We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great night with new found friends” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knossos Taverna - CLOSED

Knossos Taverna
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The oldest family ran restaurant in Agios Nikolaos Crete. Open since 1976
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“great night with new found friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

had a fab meal here on 26th sept. (our last night :( )
4 of us ate and drank like kings.
we had meze to share. i loved the prawn skangkini (not spelled right im sure lol)
and the mussles were to die for. I particularly liked the stuffed peppers and the wine, which we all drank in abundance.
many a meal we have ate there, as had our friends, but never together, and i have to say william and nik let us get on with it, whislt attending to everything we needed. (thank you both)
this place should be a lot busier, but hey ho thats how it goes.
we came by taxi from elunda and obviously back again, and with the price of our meal (35 euro per couple) and taxi was still a good price.
sure we all had a litre eadh of the house wine, and then i stopped counting lol.
thank you william and nik for a fab night. i know robert has know you both for many many years, and we will be back in may for a repete performance, altho our frineds will have been and gone by then.
thank you so much and good luck for the start of the season next yr and we will see you both in may.
yammas. robert and dawn. (thank you. x)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dawnandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    35
    13
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Just Right”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

There are so many excellent restaurants in Agios with amazing food, but this restaurant just continues to tick "all" the boxes, for good value, good food, lovely atmosphere and just a brillant night with friendly staff :-) Thank you all at Knossos........and looking forward to returning at Easter .... :-)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MG100surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Another Great Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

A pretty busy night for the restaurant, giving the restaurant a nice a bit of atmosphere whilst retaining that relaxed 'Greek dining' feel.

Great food at a leisurely pace, swilled down with decent house wine. We spent 50 euros between two of us having eaten plently and drunk lots. No complaints!

Will be closed for winter when we return in November - a shame but gives me something to look forward to next year.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DaviesR43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iasi, Romania
1 review
“We will come back here for sure!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

It was for the first time we've ate there, but for sure it wasn't the last time!!!!! I was impressed by the stuff: very friendly and always there for you...excelent host!! The food is absolutly fantastic, a great culinary experience...you have to try it to understand. I totally recommend it as the best greek restaurant in town!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Irina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
318 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Really nice people & food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

No-frills restaurant and good straight forward fresh Greek food. Well priced and friendly service. What more can you want on holiday !

Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Knossos Taverna also viewed

Agios Nikolaos, Lasithi Prefecture
Agios Nikolaos, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Agios Nikolaos, Lasithi Prefecture
Agios Nikolaos, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing