We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Marine Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed at this hotel in October 2012. Lovely hotel, large food choice, cleam rooms, stunning seaviews from balcony, the beach is just accross the road accessible via underground path straight from a lift of the hotel. Location is ok. Nothing around the hotel, though Agios Nicolaos really is short taxi drive away. Don't try to walk... locals will say, that it's half an hour walk. It is more like an hour with no proper footpaths...not worth it. Entertainment wasn't the best, as it was end of the season and animation team seemed tired and not very interested. Might be different during high season. All in all great holidays. Definitely try the jeep safari offered at the hotel and the boat trip to Spinalonga with a stop in lagoon for swimming and bbq. Both well worth the money and are some of the highlights of our trip!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liva I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,569)
There are newer reviews for Blue Marine Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

514 - 520 of 1,569 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

It is nice to write a good review the complex is stnning a relax pool main pool large childrens pool the room we had was a lovely sea view large balcony patio doors in the bedroom and lounge area a first for us tea making facilities a bonus spolessly clean everywhere the only draw back i can find is you are remote unless you hire a car outside the hotel is 2 tavernas and supermarket so if you want a quiet holiday relaxing this is for you staff so friendly and make you welcome food 1st day all in greek so you did not know what you was eating that all changed and went to english would iwe go back yes go down to the pyramid in the evening recommed and in kassiopi go to janis taverna food to die for you will not regret going

Room Tip: go for sea views and top level rooms only 3 high
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thumboroune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at this hotel during the summer with our entire family. We had 4 rooms in total and the check in went very quick.
The hotel itself is amazing, good location with a short taxi ride to the center og Agios Nikolaos. The pool is clean and there is a beach right below the hotel. By the pool area the sunbeds are included but not by the pool. They have activities during the day which are good for both adults but especially kids. The food is extremly good for being all inclusive buffe. It is possible to get lunch boxes if you're going out for the day - however these were quite poor quality but it was nice that they had the option.
The only complaint I have is that when the maid cleaned our room I went back to fetch a book. She noticed me but didn't check that this was really my room. Which means that anyone could go in and take wath they wanted while the room was cleaned. I was glad that we had payed for using the safe. I have tried to get in contact with the manager regarding this but without any respons.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sudding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel 3-10th October and were really impressed. Having read on tripadvisor some negative reviews I was a bit wary but my fears were alleviated once we arrived at the hotel, sadly it took over 2hours from the airport as other people were being dropped at various holiday locations and the driver didnt seem to know where he was going at times, but it did give us a good idea of areas on Crete, luckily it was a different driver on route back at end of holiday who knew the way, being a different route back gave us even more areas to see on Crete if we were thinking of returning to this island.
Our hotel room was a good size with seaview and the rock just sideways of hotel, dont know the name but there was a house built on it. Agios Nicolas was in distance. Sadly we did not get sun on balcony, whether that was the time of year or because we were the last room on the block I dont know, it was quiet but during summer maybe not so as the childrens playarea and pool were below. We were concerned that someone could climb into our room as there seemed to be a footpath at the side of the hotel room and would always lock patio door however the cleaner always left it open.
First few days were awful as weather was cold and windy, I decided to try Spa and was disappointed to have to pay for jacuzzi as at home this is all included with my gym etc. Indoor spa pool was not available in the afternoon unless you again paid.
Outdoor pool was a good size but this time of year was freezing cold, had to put towels on loungers as people claimed them very early in morning, dont think summer months would find any loungers free at all.
I would have liked to have had more to do outside of the hotel as there are no shops within walking distance and it is quicker to jump a taxi,9 Euro, to Agio Nicholas than wait for a bus that doesnt always arrive on time.
However after all these niggles I can not fault the hotel staff who were friendly and helpful, the food was excellent and we never had a bad meal anytime, the al la carte was cosy and nice. Alcohol and cocktails were great and plentiful day and evening, it wasnt a problem that free alcohol finished at 11pm. Entertainment was not always its best but the small team were brilliant and tried to please, lovely folk! It was good that we could choose a DVD to watch in our room at night, good viewing as we couldnt understand tv problems in Greek.
I would go back to this hotel again if the airport trip wasnt so long and there was more to do outside of the hotel.

Room Tip: try to get mid hotel room with seaview
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here from 13th October-20th. What can we say, Everything about this hotel is excellent. We did not arrive until midnight but were welcomed with fruit, sandwiches and drinks. The rooms are of good size with breath taking views of Mirabella Bay and Agios Nickolas.
The hotel is exceptionally clean and staff extremely helpful. Food was of a wide variety and we ate in the Olive Tree restaurant on the Friday night which was exceptional. The animation guys were great, Leon was brilliant and worked so hard. We had a late flight on home but as we did not want to pay extra to keep the room on there was a huge luggage room for us to put our cases. Check out time was 12noon but we were allowed access to showers etc. and could use all the facilities until we left for the airport. They even had scales to weigh your luggage on so you could check the weight. All in all it was a fantastic holiday and cant wait to return next year.
Thanks again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 3rd floor. Big balcony and super view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Quick as I can......
Not a 5star more like a 3 star..
Long 2 hour transfer from airport through very tight back streets
Not all inclusive !!! Arrived at 11pm gagging for a drink but told all inclusive stops at 11pm so spent 45 euros on four drinks ....not amused
Bar pool stops there all inclusive at 6 pm ??
Lots of added extras ...fresh orange juice ,expresso coffee, use of the spa is free 10-2 pm but all the treatments are extra
You have to reserve your sun lounger before 7 am if you want to get near the pool at all...even though there are signs on all the parasols stating that you cannot do this ?? I suggest that you do !!
Get down early with a towel and a book ??
The restaurant food was average but something there for everyone ...not 3 star
The hotel is opposite a main road so constant heavy vehicles going past so if your going for peace and quiet .....maybe not
The pool side bar plays music from pa disco speakers most of the day ,so again if your going to relax ??
There is a private pool included with the hotel but this is very small and mostly covered with rocks ....see pictures included

But putting all that aside the hotel has stunning views looking out onto the ocean ,the hotel cleaners must be on speed as there are constantly cleaning the hotel from top to bottom...
The room we had was excellent with stunning views.....but the wi-if is crap in the rooms as we struggled to get any access,by the pool is ok

There is a bus stop just over the road and for a couple of euros you can take a ten minute ride into down and walk down to the port which is stunning and has an excellent range of bars and restaurants ....defo worth a look

I would return here as the staff were excellent ,friendly and helpfull but would take lots more cash..
Also if you drink tea I'd suggest taking your own !!

Room Tip: ask for above the third floor due to bar/disco music
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Read a few bad reviews about this hotel on here, but we really dont know what people were complaining about! The hotel had stunning views across the bay, plenty of delicious food & drink (all-inclusive), was lovely and clean, there were a few little things that could be improved, for example i'm a vegetarian, and the buffet could have been a bit better, labelled, e.g. "stuffed aubergines, but it didn't say what it was stuffed with, so i had to leave things i wasn't sure of in case it was meat. Also in the a la carte restaurante, I was very surprised to be served with a vegetarian burger that tasted like what you get in the shops! The toilets in reception and the main bar are very easy to get locked in (i had to rescue another lady who locked herself in so it wasn't just me!) Other than these few minor things, we had a fab time, the entertainment was different (probably made funnier once we had drunk a few of the all-inclusive cocktails)! Janis was especially helpful with the activities and always a very interesting person to talk to! The jeep safari that the hotel rep recommended was definitely worth the money, it was easy to get to Agios Nikolaos by bus (although the buses run on greek time which is normally quite late!) I think what anyone is objecting to about this hotel is the 5 star rating, i would say it is more like a 4 star - but still worth a visit!

Room Tip: definitely ask for a sea view
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snailsnipes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonis M, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Blue Marine Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on your recent stay with us and for highlighting your satisfaction with food, staff, ambience and location and that all these factors contributed to giving you an excellent and relaxing holiday.
Kindly be assured that the points of concern will have my personal attention for future improvement.
Thank you once more for choosing our hotel and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind personal regards,

Margaritakis Antonis
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
1.6 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#10 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
940 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only
21.9 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
3.5 mi away
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
#6 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
1,719 reviews
0.8 mi away
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Marine Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Marine Resort & Spa

Address: Ammoudara , Vathi, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece (Formerly Aquis)
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#6 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#8 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#16 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range: $120 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Marine Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Marine Resort & Spa is located 6km from Aghios Nikolaos in the prefecture of Lassithi nearby the blue clear waters of Ammoudara beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Marine Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Marine Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Blue Marine Resort And Spa
Blue Marine Resort & Spa Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing