We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly right for visiting Delphi”
Review of Pitho Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pitho Rooms
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Delphi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We booked 2 nights in the Pitho Rooms for our visit to Delphi. We were greeted by George, Vicky and family on our arrival and our stay with them was perfect. The accomodation is within walking distance of the ancient sites so if travelling by car you can just park up and leave it until you leave. The tavernas in the street made us very welcome , one bar had a large screen so we could watch the England game! Not our usual night time entertainment in Greece but sometimes you have to do it! Delphi was almost deserted at night with all the coaches heading back to Athens.
The Pitho rooms are clean, comfortable, excellent value and with the added bonus of interesting, knowledgable hosts. Thank you to George and Vicky, we would recommend their hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beverleyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 504 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2012

Clean and comfortable three star hotel with five star service. Exceptionally helpful owner who is knowledgeable about the current reduced site hours. A very good breakfast is served at this hotel. Ask for the rooms that overlook a lovely, small landscaped courtyard. From the hotel you can walk to the bus station, the museum and to the sites.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms overlook the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SelbyDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We arrived late in Delphi but George was expecting us. After driving around Delphi trying to find Pitho Rooms, he flagged us down in the street. He helped us find a parking spot on the street and then carried our bags up to our room.

The rooms are average I would say but was only 50 Euro. They are very clean, with 2 twin beds for a double. There was a fridge in the room, but no hair dryer, safe, or coffee maker. Our room had a back balcony but unfortunately we didn't get to enjoy it at all because we were off early the next morning for the Sanctuary of Apollo.

Breakfast was served at 8:15am because George went to get fresh bread at the bakery down the street, which opened at 8am. Breakfast consisted of bread/honey, meat/cheese, yogurt, cereal, and fruit.

The free Wifi in the rooms had a good signal. George also operates a souvenir shop down stairs. I highly recommend Pitho Rooms if you are staying in Delphi as a great value.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ballardtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed one night here with friends, and were warmly welcomed by Vicky and George who were eager to assist us. There was some initial confusion around our booking, but this was quickly resolved amidst profuse apologies from our hosts. Finding parking near the hotel was a challenge at first but George quickly assisted with that and in the interim insisted on carrying our luggage from the car for us. We essentially shared in their family's living space, but such was the openess of the welcome that this didn't feel at all uncomfortable. Our room was very neat and clean, looking on to a tiny courtyard garden from our small balcony. It was a pleasant walk from the hotel to the archaeological sites; like others we discovered that a mid afternoon arrival meant that the museum and main site had just closed (3.00pm due to govt austerity measures), but we were directed by Vicky and George to those sites that we could still access. If we had the time to have stayed longer it would have been a pleasure to do so.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russell A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Our one night at the Pitho hotel was very nice and George, the owner was most welcoming and helpful upon our arrival. The hotel is clean, the beds are hard, like most places in Greece and our breakast was very nice. George even arrived with fresh bread from his grandmothers recipe. Wonderful! The hotel is also located within walking distance to the site.
Warning: We arrived in Delphi mid afternoon to find out the the site was closed due to the greek govt. note being able to pay employees to keep it open past 3 pm. and the books say 8 pm.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FLRedrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

As soon as we approached Pitho rooms with our suitcases, George came running out to help us. A very warm welcome indeed! We also met Vicky who welcomed us in Delphi.

Our room was on the first floor (same as the lobby) with a nice balcony at the back. Although there was no view from the balcony (it is a tiny courtyard), the walls there were very nicely decorated with flowers and small statues, making it a nice balcony on which to drink a beer (which we did!).

The room was spotless and very quiet thanks to two thick doors separating our room from the lobby, I don't think i slept better anywhere in Greece than here!

As soon as we got out of our room again Vicky apologized to us that we did not get a room with a double bed, since there was a family with two very young children occupying the floor that she wanted to put us on, fearing that it might produce some noise. Very considerate indeed, but we were perfectly happy with the room she gave us so no apologies necessary!

George made a very nice breakfast in the morning with warm bread and told us all we needed to know about the Delphi sites, we couldn't have asked for a better host!

We both agree that this was our best accomodation we encountered in Greece. George and Vicky were so nice to us and if we ever return to Delphi we would absolutely stay again in Pitho rooms. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichelSchudel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This has to be one of the best bargains in Greece.

Pitho is a small, simple hotel but clean and centrally located in Delfi (Delphi). Our room was smallish but not tiny. It was comfortable and had a small balcony that looked out over the main street of Delfi. Most of all we appreciated the welcome we received from the owners, George and Vicki. You very quickly can become part of their family.

The major tourist sites or short ride or even walkable for the more vigorous travelers. A surprise was the Angelos and Eva Sikelianos Museum.

A caution - if you are traveling between Delfi and Larissa don't take E 65. It is a torturous ride on the narrow road over mountains with hairpin curves, few guardrails, rock falls, potholes and a bunch of goats. The goats were welcome because it gave me a good excuse to stop. Take along route along the coast.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe1195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Delphi hotels
0.0 mi away
Fedriades Delphi Hotel
Fedriades Delphi Hotel
#3 of 25 in Delphi
594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nidimos Hotel
Nidimos Hotel
#2 of 25 in Delphi
377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kastalia Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Amalia Hotel Delphi
Amalia Hotel Delphi
#5 of 25 in Delphi
753 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Acropole Delphi
Hotel Acropole Delphi
#6 of 25 in Delphi
375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pan Hotel
Pan Hotel
#7 of 25 in Delphi
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitho Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitho Rooms

Address: 40A Vassileon Pavlou & Friderikis | Pavlou, Delphi 330 54, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Greece > Phocis Region > Delphi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Delphi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Delphi
Price Range: $51 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pitho Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Mycenaean times, Delphi, which was called "Rocky Pytho"€� by Homer, was sanctuary of a female deity, Ge, who gave oracles through a prophetess. Family-run friendly, warm atmosphere. Comfortable lounge fireplace, air-conditioning, cafe bar, central heating, bathrooms, TV set, breakfast, coffee, pastries, drinks. Emphasis on cleanliness of all rooms. The hotel is centrally located near all public services and places of interest. Things to do: visit the Archaeological Museum, the Archaeological Sites, Sikelianos, Stately Home Open Sports Centre: (Volleyball, Tennis, Basketball) shops, restaurants, cafes, bars. There is easy access to Parnassus Ski Centre and the nearby villages for one-day trips. Unique combination ofmountainous landscape, the olive groves and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pitho Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitho Rooms Delphi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing