We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The staff made the stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Varonos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Varonos
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Delphi
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The staff made the stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

In Delphi, there are easily 20 hotels in a row on the main strip. I have stayed in others that may have been more recently renovated, but the staff at Hotel Varonos was amazing. I was traveling alone, but felt 100% safe and completely comfortable asking questions. The man working the front desk helped me with my luggage, showed me the ins and outs of the lighting, A/C, etc., and gave me directions to the archeological site, good restaurants, and shops. I would happily return again.

Room Tip: You have the option of either a city view or a sea view. Either is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gedie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    119
    37
    8
    1
See reviews for
74
118
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rethymnon, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

classic delphi hotel,friendly owners,clean,good A/C,great breakfast,unbeatable views.it only needs an elevator and new furnitures.for us was great to stay here,it was close to the center and the sites,our rooms in the south side was super quietand ur beds comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

The views from the balcony are once in a life time. The location is ideal, walking distance to Delphi. Easy on-street parking. The staff are very friendly, and the breakfast is good. The rooms were clean although basic. The beds are hard, but they did the job. AC worked great.

Room Tip: The family suite was very nice - two separate bedrooms and two separate baths. We had five, but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LTA0118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed one night in a sea/valley view room - the view was breathtaking and well worth the extra few dollars. The location was good - fairly close to the edge of town (although Delphi is small and so most hotels are a short walk to the archeological site and museum).

The service was excellent - really polite, friendly, and helpful. There is wifi available, a great breakfast buffet, and a small store next door with water, beer, snacks, etc. Lots of shops on the small streets with souvenirs, jewelry, rugs, etc.

Our room was clean and quiet. The bed was very comfortable! The air conditioner was operated by a remote control - first time we had experienced that! Listen carefully at check in for how to operate it. We weren't paying attention and woke up hot at 3am and had to figure it out half awake.

The bathroom was adequate. Rather small, but not by European standards. Nice toiletries, but bring your own conditioner if you need it. Great line-dried towels. The only thing that was difficult to remember was to put the toilet paper in the trash can instead of the toilet. This was the case at several hotels and museums...

Overall, we would stay here again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view of the Gulf of Corinth!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COBLittleRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed one night at Hotel Varonos - they upgraded our room to one of the attic rooms with a nicer view. The room itself was comfortable and clean, with two single beds pushed together and another single bed off to the side. The bathroom was small by North American standards (but we noticed that was normal at all the hotels we stayed at), but the shower had an actual (small) tub. The floors were tile, which was a nice change, and the roof beams were beautiful stained wood. The balcony looked out over the gulf of Corinth and the valley, which was stunning. The mountain views were beautiful and the balcony itself was comfortably sized for two people.

The host was helpful and welcoming; the decor in the lobby was eclectic and homey, giving it more of a B&B feel. Breakfast was simple but good. It's an easy walk to the archaeological sites (about 10 minutes) and there are plenty of restaurants and shops around.

Room Tip: pay the extra few euros to get a valley view, it's definitely worth it. We stayed in room 25 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cymry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

This hotel was perfectly located in the heart of Delphi, easy to park and walk to any restaurant in town. It's only a few minutes from the archaeological sites and from the cute little mountain town of Arahova. The place is cute and a little silly, with a friendly staff and a buffet-style breakfast. We didn't actually make it to breakfast because the bed was AMAZING. A king, with plenty of fluffy pillows - it was the best I've slept on in all of Greece. The room and bathroom were very clean. And the views were INCREDIBLE!

Room Tip: Spring for the king sized bed with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Nice hotel, but do not settle for the second floor, small windows and the noise from the road. Take these rooms are not worth it. All hotels nearby almost identical level of comfort. Very friendly hosts.

Room Tip: Very friendly hosts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onoyko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Delphi hotels
0.1 mi away
Pan Hotel
Pan Hotel
#6 of 25 in Delphi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nidimos Hotel
Nidimos Hotel
#1 of 25 in Delphi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fedriades Delphi Hotel
Fedriades Delphi Hotel
#4 of 25 in Delphi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Acropole Delphi
Hotel Acropole Delphi
#7 of 25 in Delphi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kastalia Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Pitho Rooms
Pitho Rooms
#2 of 25 in Delphi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Varonos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Varonos

Property: Hotel Varonos
Address: 25 Vassileon Pavlou & Friderikis, Delphi 330 54, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Greece > Phocis Region > Delphi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Delphi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Varonos 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Varonos Hotel! A traditional hotel wonderfully located in the heart of Delphi, over looking the famous olive valley and the Corintian gulf, close to every attraction! Feel the spirit of ancient years and the peacefulness of nature! Enjoy activities, wonder around the city, visit the sites and shop traditional products! Our hospitality will surely make you feel at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Varonos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varonos Hotel Delphi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing