one bedroom villas differ from the two bedroom ones in square meters with the two bedroom one being composed of 20 square meters more. At the same time, family bedroom villas are the exact same type with the two bedroom ones. The only differentiation is that extra amenities are placed inside for families. The only fixed item is the staircase fence, which however can be found in very many five start properties worldwide as a safety measurement against potential hazards.
Therefore, you received exactly what you booked (a two bedroom villa of 115 square meters indoor space and 50 square meters outdoor space). No mistake was made & to be honest Villa 216 is a bit more elevated as opposed to 217 they were moved one day after, following their request. In fact 217 was a complimentary upgrade as it is a wellness villas composed of 130 square meters with a sauna, a round bathtub and a treadmill. I am sure you experience the very personal approach on the matter above, as we had two management team members involved.
I can assure you that our resort has taken into account the pricing policy in food & beverage outlets of other neighboring five star hotels, which is in some instances 15% cheaper than competitive hotels. This could be easily double checked by your esteemed agency as I am certain you have access to the five star Elounda hotels.

It is important to refer to your subjective comment of “you can get a feeling of the attitude the hotel has for guests in that all extras are always charged for” and the explanation of services such as water sports for free. The description outlined refers mostly to an All-inclusive hotel which by no means corresponds to Daios cove Luxury Resort & Villas. Let me also state that Tennis is for FREE along with the ping pong and that indeed we ask you to sign in order to serve clients more effectively and to keep track of the equipment, a sign of organization and standard operating procedures.
We honor ourselves for catering to different needs which is why the resort offers ten theme nights, specifically chosen by our gastronomic team to satisfy our esteemed clients who are accommodated on a 9 night rolling basis. Every single gastronomic night in the main restaurant offers a variety of 45 dishes out of which 10 are for vegetarians. In order to further enhance the variety we have specifically chosen Mediterranean tastes such as:
1. Italian night with a variety of pasta dishes,
2. Arabian night with an array of Middle Eastern tastes,
3. Spanish night featuring paellas,
4. Grill night with meat & fish courses,
5. French night
6. Greek Traditional night,
7. Cretan night with local delicacies,
8. Fish night with a variety of fresh fish, seafood & shellfish,
9. International night featuring different cultures dishes
Our Italian restaurant firstly operated on 2011, following the concept of “Italian creative cuisine” and received great critiques. In a continuous effort of upgrading our services, we designed a menu in compliance with the latest gastronomic trends in Europe were clients enjoy Italian dishes with a French twist. The menu is designed and executed by our Italian chef who was recruited from a two stars Michelin restaurant and has extensive culinary experience from France, Italy and the UK.
The Greek restaurant has started its operation as such in the beginning of 2011 with the concept of “Greek creative cuisine”. Its creation derived from our will to offer upscale service in conjunction with fresh gastronomic flavors and to achieve this we have recruited a well-known Greek Chef specializing on renowned Cretan recipes. Since its beginning, it has been receiving daily excellent comments on the cuisine and service experience. Two theme nights (“Greek” & “Lobster”) are offered featuring table service & several typical Greek culinary delicacies. The experience is completed with customers choosing from an array of meat delicacies displayed on trimmed ice, subsequently cooked and served a la minute.
I can assure you that raw materials utilized are of top quality in all restaurants. The hotel is certified with the system of Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points (HACCP), which guarantees the cooking techniques and temperatures as well as the cooking process. HACCP calls for a process of First In, First Cooked basis, in order to ensure that all vitamins, minerals & nutrients are kept firm and fresh.
The hotel features 165 swimming pools a record in Europe in one single resort. The actual water temperature in the pool depends on a few parameters:

1. the initial water temperature
2. the ambient temperature
3. the sunlight
4. the wind

Of these we can only control the initial water temperature. What this means is that on a hot sunny day the water evaporates requiring even a higher initial water temperature to compensate for the losses. Pool temperature can reach up to 7 degrees above the outside temperature, with maximum water temperature 28 degrees. As you are aware Villa clients are offered complimentary pool heating to 25 degrees which was the case with both villas.

Our entire personnel is recruited on the base of a previous comprehensive luxury hotel experience and via their educational knowledge in conjunction with their past career path, aim to offer outstanding service. We spend annually a significant monetary stake on personalized service and guest satisfaction training courses, proven by the numerous awards we have received. Our trained personnel are here to satisfy all guest needs and they are trained according to International Luxury standards, calling for guests’ service.
As you have experienced the hotel has exceptional hardware and a fresh team willing to provide a true experience. We thank you for informing us and believe that this procedure is to both of our benefits, as we all wish to keep our customers satisfied.
Warmest Regards,


Panos Almyrantis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We spent ten days at the daios cove with our two year old son. Overall, it was excellent and we didn't regret spending the money on the hotel. A few things to note:

- we found there to be a lack of kids activities, as to use the kids club we had to pay and drop off our kid to be able to use their toys, where as we would have prefered to stay with our child and play with them. Apart from the beach, there was nothing else to occupy our son. Over ten days this got long.
- our spa treatments, especially the pregnancy treatment were sensational, in fact the pregnancy treatment was the best spa treatment I have ever received. It was too expensive though, but we still enjoyed it.
- it is a ten min drive to the local town, other guests commented that the bus service wasn't great. We had a rental car, which was a perfect way for us to explore outaide the resort, and enjoy great dinners.
- the concierge was TOP, very helpful, and had great restaurant recommendations, we were never dissapointed.
- best check-in ever at a hotel, may have been because we arrived at 3am, but they simply handed us our key and asked us to return the next day at our leasure to fill out a form, at 3am this was a relief!! There were then problems with the voucher from our tour operator and the hotel never made a big deal about it and was very patient as we sorted it out with them.
- over ten days there were three nights with entertainment and the performers were well above average for a hotel, really enjoyed this
- our stroller didn't arrive with our luggage and the hotel provided us one free of charge, this was so appreciated, really exceeded our expectations
- breakfast buffet was great, the other restaurants were good but expensive, it was better to go into town for dinner, quality was equivalent or better and the price was always much cheaper.
- the pool was freezing in August, which limited us to the beach, which got quite windy in the afternoons.

Overall we had a fantastic vacation at the Daios cove, and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraParis_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
68.0 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
7.0 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
3.9 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,106 reviews
4.0 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
10.2 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas

Address: Vathi Beach, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range: $255 - $758 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the town of Agios Nikolaos — yet on the secluded beach of Vathi this luxury resort in Crete enjoys an exclusive elegant and serene location. In a private cove amidst blue skies, a crescent of sand and the calm of the Mediterranean, Daios Cove is regarded as the ultimate 5 star beach resort in Crete Island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas Hotel Vathi
Daios Cove Luxury Resort And Villas
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing