We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget Hotel with Great Views”
Review of Hotel Varonos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Varonos
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Delphi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2014

The hotel is situated in the middle of Delfi, within walking distance of the historical sites. We took a car and you will need to find parking on the street. There are rules based on the signs on the street. The month determines which side of the street you can park on but I would just pay attention to where everyone else parks there car and follow suit.

We got an attic room which was nicely maintained and we had a balcony that overlooked the mountains and was unobstructed by anything. Really pretty to sit out and just enjoy the mountain surroundings. The views from Delfi were among the favorite of the places I visited in the mainland of Greece.

They serve breakfast but do not have a restaurant however there are several within a 3 minute walk from the hotel.

They have a shop which sells local items as well as snacks and you can call the front desk and ask them to bring you something. The staff was very nice and knowledgeable.

A very nice budget hotel and very quick walk to all the major sites.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RNH82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Varonos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 278 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

Hotel situated in the centre of Delfi. Easy access to restaurants for dinner (the hotel serves only breakfast) but you need to take your car to visit the archaeological site.
The reception area looks like a bric-a-brac shop and the stairs are party obstructed by plant pots; it is therefore not easy to carry the luggage to the rooms - the hotel has no lift. Rooms are small albeit comfortable and the view to the valley and the sea is beautiful. Service is friendly and the owner recommends restaurants for dinner. Breakfast is complete with juices, cereals, cheese, meet, jam, etc.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the first floor and try to concentrate what you need for you stay in one bag an...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PfgMfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed one night at Hotel Varonas, as others have mentioned the owner and staff are very helpful and a pleasure to deal with The lobby area is charming and very comfortable. The complimentary beer upon arrival was appreciated!! It is true that this an older establishment, many are in Delphi, but the rooms were a reasonable and very clean. A huge plus were the magnificent views overlooking the valley (we had rooms on the top floor) - we spent quite a while sitting on our balcony enjoying the views sipping on a beer. Complimentary wifi was included in the cost of our room which was a bonus.

Location is central with a general store next door and many eatings places and shops close by.

Would definely stay at Hotel Varonos if we were every lucky enought to visit Delphi again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greatimes4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We are finding it difficult to rate the tourist hotels we've been staying in during our trip in Greece & Italy. If TripAdvisor had a separate category for budget priced tourist hotels, apart from high end hotels, we would definitely rate this one as a 4 star tourist hotel. However, with a rating system that applies to all hotels, we can only give this one 3 stars, but would qualify that by saying that it is definitely good value for the price. The owner and staff are lovely and the view from our balcony was fantastic! The breakfast room is well set up and the usual selection of yogurt, bread, boiled eggs, etc is perhaps slightly better than some other hotels in the same category. The only negatives for us was that one if the twin beds was uncomfortable and squeaked with every move and several light bulbs were burned out. Shower was ok for us. Our room was in the back so absolutely no street noise, though like many tourist hotels there was the usual talking and door slamming in the hallway, which settled down at a reasonable time. We would recommend this hotel for a good value budget hotel within easy walking distance of all the sights and restaurants in Delphi.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buzzinn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed one night at the Hotel Varonos, and felt we got good value for the price. We had a triple attic room, very clean, with lovely sweeping views of the valley. The desk manager was friendly, and we appreciated the use of the computer in the lobby. Breakfast was varied and tasty. The only drawback was the shower. The shower in our room wasn't small, as other reviewers experienced, but it had no water pressure and unpredictable temperatures - basically a trickle of scorching hot and then freezing cold water. Definitely the worst shower of our trip. But even given this, the price of the room was so reasonable that we still felt like we got our money's worth for the room, and we would recommend the hotel to others. It's great for a one-night stay to see the beautiful Delphi site.

Room Tip: It's possible that the shower problems (esp the lack of water pressure) were due to us being in...
Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank TeamVGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

A nice hotel with great view of the valley from the balcony. Not enough hot water for morning shower prevents a 5 star review. Manager and staff very helpful. The included breakfast was a nice touch. The hotel is located very close to the Delphi site and museum.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

As others have stated, the owners/staff of Hotel Varonos are friendly and helpful. They make one feel that they are truly pleased to have you stay in their hotel. The rates are affordable; many rooms have lovely views over the valley and some have small balconies. There is a nice selection of options at breakfast. Walking distance from the bus stop. The ancient site is also within walking distance for those of reasonable fitness.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderWhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Delphi hotels
0.1 mi away
Fedriades Delphi Hotel
Fedriades Delphi Hotel
#3 of 25 in Delphi
569 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pitho Rooms
Pitho Rooms
#1 of 25 in Delphi
499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nidimos Hotel
Nidimos Hotel
#2 of 25 in Delphi
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Acropole Delphi
Hotel Acropole Delphi
#6 of 25 in Delphi
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sibylla Hotel
Sibylla Hotel
#10 of 25 in Delphi
172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kastalia Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Varonos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Varonos

Address: 25 Vassileon Pavlou & Friderikis, Delphi 330 54, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Greece > Phocis Region > Delphi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Delphi
Price Range: $44 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Varonos 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Varonos Hotel! A traditional hotel wonderfully located in the heart of Delphi, over looking the famous olive valley and the Corintian gulf, close to every attraction! Feel the spirit of ancient years and the peacefulness of nature! Enjoy activities, wonder around the city, visit the sites and shop traditional products! Our hospitality will surely make you feel at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Varonos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varonos Hotel Delphi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing