We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Galley Bar

The Galley Bar
Ranked #46 of 136 Restaurants in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: Bar, Greek, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Called in many times on our recent holiday in the area. Each time got a friendly and fun reception. George and Jackie made us more than welcome and went out of there way to do any thing for us. Their establishment is immaculate and the food is second to none, and themselves being one of the nicest couple we have had the pleasure to meet. A must visit when in the area.

John & Francesca, Wigan

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnFrancesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    7
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a great place to eat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Galley Bar is one of the friendliest bars in Ag Nik. Run by George and Jackie, the food is excellent and reasonably priced. Try the ribeye steak with onions and mushrooms. It is to die for. Homemade pizza is also on the same scale..
George and Jackie will look after you and nothing is too much trouble. Give them a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peaksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
“LOVE TO GO BACK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Went to Crete for a wedding heard about the Galley and decided to give a go and i am so glad we did what a welcome the hospitality was second to none the food was excellent the beer was always cold.George and Jackie were the perfect hosts.
June AND John

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john_pleece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenfig Hill, null, United Kingdom
1 review
“could not wish for more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Went for a family wedding and found the galley bar what a welcome from george and jackie. The food was fab, hospitality next to non. Opened bar early for us to watch the lions rugby. Would recommend anyone visit this bar when yo go to agios nikolaos. Thanks mags and em xx

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Started well and then descended into the surreal”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We bobbed in here for a few late night drinks after a night out in "Ag Nik". They had well priced, cold Fix available and all was good. There were some locals playing pool so I decided to give them a game. We had a few matches and it was all nice and civil. Handshakes were exchanged after the games and then as the bar started to empty the owner stepped in for a few games himself. As we were playing, he began to become increasingly "effervescent". I assumed it was just his character and that he was larger than life. I laughed it off. Then he started to become a little more confrontational and I was starting to feel uncomfortable about it all. The game ended with him trying to be a big, Alpha male about it the games and pool in general. I decided it was time to end the night as what had begun in a friendly way, was quickly starting to feel a bit threatening and confrontational. After we paid the bill, he was still ranting and then began to tell me how I need to treat my lady and how she should be put in her place (she'd asked him to curb the swearing, to little affect). His English wife - who I have to say was a lovely girl - watched on with a look of embarrassment but i'm afraid to say, also a look of "not all this again" in her eyes. She never said a word to him during this rant. We felt for her.

I guess he'd just had one too many but it was absolutely no way to treat paying patrons. We left angry and mystified in equal measure.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NeilMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Galley Bar also viewed

Agios Nikolaos, Lasithi Prefecture
Agios Nikolaos, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Agios Nikolaos, Lasithi Prefecture
Agios Nikolaos, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Agios Nikolaos, Lasithi Prefecture
Agios Nikolaos, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to The Galley Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing