We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing two weeks at this beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Anissaras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2014

On arriving at the Mitsis we were offered a buffet as it was late in the evening....a nice, welcome touch. Our room 928 was quiet and offered lovely views of the sea and the island rooms. Close to everything. The decor was stunning, so clean for the whole two weeks, towels changed and housekeeping checking on you daily. A couple of calls to reception were dealt with immediately.
We agree with other people that the staff are fantastic, around the pool our drinks were brought to us by Nicos, sitting at the pool bar you could chat to Costos....lovely people. We were pleasant to the staff and reaped the benefit, some guests were just plain rude!
Animation staff were friendly, especially Shakira who spoke to us every day.
Food was fantastic, how people can complain is beyond me. The speciality restaurants were great BUT very difficult to book. Do not think that having to queue at 7.00am to book is the best way to spend your holiday. We would have liked to have tried them all. The Cretan and Italian were fab.Thank you Georgia for ensuring that 7 of us could sit together.
Pools were fine, a few tiles need fixing, especially around steps in main pool. Sun beds very comfortable.
Go on the land train to see the area around about, well worth it.
Entertainment in the evening is not brilliant, the Il Divo tribute night was really good. But that was it really.
All in all though a fab holiday. Thank you.

Room Tip: Our room block 900 was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank NOZZIE1Reading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

890 - 896 of 2,195 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2014

Fantastic hotel and delicious food with friendly staff and a lovely relaxed vibe. If you are looking for a relaxing poolside holiday with no desire to sightsee or leave the hotel then this place is perfect.
Couple of things to note - the gym is virtually non-existent consisting of a couple of machines and a limited selection of free weights that the hotel's spa charges 10 euros for 1 hour of use - so I gave that a miss! The pools are filled with saltwater - when we first found this out we were disappointed, but actually enjoyed the fact that we were not covered in chlorine every day. The beach is a 5 second walk across a very small road from the hotel. It was ok, but not anything special and we preferred to stay by the pool although there are water sports for those who want and scuba diving. Outside the hotel facilities you really need to go on a paid day trip if you felt the need for adventure as locally there is nothing of interest. Thh Wi-Fi is only free in one area of the main hotel building and if you want wi-fi in your room and throughout the hotel facilities you need to pay.
As mentioned the food is fantastic. There is a main restaurant that is a buffet and 5 smaller restaurants that are waiter service. All of these restaurants have to be tried as the food is excellent in all of them. There are also several bars and a all-day creperie/waffle bar with ice cream and various cakes also available. Children have a pool with water slides and a kids club during the day as well as a mini-disco during the evening and a talent show/performance that they give once a week at night. There are many activities during the day from Zumba in the pool, 5-a-side football, table tennis competitions and so on. The adult entertainment in the evening was split between 2 locations - near one of the bars was live music performances and near the kids pool was a stage where adult and children were amused by the hotel's team of performers (who also ran the daytime activities)
So overall great for those who want to relax and unwind from the stresses of life!

Room Tip: For a sea view make sure you are not on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MHI_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

One of the best hotels we have stayed in, luxury. Layout of hotel was lovely. Food in main restaurant was very good, lots of choice. The different restaurants were excellent food was so good. Staff were friendly. Lots of different pools which was lovely. The Crepe Bar was fantastic.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank Nikki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We (Family of 4) were excited to visit Crete and relax for a week. When we go there at around 9:30 in the evening, the very nice reception staff told us to go to the restaurant before checking in as they were about to close soon and so we did. But one of the waiters was not too happy to see us and when I asked him for wine he said they were closed! so I asked another waitress for wine and she told him and he did bring the wine but told me off! So I told him to do his job and let us get along with our 1 week £3500 holiday!
Back to reception room to check in and we were told the sea view room that we had paid for was not available so we were sent to a family room that could not be any further to the restaurant and the main swimming pool.
The food and service was generally OK but one day we left at 8:00 in the morning to go to Santorini island (again 400 Euros which I dont think it was worth) we got back at 10.00 PM and noticed that the toilet seat cover had come off and was resting on the bath!!!!
Apparently cleaner managed to break it and had left it there and failed to report it to maintenance staff. I put it back and reported it next morning but the only fixed it at around 4:00 PM. Not nice to go to reception with 2 kids anytime you need to use the toilet.
And whats with pools with salty water???? You cant help the water getting in your mouth or nose or eyes and believe me its difficult to adapt!!!
Also only 1 of the 3 pools had a toilet so you had to travel to find a toilet in your room or receiption!
Over all most of the staff were very nice, the hotel was very clean and the food was good.
But we wont go back!

Room Tip: pool view rooms are best. sea view nothing especial
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bahman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

OK, so maybe you are sat at home looking through holidays and have come across the Laguna Beach and also another Mitsis in Kos that looks very similar and cant decide which one to choose as they look the same.

Having stayed at both hotels several times (my other reviews are on here if you want more detail) I can confirm Looks can deceive…Essentially the Laguna beach is considerably better than Blue Domes.

The key asset this hotel has is its Fabulous staff.

Starting with the reception team; Some on here have complained about them being unhelpful.?! From the warm welcome we received on check in through to the check out the ladies (and gent) on reception could not do enough for you, from ordering taxis, booking restaurants both the al-a-carte in the hotel and also on occasion one in Hersonisis. OK, we couldn’t find anything to complain about so we don’t know how they handle complaints…but I guess they don’t get much practice in this !. The management of Blue Domes should send its reception team here for a few lessons!

Throughout the restaurants the waiters were very efficient and (especially at the al-la-carte ones) very happy, knowledgeable and down-to-earth, whether it was the pizza chef sharing his dough making secrets with a interested guest or the Maitre d’ (Georgia) chatting to my son about the Game of Thrones book he was reading. Special thanks to guys in the awesome Mexican for making my birthday special.

It goes without saying (but I will) that all the cleaning staff worked very hard as well to ensure rooms and public areas were spotlessly clean everyday.

Bar staff were once again very efficient and friendly (although the guys in the night bar could have been a bit more friendly). As last time we stayed the ladies the in Champagne bar were spot on with service and full marks again to Antonois in the day bar who makes the best Margaritas this side of Cancun!

The only negative we found with staff was the guys on the beach who pack away the sun-beds at night. I know they have a job to do but its quite intimidating having them stand over you until you relinquish your sun-bed.

A few improvements have been made since last time we last stayed (2 years ago) notably the addition of waiter service during the day for drinks on the beach and at the main pool bar (just needs rolling out to the other pool areas now…). They have also expanded the range of drinks available at the pool bars to include limited cocktails and spirits. Also the ‘Long Trouser rule’ at night in the restaurants has been stopped so (tailored) shorts can now be worn by Gents, also there is no need to get up early to reserve sun-beds as this can now be done the night before…but don’t worry if you don’t want to do this as even in peak season there are plenty of beds to go around.

I can still, however, suggest a couple more improvements for the Management to think about;
- Have coffee readily available in the morning from 7am, so you can grab a cup after booking the A-la-carte restaurants without having to harass the restaurant staff for cardboard cups.
- Open the Mexican at Lunch too!
- Consider allocating and enforcing quiet pools, there were quite a few more children here than previously who were at times annoyingly loud.
- Move the Beach area 100 yards to the left (past the volley ball net) its much wider and you could even fit in a beach bar!

Better (less windy) weather this year meant that we could go snorkelling almost every day in the clear waters outside the hotel but if you enjoy this I would suggest walking along the beach towards Hersonisis and past the other hotels where there is a lovely bay where the glass bottom boats take people, so well worth a walk there. Also managed to take the free canoes out a couple of times as well as a spin on a Jet-Ski.

As others have said the entertainment at night is pretty poor but they do bring in other entertainment than the just the animation team dressed as lions prancing about which is an improvement. If you are there for 2 weeks I would suggest taking a €7 (each way) into Hersonisis to break up the monotony.

I overheard one guest saying “its not as good as Mexico”. While I agree with this it is better than Blue Domes and the Weather in Crete in July/Aug will certainly be better than in Mexico!

Room Tip: Booked a split family room (648) as with our son this year which was to the same standard as the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank HumberBridgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Had a great time at this great hotel. Fabulous food, delightful staff, nothing too much trouble. The pool bar was staffed by Nicos and Costos who looked after us well. Pantelos in the all day bar was equally great. Georgina outside restaurant manager was always happy to assist and we enjoyed many meals at the booked restaurants where again the staff could not do enough. Fabulous food in all areas, nice touches like champagne and smoked salmon at breakfast every few days. Fruit brought round to us on the sun beds twice a day. Really a five star experience. Well done.

Room Tip: All rooms had good points
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank RK20S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Just returned from a week with two adults and two teenagers...the most impressive feature was how friendly and helpful the staff were - a big shout out to Georgios at the Theatre Pool bar, Anastasia at reception and the Maître d'. Without exception the staff went out of their way to help and were great to chat to, even when they were busy. Georgios remembered what I liked and when h e saw me coming over even had my drink waiting on the bar by the time I got there!
Cleanliness everywhere was top rate - the staff were very diligent. Facilities also very good and importantly for us...the food was excellent in all the a la carte restaurants and in the buffet and the creperie was a massive hit with my boys.
Space round the pool was not a fight like it can so often be and there are also sunbeds on the beach which is right in front of the hotel. We found the beach and the sea really clean and although we did hear of one or two complaints that the sand isn't soft, we walked east along the beach round to a beautiful bay and the next village along - that's where they run the windsurfing school. And the sand was perfectly fine for playing beach volleyball on.
That was another good aspect - the animation team worked really hard at running various activities throughout the day. Apart from the volleyball daily features my boys played were water polo, football, table tennis, darts and there were loads more besides. There was evening entertainment every night, but to be honest we didn't pay much attention to that as we were enjoying the many different bars, while the boys never seemed to fail to find other teenagers to hook up with.
There are so many good things I can say about this place, but it's all the little touches that make the difference. For example, on our last day we checked out at midday, but weren't leaving the hotel until 20.30, so they offered us a courtesy room to shower in for an hour before we got something to eat ahead of our transfer to the airport.
Lots of different holiday requirements can be met by what's on offer at Laguna and I would definitely recommend it to anybody

Room Tip: It's difficult to go wrong here because none of the rooms are a long way from the centre of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank L5051PKpauls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anissaras
1.2 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,190 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#15 of 172 in Hersonissos
2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Serita Beach Hotel
Serita Beach Hotel
#5 of 7 in Anissaras
1,569 reviews
20.1 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
6.3 mi away
Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa

Address: Anissaras, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Anissaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Anissaras
#2 Family Hotel in Anissaras
#2 Romantic Hotel in Anissaras
Price Range: $139 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laguna Resort & Spa, a member of Mitsis Premium Collection, started its operation on May 1st, 2011. The hotel’s excellent facilities along with its well-trained and passionate personnel have well established Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa on the island of Crete. The hotel offers a wide variety of services carefully designed and managed by professionals to meet guests’ highest expectations. The golden colour of our front office desk, the handmade furnishing and the stylish decoration of the Lobby, together with our warmest welcome is where the unforgettable holidays begin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Laguna Hotel Anissaras
Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa Crete/Anissaras, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing