We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel for relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
Ranked #4 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed in Daios Cove as part of our honeymoon a few weeks ago. As other reviews say the hotel is situated in a beautiful cove but it is very remote, there are 4 buses in the morning in to the local town (which is definitely worth a visit) and then 3 buses back in the afternoon but that's all, so you either need to go for a full day (useful if you're doing a day trip to Spinalonga Island for example) or you need to get a taxi back to the hotel (13 euros).

The layout of the hotel is on a cliff side so you do need to take the funicular to get to certain places which can be time consuming but if you're on holiday to relax then that shouldn't be a problem. We were on 3rd street so luckily didn't need to take the second funicular up from the main hotel building. The beach is lovely and the staff are very attentive to provide towels and take drinks orders etc. As mentioned on other reviews the drinks and lunch food aren't cheap but they are in line with other 5 star resorts in Crete.

We stayed in a deluxe double with individual pool which was a beautiful room with stunning views and an individual pool. The room was kept very clean and there were little touches at turndown like a card with tomorrows weather forecast on. The only problem with the individual pool is that people in the rooms either side of you could see directly into your room when in their pools or (as happened to us) when the children next door were walking along the ledge between our two pools, not ideal if you're having a romantic holiday! Also the pool isn't heated so it can be a bit cold!

We were on half board so ate dinner every night in the main buffet restaurant, the food was varied and there was plenty to cater for everyone but I wouldn't say it was quite 5 star standard (comparing it to another half board buffet at another 5 star resort we stayed at in Crete earlier in our honeymoon). The bar was beautiful and the staff were fantastic but I don't think we would have visited it if it hadn't been a special occasion for us as it was very expensive (cocktails 10-15 euros each).

The only other thing to mention is that, as in other hotels in Crete, none of the pools are heated (unless you are paying for this in a villa) so the sea tends to be a warmer bet!

Room Tip: Try and get a room closer to the main hotel building. Also not necessarily worth paying for a room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicky321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,864)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

720 - 726 of 1,864 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed for a week in September with our baby, we were looking for some sun, rest and relaxation.

The hotel is lovely and is built around a dramatic cove with a lovely little beach. However, be warned that the resort is very large (approx 350 rooms I was told by Reception). So, your experience of the hotel will greatly depend on which room you get.

At least 80% of the hotel is NOT accessible if you have a buggy or pram, so you need to decide whether you are happy to stay in one spot all day, because it is simply too much trouble to move around the resort. Also, the pool is so cold that it is usually empty all day.

Because the resort is built on a mountainside, the hotel uses funiculars and buggies to get people around. It is misery if you forget something in your room as it will take at least 30 minutes to get to your room and back to the pool or beach.

The food was surprisingly good and fresh. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the buffet.

Staff are nice, but not exceptional and do not get overly worried if you have a complaint or request. For example, they put on a full fireworks display at 11 pm - hell if you have just got your baby to sleep as the noise reverberates all around the resort !!! Also, they play music very loudly in the beach bar, so again, forget quiet evenings if you have a baby.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wanderLondonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daios_Cove, General Manager at Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your comments as it is a pleasure to receive constructive feedback, which we may utilize in an effort to further develop the resort and establish its brand awareness globally. We have created a luxury resort of enduring value using superior design and finishes, and we strive daily to support it with a deeply instilled ethic of personal service. We feel that this will allow us to satisfy the needs and wants of the most demanding customers, and it will set us on a luxury accommodation path.
Please allow me to inform our reviewers of the correct number of rooms we possess, that of 300 rather than 350 erroneously mentioned. I am sorry to find unjustified the title of your review, as we have invested a lot into the satisfaction of families, powered by several services. More specifically, we proudly offer entertainment / children services for ages from 4 months to 17 years old in three different clubs (crèche, mini club & teenagers club), allowing us to be considered as one of the most concrete luxury resorts catering to families in our destination. Not only we cater for all ages but we also offer to Villas guests’ baby strollers, sterilizers, warmers, changers, baby toilet seats and bath tubs, pool & staircase fences for young children safety and children eating equipment. It is important to also mention that children enjoy specially designed Menus daily from 18.00-19.00 at our main restaurant “Pangea”, where professional attendants from the external company which we have subcontracted, Worldwide Kids Company, supervise them.
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas employs 270 employees out of which 200 Greek origin and 70 Internationals. All 70 International employees come from world known hospitality universities, covering a very comprehensive hotel curriculum who via their educational knowledge in conjunction with their practical training offer outstanding service. At the same time our company has spent significant monetary resources on winter, traveling to different European countries and participating in University career days, through which we recruited multilingual employees with previous experiences in the USA, UK, Italy, Spain and elsewhere.

Although this is not an excuse as all employees should be at the same pace, I am sure you understand that foreign language limitations sometimes create communication barriers between staff and guests and out of a fear for a mistake, might hold a more defensive approach towards clients. We do spend both time and monetary efforts to train on the job and on theoretical scenarios all newcomers & management team members. We pride ourselves for the training methods we apply and for our personnel who we consider as our greater asset.

Although a fireworks show could be quite exciting and offer unforgettable moments of joy, I do comprehend that it could be stressful to young children.
There are three funiculars & several club cars driven by professional bell boys, transferring guests all over the resort. I am certain you saw during your stay our shuttle club car service, driving around the property every 15 minutes along with the choice of calling and asking to be transferred within the premises, entailing a personalized concierge service ideal for families who wish to move around.
The three funiculars are moving on a sliding ramp, powered electrically. Safety regulations complying with the directive of the elevator manufacturers & European risk management laws require the speed to be set at its current path.
The hotel features 165 swimming pools a record in Europe in one single resort. The actual water temperature in the pool depends on a few parameters:

1. the initial water temperature
2. the ambient temperature
3. the sunlight
4. the wind

Of these we can only control the initial water temperature. What this means is that on a hot sunny day the water evaporates requiring even a higher initial water temperature to compensate for the losses. Pool temperature can reach up to 7 degrees above the outside temperature, with maximum water temperature 30 degrees.
As you have experienced the hotel has exceptional hardware and a fresh team willing to provide a true experience. We thank you for informing us and believe that this procedure is to both of our benefits, as we all wish to keep our customers satisfied.
Warmest Regards,


Panos Almyrantis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We recently spent 10 days at Daios Cove. It is in a beautiful setting but quite remote which we hadn't realised in advance (do your research!)However, the bus services are excellent if you want to explore the island. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff can't do enough to help. The pool and beach areas are also well staffed. Yes, it is quite pricey but it is 5 star. We were on a half- board deal and had all our meals in the Pangea restaurant which is buffet-style. The food is plentiful but not 5 star standard in our opinion. The rooms are large, comfortable and clean with sea views. We had a totally relaxing holiday and would happily return.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Mrs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

perfect summer getaway. we stayed in a villa on the side of the beach. fantastic! the food in the taverna was excellent and the service everywhere was faultless. it's a great family hotel but choose a villa or room closer to the hotel

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letsgotothebeach123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have just returned from a week at this hotel and all I can say is wow!

So many good things have already been written about the hotel it is hard to find something different to reflect on. Like most of the reviews I found; the setting of the complex stunning, the staff attentive yet not intrusive, the food and general ambiance top notch. A heavenly haven for total rest and relaxation! If you do not have school age children then mid-September is the perfect time to visit; I had absolutely no problems on the beach or indeed at the restaurants. I sat at tables with stunning views at every meal. Furthermore the temperature was almost perfect averaging around 28Deg daily.

It is perhaps worth pointing out that the hotel is not going to be to everyone's taste:
• If your idea of a perfect holiday is to dance the night away to lively music then do not come here. The evenings are quiet peaceful affairs, with some occasional very unobtrusive live music.
• If you have mobility issues you might like to think twice. I am certain the staff would go out of their way to assist you, but there is no getting away from the fact that the hotel is built into a steep cliff face. There are funicular trains and golf carts at your beck and call which do help, but I think the only way down to the beach itself is via steps.
• If you are on a tight budget you should also think twice. Prices in the hotel are not cheap. They are very much in line with what you would pay in most high end hotels, so expect about 8 to 10 euro for a soft drink, 12 to 20 euro for snacks and 50 to 75 euro pp in one of two excellent restaurants. My bill for a 7 night stay was just short of €700, which included 4 meals in the Ocean and Taverna restaurants. I could imagine that for a family with children it would be really easy to run up a very large bill indeed. What is value for money are the local wines, the whites and roses are very quaffable indeed! Give the expensive french wines a miss and go local, you will be surprised.
• Finally the hotel itself is in a remote setting. You will need a car or taxis if you want to explore further afield.

The points above are in no way to be seen as criticism. I had an absolutely stunning vacation but I thought it worth mentioning things that perhaps tend not appear in the holiday brochures.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a sea view. The views are breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank atkpjdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a stylish hotel set in its own cove,which has an almost perfect beach, shallow with a gradual drop that then gets quite deep. Our room was lovely, getting sun for part of the day. Other reviews on trip advisor mention the wind, we were lucky and only had one day when it was windy, but as the weather was so lovely it didn't really matter and it was rather nice to have a strong breeze.

The buffet food was good, but was possibly the weak spot of the hotel, if you were staying for more than a week you might not find it varied enough. There is a "dine around" programme but you need to make sure this is included with your booking. Staff were helpful and attentive. We travelled out of peak season and experienced no problems with seating or having to wait for a table. The Spa offers great treatments but is on the expensive side. We had a lovely break for a week.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKcritical_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

For a first time visit to Greece, you can't go wrong here. Modern luxury in an incredible cove setting. The rooms are modern, beautiful and comfortable. Some come with a private pool but the water is not warm enough to make it inviting. There is a very nice spa at reasonable rates and the food at the restaurants are outstanding. I recommend the Italian restaurant for dinner and don't pass up the lobster salad. The beach can get a little crowded and topless sunbathing is not uncommon although the view of the ocean is usually much more appealing. Biggest negative is that it is an hour from the airport. That makes departure a bit painful. For the value and the secluded luxury, I would go back.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank Henry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
7.0 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
68.0 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
9.4 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only
4.0 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
10.2 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas

Address: Vathi Beach, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range: $241 - $886 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the town of Agios Nikolaos — yet on the secluded beach of Vathi this luxury resort in Crete enjoys an exclusive elegant and serene location. In a private cove amidst blue skies, a crescent of sand and the calm of the Mediterranean, Daios Cove is regarded as the ultimate 5 star beach resort in Crete Island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas Hotel Vathi
Daios Cove Luxury Resort And Villas
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing