We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great restaurant”
Review of Taverna Vakhos

Taverna Vakhos
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Delphi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Tulsa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great restaurant”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

It was one of the best meals we had while we were in Greece! There were four of us and had the cabbage rolls. rabbit stew, veal and the rooster meal, it was all excellent.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JanTulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    194
    64
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unbeatable service and family atmosphere”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

My husband and I arrived in Delphi a few weeks ago to find the hotel we had previously PAID for was closed. We had purchased an international cell phone plan but it did not work in Delphi. It was around 4 pm and we had nowhere to stay and no cell phone service! We walked around until we found this restaurant and politely inquired if they had any knowledge about the hotel. The owners proceeded to get on their phone and call a friend who used to work for the hotel! He asked for the number of the hotel owner and gave him a call. He tried to tell the owner about our arrival and paid reservation but the owner was having none of it.
I really can't say enough about they help they gave us. They were not even open at this time and still made several calls and helped us to find a place to stay. We returned later that night for dinner which was delicious. Service was fantastic and they even brought out a complimentary dessert.
As we were eating they were making ornaments and soap for their children's annual school fundraiser. The funds go towards taking the children on field trips. It was such a heartwarming scene with the whole family pitching in to help the school.
I cannot recommend this place highly enough - great food and especially great people!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrace, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best food-with-a-view in Delphi”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Good food, great service, lovely view. We ate there both nights we were in Delphi because we knew we could find no better!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lee3nan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by our taxi driver and we were not let down. It has superb views to the Gulf of Corinth and an excellent menu. Although there is fish on the menu our waiter told us that it was frozen and he recommended the local lamb in casserole instead, which was very good. We also had a chicken souvlaki and dolmades (stuffed vine leaves) and stuffed peppers. All excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Heavenly!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We tried this restaurant based on Trip Adviser recommendations. Thank you, raters, it was a great experience! We sat on the enclosed patio/balcony. Grapes and vines were growing outside the window. We started with green olives (grown by the proprietors), sesame-topped bread. Then we shared a large Greek salad, with tomatoes, cucumbers, onions, olive oil, and some of the sweetest bell peppers I've ever eaten. Then we ordered various entrees --- stuffed cabbage, moussaka, pork schnitzel, vegetable pie. All were good. They gave us free phyllo-wrapped pastries for dessert. Delicious! The prices were very reasonable. And did I mention the view? There's a lovely view with the Gulf of Corinth in the distance. We will definitely return to this restaurant! And if you have kids, there's a big play areavfor them in the front of the restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank poodytat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Vakhos also viewed

Delphi, Phocis Region
 
Delphi, Phocis Region
 

Been to Taverna Vakhos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing