We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel, was looking for a relaxing holiday and that's exactly what we got”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Marine Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent hotel, was looking for a relaxing holiday and that's exactly what we got”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stunning views, good variety of food to suit all nationalities, excellent animation team who try really hard to make everyone's holiday memorable and entertaining (especially Leon) looking to return next year as we liked it so much, all staff really friendly

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tracyann1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    457
    156
    58
    36
See reviews for
508
679
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had chosen Agios Nikolaos for our holiday this year and it was fifth time to travel to Crete Island. This time we wanted to avoid the noisy town therefore we choose a hotel in Ammoudara, directly on the sea (a 10 minutes ride to Ag.Nikolaos).
The hotel has an own beach and has a beautiful setting in bay of Mirabello. Beach is accessible through the road or by helf of an elevator.
If you have a seview room you will have views of Agios Nikolaos in the distance (left from the hotel).
The building is huge, we have received a 2 rooms suite in the north wing, it was really spacious and comfortable (we also had 2 balconies, excellent for listening to the waves and glazing the stars in the night :)
The only downside was the food. The restaurant has a mass cantine feeling, and the quality of the food is not the highest, but one can always find something to eat since there are lots of food to choose from. The worst thing was the drinks (soft drinks, wine, bear and even the milk) with very poor quality. And you can even not to buy something better, since they have only these drinks (coming from a machine).
On the contrary, the a la carte restaurant is excellent with very good food and service, but the situation is the same with the drinks side.
All in all it was a very good holiday, but we would not return due to the quality of food and drinks. I think we would choose Iberostar chain as we preferred it earlier, and would choose Iberostar Mirabello Beach or Iberostar Hermes next time, since it is sure that we will come back to Agios Nikolaos within a few years time.

Room Tip: Rooms in the north wing (closer to Agios Nikolaos) have less noise (from the bar and the pool entert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

we are now in the end of our 5 days vacation
We enjoyed every minute in this hotel
Sorry we have to leave
The rooms have a wonderful point of view to the sea
The stuff of the hotel are very friendly
The rooms are very clean
The location is great very close to agnos
They have private beach
We will come back
Uzy arbel
Israel

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arbel009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

After reading some of the negative reviews on this hotel I was a little worried about our family holiday. I have come to the conclusion that people just like to complain and will find the smallest thing and blow it totally out of proportion!!!!!!!. My experience of the Blue Marine was lovely. Lovely location, staff, food, rooms, spa, pool, beach etc. We had a fabulous holiday very relaxing the only thing for us was it was a little remote and wasn't possible to walk into ag. nik you had to get the bus or a taxi. However we were there for a week and just wanted to chill and that is exactly what we did. Thankyou to all the staff and animation team who we found very helpful and approachable. Small tip, get a taxi from the airport to avoid the long transfer, a little pricey but well worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I spent a week vacation with two of my girlfriends at this hotel for on all inclusive package.
We arrived very late and the kitchen was already closed...but there were sandwiches, fruits and a welcome drink awaiting us when we arrived (that was a very impressive indeed, since we were all very hungry).
We got a very spacious and clean room with a wonderful and breathtaking sea view balcony.
Food from both restaurant buffet & A la carte was delicious with different assortment.
Top class service was renderred from room cleaning, restaurant & bar service, up to the daytime & night time entertainment. Staff from all departments were very friendly and approachable.

My friends and I enjoyed and loved our stay here and will mostly come back again :)

I would like to thank the following staff that made our vacation worth while ;)

To Nufoula, Hara, Lena, Jana, Giorges(bar), Mouskos, the animation team and to Mr. George D.

You were all great!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Me and my friends enjoyed staying in there nice and welcoming hotel from 8 August to 15 August 2013. We arrived late in the evening, they have welcome drinks, fruits and sandwich for my hungry stomach. ;) The amenities/facilitiies is good, everyday their is activity/entertainment for kids and adults exept for wednesday because the animation entertainer is off, but we can still use the amenities/facilities. The restaurant is clean, the waiter's was accommodating and the food was tasty, some of the food did not meet my expectation but most of the time I enjoy eating their food. We have free 1 night a la cart, we enjoyed, because the food was very tasty and we sit at panoramic view. We also enjoyed eating greek salad...different kinds of greek salad. If we cannot eat lunch at the restaurant we can ask for a pack lunch and they will prefer it for us. The hotel was very clean, every evening and night, we can see that they're cleaning. The wifi service is not so good and not so bad, its just in the middle. Our room was spacious and we have balcony, we enjoyed seating and relaxing at the balcony. Everyday they're cleaning and changing our towels.

We meet friendly stuff at there hotel..they are Nifoula (bartender/waiter) and George (bartender), Moushos and Hara (waiter), Maria (Egg station), Lena (host), Timea (Animitaion team/entertainer) and the manager George D. (I forgot the spelling of his lastname) They are fantastic stuff. We enjoyed talking and making some joke's with them.

If your looking for some relaxing and enjoyable hotel/resort. I can recommend this place their's a lot of activites for kids and adults. Couple, friends and specially for the families, your kids will enjoy staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonahC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kongens Lyngby, Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I meet good people nice attitude and they all have a good humor, kind, friendly.. And i am comfortable to ask them who works here... Even thought this is my first time to stay in the hotel BLUE MARINE... I could recomend to my friends and family to come here and stay here. And i want to come back here again to spent my holliday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvelynThomsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
1.6 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#10 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
856 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace
Sensimar Minos Palace
#4 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
545 reviews
21.9 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#3 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
#6 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
1,640 reviews
3.2 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
0.8 mi away
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Marine Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Marine Resort & Spa

Property: Blue Marine Resort & Spa
Address: Ammoudara , Vathi, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece (Formerly Aquis)
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#6 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#8 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#16 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Marine Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Marine Resort & Spa is located 6km from Aghios Nikolaos in the prefecture of Lassithi nearby the blue clear waters of Ammoudara beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Marine Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Marine Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Blue Marine Resort And Spa
Blue Marine Resort & Spa Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing