We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Views”
Review of Hotel Varonos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Varonos
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Delphi
Certificate of Excellence
Terrigal, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
511 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Views”
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

A very friendly welcome gave us an immediately positive attitude. We were given 2 rooms (there were 2 couples) on the top floor. The stairway up to our rooms was narrow but without hesitation, staff helped with our luggage. The rooms were small but more than adequate. They were clean and tidy and the beds were comfortable. The views were simply stunning.
Hotel's location is another plus. The decor and other items on display in the foyer was unique and became a bit of a talking point between the 4 of us.
We were in Delphi only one night but we enjoyed our time at Hotal Varonos - can highly recommend.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Phillip8789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    125
    38
    8
    1
See reviews for
77
122
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Delphi is a small village - we stayed here to see the major site but also for the view from this hotel's balcony. Get a room on the second floor facing out - the room is quite simple but it is clean, and everything you need.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMMACDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
2 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My family spent a great weekend at Delphi. We stayed at Varonos hotel. It was just a great choice. A charmy family run hotel, in a very good location, with polite staff, with great services and the most important with logical prices. Definitely we recommend this nice hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnsyellowcab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varonos, Manager at Hotel Varonos, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear John,

Thank you very much for your review and we are very glad that you spend a great time in our hotel in Delphi. Also thank you very much for recommend our hotel. We do our best to make you feel like you are in your home. We hope to see you again in our hotel in Delphi!

Regards,
Giorgos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullumbimby, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at hotel Varonos for 3 nights recently (september 2012) and had a very pleasant stay. Even tho we didn't pay extra for a sea view room, the view from our room was still spectacular. The beds... ahhh the best we slept on in greece - some kind of latex cover which made it really comfy compared with all the "hard as a rock" or "lumpy" beds we slept on in other motels in similar price range at Varonos. The staff were very friendly and helpful - family run business... and wifi was mostly good. Originally booked for 2 nights, but Delphi was so spectacular, and Varonos so close to the ruins and museum, we stayed for a 3rd night. Highly recommend both Delphi at a travel destination, and Hotel Varonos as a place to stay. Many thanks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varonos, Manager at Hotel Varonos, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Susie,

Thank you very much for your review. We do our best to be our customers satisfied here in our hotel and to spend a great time in Delphi. Yes as i mentioned in previous review, we renew all the beds this year ( 2012) and we buy the best beds which are in the market, thats why you make the best sleep in Greece. Delphi is one of the most beautiful places in the world and one or two days stay is not enough!!
We hope to see you again in hotel Varonos!! Have a nice time and take care of yourselfe.

Best regards,
Giorgos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The manager goes out of his way to help with any request. The rooms are not large but adequate. The views from our room was extraordinary. Like all the hotels we have thus far sampled in Greece, the mattress was spartan. Didn't worry me but the wife requested six extra pillows to sleep on. At the price, great value.

Room Tip: Request North facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidCaratzas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varonos, Manager at Hotel Varonos, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear David,

Thank you very much for your review. We do our best to be our customers satisfied here in our hotel and to spend a great time in Delphi. We hope to see you again in hotel Varonos!! Have a nice time and take care of yourselfe.

Best regards,
Giorgos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I had a fabulous, restful time -- the scenery was beautiful, room was clean, location convenient, rate reasonable, and staff helpful. I would definitely recommend a trip to Delfi and a stay at the Varonos.

Part of why I'm so enthusiastic about Delfi and the Varonos is because I experienced so little rest during the rest of my two week trip in Greece. Although Greece is an amazingly beautiful country and has a tourist driven economy, I found myself being taken advantage of, treated rudely, and generally feeling uneasy during much of the rest of my trip...which was surprising given tourism's central role here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varonos, Manager at Hotel Varonos, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We do our best to be our customers satisfied here in our hotel and to spend a great time in Delphi. We hope to see you again in hotel Varonos!! Have a nice time and take care of yourselfe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Nice small family run hotel in ctr of town. Easily walk to sites. Room was nice, clean, great decor, AC. View of mtns from room is great. Staff helpful and.polite. I found the father to be more helpful/polite than his son. Would definitely recommend for a stay!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erlingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varonos, Manager at Hotel Varonos, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your review! We do our best to be our customers sutisfied! Yes our hotel is at the centre of the town only 5 minutes on foot from the museum and sites of Delphi. And at last the view of the valley and the Corinthian Gulf is great and all the visitors here must see it.
Thank you again and hope to see you an other time in our hotel here in Delphi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Delphi hotels
0.0 mi away
Pitho Rooms
Pitho Rooms
#1 of 25 in Delphi
489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pan Hotel
Pan Hotel
#7 of 25 in Delphi
359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fedriades Delphi Hotel
Fedriades Delphi Hotel
#3 of 25 in Delphi
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nidimos Hotel
Nidimos Hotel
#2 of 25 in Delphi
331 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kastalia Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Acropole Delphi
Hotel Acropole Delphi
#6 of 25 in Delphi
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Varonos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Varonos

Property: Hotel Varonos
Address: 25 Vassileon Pavlou & Friderikis, Delphi 330 54, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Greece > Phocis Region > Delphi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Delphi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Varonos 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Varonos Hotel! A traditional hotel wonderfully located in the heart of Delphi, over looking the famous olive valley and the Corintian gulf, close to every attraction! Feel the spirit of ancient years and the peacefulness of nature! Enjoy activities, wonder around the city, visit the sites and shop traditional products! Our hospitality will surely make you feel at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Varonos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varonos Hotel Delphi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing