We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dusty diamond in fantastic location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delphi Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Delphi Palace
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Delphi
Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dusty diamond in fantastic location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel was one of the famous "Xenia" chain built by the Greek government in the sixties to kick-start quality tourism. Designed by the best modern architects of the period and located in unbelievably beautiful places, they are all great to visit.
Over time, the state management, under pressure from many private competitors, allowed them all to deteriorate and they were all privatised in the nineties and early 21st century. Many are now again top hotels, others are struggling a bit.
This is one that can no longer be a top hotel but is nonetheless still amazingly located and comfortable. Of course prices reflect this status and you should get a good price deal.
Apparently they have a good restaurent but we didn't try it. Eating out is OK locally or, better, go up the hill to the tavernas of Arachova or down to the sea at Itea.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edandmarianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    66
    30
    35
    29
See reviews for
63
70
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Delphi Palace is a historic hotel and part of the Greek architectural heritage, since it was designed by one of Greece's seminal architects Mr. Demetrios Pikionis; Delphi Palace being one of his most important works is under the aegis of the Hellinic Preservation Trust. This information was passed on to me by the owner, whom I had the pleasure to meet during my stay there. Apparently this hotel was recently renovated with some certain extensions, such as the swimming pool & spa area, inasmuch as it went though a sustainable regeneration process in order to attain some modern facilities and services without sacrificing its character and identity. Due to my profession I found all this quite fascinating and I strongly believe that whomever has an interest in seeing more than the archaeological site, should definitely pay a visit to this hotel.

If you don't care much about the above, your stay will still be just as good. The staff is very polite and helpful, most of them fluent in more languages than just English. What I loved more about this hotel were the spaces which are found on different levels, emphasizing more the fact that this building lies on a cliff. There are nice little gardens connecting all the exterior spaces making the walks from one place to another all very pleasant. The restaurant has a massive terrace that overlooks the Corinthian Gulf, just like most of the rooms' balconies; the views are amazing giving you the best of the renowned Delphic landscape. Location-wise, being on the west outskirts of the town it is very quiet, yet only a 5 minute walk away from the town centre.
Overall a very enjoyable and memorable stay, I would definitely go back any time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lizziefizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delphi, Greece
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Pictures on the Web nice, actual hotel today not like in pictures, maybe when it was built. It is dirty, pool the same, blue towels for pool side full of stains.One insect walking in our room when we walked in the room. Dolphin Hellas needs to review the hotels from time to time. Definitely this hotel is not what we hoped.

Diego G

Room Tip: Do not believe in the pictures they were taken in 1950. 62 years later it is totally different
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diego G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Delphi hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Like most hotels in Delphi the view is spectacular in particular rooms. If you are looking for the best view make sure to request rooms on higher levels on the side closest to the Delphi. Rooms on on the other side and lower have a partial view blocked by the swimming pool cover.

The hotel is located on the "outskirts" of Delphi, but only a 7 minute walk from the center of main street. Besides, in the evening you get to walk by the locals sitting on their decks.

The grounds are a bit unkept, plants grow unhindered. There is a path below the pool that would lead to a nice cafe, but the hotel does not seem to keep it up. The fate on the left side is locked, but I believe the gate on the right was open.

If you are on a tour group the dinner and breakfast are OK, but I highly recommend going in town and finding a place to eat. The staff tries hard, but the fair is not something you will write home about. The bar and the "business center" are also non-existent.

In terms of the room they are a decent size. They have flat screen TVs. The sheets were very clean and so were the towels. Didn't find hair on the linens. The bathrooms are smaller and the showers do not have the traditional shower head. Like most Greek hotels they are bathtubs with handheld heads. Air condition is slow in some rooms, but if you harp enough on it the staff will give you a "smaller room" which will pump AC controlled by the desk. (They'll turn it off in the morning so be careful.) But, you shouldn't care about the room, because you should only be in it to sleep!

The staff is very attentive and concerned about your stay. Delphi has been hit hard by the supposed problems with Greece, so the staff really wants you to enjoy yourself. We had a problem with a clean bathroom which was immediately taken care of. The staff was very apologetic and provided a complementary bottle of wine. That is probably the best gesture we have ever gotten from a hotel.

In all a nice option for Delphi.

Room Tip: Request room of upper levels for good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelCov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was our third hotel on our travels through Europe. We were most impressed by the views that were offered. You are perched high up on the mountain and get a fantastic blend of mountains, oceans, etc from any room you end up in. Each room has it's own little balcony which added to the experience. The rooms were large as well as the bathrooms, although our group had a broken shower head and broke their key in the lock. It didn't seem to be a problem for the staff though, they spoke excellent English and had a repairman down right away to fix both problems without issue. The meals were excellent, and the swimming pool was a nice treat after dinner. Very peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

When I went to Greece I first went to Athens, a very beautiful city. Then, me and some friends headed towards Delphi to see the Temple of Apollo. We stayed here in the Delphi Palace which I think has the best view of Delphi and its plains. The food we ate that day was spectacular, it looked kind of weird but the taste changed my thinking. I really recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

I stayed at the Delphi Palace as part of a tour. The hotel is a herritage building, so not much improvement work can be done to it. But, it is a very comfortable, quaint & small, with no elevators. The view from my room was amazing, as the hotel is perched high on the mountain. As one reviewer mentioned earlier, be careful when opening the door onto the balcony, as you can think you have broken the door, which I did! The hotel is a short walk into the town and it has free WIFI. The food for breakfast and dinner was OK, I found their vegetarian options very average. Service staff were just ok too. The hotel has free WIFI in the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kadda79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Delphi hotels
0.2 mi away
Amalia Hotel Delphi
Amalia Hotel Delphi
#4 of 25 in Delphi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fedriades Delphi Hotel
Fedriades Delphi Hotel
#3 of 25 in Delphi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pythia Art Hotel
Pythia Art Hotel
#14 of 25 in Delphi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nidimos Hotel
Nidimos Hotel
#1 of 25 in Delphi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Acropole Delphi
Hotel Acropole Delphi
#7 of 25 in Delphi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kastalia Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delphi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delphi Palace

Property: Delphi Palace
Address: Apollonos 69, Delphi 33054 , Greece
Location: Greece > Central Greece > Phocis Region > Delphi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Delphi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Delphi Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revitalize your mind, body and soul basking in the glow of the Greek sun along with the enchanting view of the Corinthian bay 'KNOW YOURSELF' at The Delphi Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Delphi Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delphi Palace Hotel Delphi
Palace Hotel Delphi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing