We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Marine Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Faedra Beach Hotel(Agios Nikolaos)(Great Value!)
$62
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elpida Village(Istron)(Great Value!)
$40
$31
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Candia Park Village(Agios Nikolaos)
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas(Agios Nikolaos)
$781
$332
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Du Lac hotel(Agios Nikolaos)(Great Value!)
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Minos Beach Art hotel(Agios Nikolaos)
$203
$197
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Miramare Resort & Spa(Agios Nikolaos)(Great Value!)
$65
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mirabella Apartments(Agios Nikolaos)(Great Value!)
$42
$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,599)
Filter reviews
1,599 results
Traveler rating
853
476
170
61
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
853
476
170
61
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain baranimation teampool barpanorama barsea viewa la carte restaurantssandwichesall inclusive hotelsalt waterall inclusive drinksbeach volleyballgreat holidaydvd playerwater aerobicsall inclusive packagefamily roomsalad
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
849 - 854 of 1,599 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2010

If the Aquis Blue Marine Hotel in Amoudara, Crete, is a five star hotel [other than their own star ratings] by international standards, then I’m a banana.
One point I must raise immediately to everyone who is considering a visit, and also the hotel’s management [Owner - Sheikh Tahnoon Bin Saeed Al Nahayan of UAE] is the choice of tiling for the swimming pool area is a disgrace. On our visit a lady slipped and returned to UK in a wheelchair, and numerous other trips and slips occurred due to the tiles being the wrong ones for a high slippage area. If this was a pool in UK, I have absolutely no doubt that the Health & Safety would close the pool immediately and order a recovering of the whole area.
And just a small point before the next major dissapointment, they still advertise tennis courts. There is a wooden stage and seating where the animation team do kids disco's every night, which our child found to be boring after going to three of them as it was the same every night. So is that false advertising?
My next point is the standard of the food, which was incredibly poor for all three sittings. If you’re not a basic salad fan, then you’re likely to be going to Agios Nikolaos and spending money feeding yourself; the job the hotel is supposed to be doing.
There was a high turnover of food from one sitting, being packaged differently and reserved at the next sitting e.g. pork slices become pork snitzel, beef becomes calf casserole etc.
I cannot say anything more than the food served was ‘Canteen’ grub, and people at a large workplace would be reporting the standard of food to the management and unions with the chef/manager being fired.
Then there is a third point about this hotel which should be addressed by the management, and that is the high volumes of mosquitoes which are in the rooms, hotel and surrounding areas. We were bitten on many occasions, with one of us having more than thirty bites all over their body. They sell a fly spray in their shop for E3.8, which in Netto will cost you less than 50p. Maybe it’s the money element that they don’t bother spraying the rooms, and leave you to buy their products?
The shop is extremely dear, with most sun creams being sold for between E14.50 and E20. Just make sure that you go to the supermarket/cut-price discounter before you go and buy more than you need, as you will burn very easily in the sun and it’s also helped by the salt water pool.
WiFi connection can be very temperamental; there are areas which you will have little to no connection. The outside areas e.g. pool, they will pick up the lobby connection, and the rooms one called desktop. The mobile telephone connections are also different at the front and the back of the hotel e.g. Cosmote and Wind.
The Animation team was headed by an Italian lady called Erica, who is a very outgoing and likable person. One young lady called Gooner was very rude to us and said, ‘Don’t think putting your child to the kids playtime is an invitation for you to have a good time you are still the parent you know’. I told her we were very aware of our responsibilities, and decided not to bother putting our child again if that’s what she thought of the parents. But as the Jackson 5 sung, ‘One bad apple don’t spoil the whole bunch’. The rest, two Italian guys, a Slovak lady and a Polish lady were fantastic, and made up for Gooner; who also caused a couple to have a blazing row with an off-the-cuff comment she made to a wife which turned out to be her making a joke…..the couple did find out and I believe they were making a complaint about the incident that should have never happened.
If there was one thing I would personally change, the format of the games become monotonous and would be better changed to a fortnight program with varying events. Basically it starts with boules, then later darts, cocktail game, volleyball, football, table tennis etc.
One shining feature to the hotel are the bar staff, Aria and the Barman upstairs in particular. Always polite and smiling, they are a credit to the hotel.
We found that most of the waiting, cleaning and general staff were Polish or other Eastern European if they weren’t from Greece. Many were starting to have worries about their next job, as they are all to be laid off on 31st Oct without any contract for next year.
The Al-a-Carte [Olive Tree] wasn’t up to much, the lamb chops were mainly bones with fat …. and a little meat. The fish wasn’t anything great, and the chicken was just passable. The prices they were advertising for this were just not realistic, as you could have got the same in any major UK city for about the same but really enjoyed it. The best part about our meal was Alex [Romanian], who was funning with our child everytime he passed which she absolutely loved.
Yes the hotel was clean, but on a couple of occasions we had to ask the cleaner if she was doing our room. On one occasion we had to ask her to come to our room, to see that we didn’t have a towel to have a shower. She must have been in a rush, and decided she would miss us out that day; so it’s a good job we came to wash before dinner otherwise we would have had no beds made or clean towels to wash.
And one more thing for the management, did you know people just turn up order drinks and have a good time at your expense? It happened a couple of times that we know, when a big Albanian guy who calls himself Bruno Sergio and his five pals just strolled in and ordered drinks. That’s why other hotels have the armbands, why don’t you make use of the room card and give out one for every adult who must swipe, show or produce before they get drinks?

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bucuresti_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

My boyfriend & I have just returned from a week all inclusive at the Aquis Blue Marine and we miss it already!!
We arrived at the hotel after a ridiculously long transfer (Over 2 hours!!) at around 2am, the reception staff were friendly and offerred us an upgrade to a sea view room for 10Euros a night. She let us view both rooms (inland view and sea view) and after seeing the sea view we decided it was well worth the money to upgrade, the balcony was huge (room 323) and the views were lovely, the room was also really spacious and clean.
The pool area is nice, however as we were there in peak time you did have to get up early and put your towels down otherwise you wont get a sunbed! (One day I was up at 6am along with many other english guests to reserve sunbeds - something i never thought i would do!) There was a range between young couples, families, older couples and groups which was nice, there was also a mix of english, german, russian.
The animation team were great - Erica, Mario, Aurellio, Camilla, Lubi and Guna; they were all really friendly & there were lots of activities going on during the day and they tried to get everyone involved but weren't pushy if you didn't want to! The shows in the ampitheatre in the evening were hilarious!! they also arranged a karaoke night, bingo, musical quiz etc etc.
The food was nice but we didn't feel there was much variety, alot of the time the lunch would be the same as dinner and vice versa. We started to get abit bored of the food after the first few days so decided to go into the town Agios Nikalous for a meal!
Also all inclusive drinks finish at 11pm which was abit of a disappointment!
The town was lovely, only a 10 min journey from the hotel, there is a bus but we decided to get a taxi which cost 9 euros each way!
When we left we were not being picked up until 9pm and checked out of our room at midday, however they let you leave your suitcases in a room by reception and there was a nice shower room in the spa where you can get ready before you leave (had 2 seperate showers, hairdryers etc)
Overall we had a really good holiday and 1 week was deff not long enough, we didnt get time to go on a boat trip and we wanted to explore some of the other towns and beaches but just didnt get round to it!!
I would recommend this hotel if you want a relaxing week in the sun, there are not really bars or restaurants within walking distance so not the best for young couple wanting a more lively atmosphere!
Hope this is helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ge0rgie_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Hotel is fairly well situated but beach is poor and shingly. Building is impressive and rooms are reasonably well equipped. But food is execrable. Everything is swimming in oil and patently prepared without any interest. You get one free meal in the a la carte restaurant or at least you would if you could get in. I tried to make a reservation half way through my 1 week stay and was told the first free table was available after our departure. It's a mixture here: a 5 star reception and building, 4 star room- no separate shower and a bath shower curtain that let's the bathroom flood - pretty good service from reception but this disgusting food that is driving us to eat out at every meal except breakfast. Even they can't muck up a plate of meusli and an egg you boil yourself. Oh yes and at 11.30 this morning we were subjected to deafening music around the pool for Aquarobics. And I mean DEAFENING. One more thing: they advertise this place as having a gym and a spa. These facilities are superficially good but the spa priced are not cheap. And the treadmill in the gym wouldn't flatten out so you had to run up an incline. The manager tried to tell me this was the way this machine was supposed to be. Hm. I concede that the music , gym, and shower issues are small issues but the food isanother. Am I picky? Yes. Would I
go to an Aquid hotel again? Only

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tobykellogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquis, Marketing Manager at Blue Marine Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your holiday. However, we are of course disappointed as we were not able to offer you unforgettable holiday.

We are very sorry for any discomfort or inconvenience you experienced in during the reservation for your dinner. We always kindly advice our guests not to leave their reservation inquiry for the day prior to their desired date as certainly there is a risk of not finding a table. I have passed along your comments to our Chef and I am regretful that you did not enjoy the food. Rest assured that the above issues will be closely monitored and already addressed internally into our F&B department

Our guest service levels are of the utmost importance to us and I am so glad to hear that our reception staff was professional as we always endeavor to exceed our guests’ expectations.

Thank you also for finding our spa and gym superficially good and we will immediately check the treadmill issue. The pricelist of our spa treatments is online on the property’s webpage open for everyone to review and be informed prior to arrival. The facilities and services are of high standards and we do our utmost to offer a value for money quality vs price ratio.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and truly value your feedback. Since your review seems to be incomplete and we dont know your intention however we really like to invite you to return in Aquis Hotels and Resorts again, it will be our pleasure to welcome you back in any of our resorts in Corfu, Crete, Kos and Rhodes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

The Aquis Blue Marine Resort and Spa is undoubtedly one of the best hotels I have been to. The rooms are spotless, cleanliness is the in word, the air conditioning is brilliant, no sleepless nights because of the heat, the service is excellent, the views are magnificent, the food is second to none at every meal. However, there were two faults during the holiday, the first one was the salt cellars, I am a lover of salt, whatever you tried you couldn't get enough salt out of the salt cellar, this spoilt a lot of the meals for me, but for most people it would be O.K., secondly the All Inclusive menu stopped at 11pm, you couldn't get a drink on all inclusive at 11:01pm, even if you had queued up at 10:30pm, this was a big downfall, after all you are on holiday and 11pm is early, I found this very annoying. But all in all the hotel was a gem, I will definitely go back and I would recommend the Aquis Blue Marine to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Food good with plenty of choices
Staff very pleasant, Animation team very friendly and not in your face all the time
You need the Sea view as it makes all the difference, we upgraded to the sea view costing 10 Euros per night
Good bus service to Agios Georgious and Sites
Overall we had a good time here

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thersea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews