We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort But.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mitsis Laguna Exclusive Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Anissaras
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort But.....”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed for a week in mid October, hotel itself is beautiful, exactly the same as the pictures. Our room was very clean and spacious, but the bathroom walls were peeling and bits of the wall was crumbling.

The food in the main restaurant was plentiful but average in taste and quality. The a la carte restaurants were not as good as people made out. The waffles and pancakes in the pool bar were delicious.

The beach across the road wasn't very good; the sea was rough. There is nothing around the hotel within walking distance.

Our overall experience of the resort was good, the hotel itself was stunning, but it was not located in the best of places. We had a relaxing holiday, but we will not be going back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kim155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,201
    474
    174
    53
    28
See reviews for
812
768
18
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We arrived at 10:30 on 15 of August, 2012, but the hotel was full, and there were no free rooms. The receptionist, Maria apologized for this situation, and suggested that we visit the restaurant, eat something, and explore the hotel. Officially, we could occupy the room at 14:00, but the room was ready from 12:30. The room was number 147, and it was a main building room on the ground floor, and it was nice and furnished as well. There was a huge bathroom with shower and bath, so you can change whenever you want, have a quick shower or take a bath. One of the negative was, the view: hills and grassland. We started to unload our suitcases, then rang the bell. We got a bottle of wine and some fruit. A welcome pack, nice!

The hotel is of new construction. We saw newly planted palms, and flowers. They will grow and will be rooted. If you want admire the final shape of the garden, you should wait for 2 years. The hotel had 2 parts, one being the main building with the main pool, and the other was the bungalows area. The main pool was filled with salted water, and staggered (20cm – 50 cm – 150 cm). Near the pool was the Creperie (pool bar). If you want to eat some pancakes or waffles this is the place to be, and you can also choose coffee, drinks, tea, beer, flavored ice. There was also another pool system. It was full of salt water and the depth is approximatly 150 cm . Two large negatives were the sunbeds and beach umbrellas. If you don't get up at 6 o' clock you will struggle to find a free one, or you will look for a long time. I got up at six, occupied one with my towel and thongs, and then I went back to bed. It was terrible, because this was my holiday and I had to get up at 6 am.

The beach area was very small, and the ground was sandy and gravelly, but littered too. If you want to take a place on the beach you can go across the road. However, bathing was a different matter, we had to wear bathing shoes, because there were huge stones under the water and the sea deepens very suddenly. We could choose a free sunbed on the coast, at least this was positive.
As I mentioned you can eat pancakes, waffles, cakes near the pool, but you can eat three times in the main restaurant. The most important meal was the dinner. We had to wear occasionas clothes. We did not go into the main restaurant to choos our place. Somebody stood in the doorway all the time. They approched me and my girlfriend in the hall, and offered tables. The meals were very greek, but so tasty. I could choose fresh salad with feta cheese every day, and gyros, but we found a wide range of other food (from chicken to roast beef) on offer.

The hotel employs a number of staff who make sure that guests enjoy their stay - they walk around the pool area regularly, inviting visitors to join in sports or attend the nightly shows. (e.g.: greek dance night)
To sum up, we had a lovely and charming holiday at this hotel.

Room Tip: If you have any extra money, ask the bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank rob_wolfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed here in late October with my brother and his wife and I must say it was one of the best holidays I have ever had. My hubby and I are well traveled but had never contemplated Greece before. This was a last minute deal and it was fantastic. The rooms are stunning, pristine with grand decor. The restaurants are superb, especially the asian & sushi. Even the main dining area was great and we thought the evening dress code was a fab idea, everyone smartly dressed and in the buffet restaurant! This was a first as people are usually so casual. We loved the creperie and must say a special thanks to Sevi and all the girls ,the banana waffles and ice cream were far too good. The staff in general were very pleasant and helpful. The hotel also has a fantastic entertainment team. Throughout the day they provided various activities, water aerobics guy "No Bubbles!" laugh out load funny, by night they presented live animation shows which were also hilarious. Two of the bars are situated upstairs in a very chilled out, scenic sea view area and are adults only, perfect! Maria is a diamond! The whole experience was just wonderful and we plan to come here every year from now on for one week of sun sea & sushi.

Room Tip: Room 509 & 510, pool facing.. superb location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank coolbabychocice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The hotel is a perfect place for complete relaxation. There is extremely friendly atmosphere, food quality is at the highest level, choice of drinks is really endless. Unfortunately, you may bring back home 3-5 gained kilos like nothing!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mishakolot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed here in june 2012. A first class,new hotel.. Very good dining.You can choose from 6 different restaurants, and big belgian wafles and pancakes to late nightime.
The beach in front of the hotel is not good.A small sandy beach in the end of the hotel is only possibility to swim.We have stayed in 4 different hotels in Anissaras.A very relaxing place, and very good if you like to walk along the sea.
It is a big problem to get sun beds around the pool. A lot of people put on towels before they go to bed, and you can forget having a sunbed if you are later then 8 o clock.Management could easily do someting with this problem.
Rooms is absolutely topp class; very clean, and they fill up the minibar every day.
To all men, you need long trousers to go into the buffet restaurant.
We will absolutely recomend the hotel.
We have stayed in 4 different Mitsis hotels ,and you will always have very good value for money.
Taxi fare is about 36 euro from airport.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank geir j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed here in June last year it was wonderful, good food, lovely rooms helpful and friendly staff. We are going this june and can't wait. A little luxury everyone deserves after a hard year working and of course the fabulous Greek sunshine. Would definitely recommend this hotel its perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank meelz000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Wow went at the end of the season and OMG this was one of the best holidays that we have ever been on. Where do I start . . .
The hotel was just like the photographs and a great deal of time was spent on the amazing decor and surroundings. The room had everything you could want and need, the well stocked cold drinks in the fridge, the beautiful furniture and the modern bathroom made you feel like you were being looked after. The staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for you, they were particular brilliant with families with young children. The food was great and especially in the five speciality restaurant where the food was awesome and the staff just as good. There was always some entertainment on and the activities staff were very friendly and enthusiastic without being in your face or pushy about joining in. The bars were fabulous and everyone made the effort to get dressed up on a night to enjoy the holiday atmosphere. Only one thing that I would change was that the pool was very cold!!! The sushi was the best (but I'm biased, my husband loved them all) and the restaurants were not a bother to book they had a system that allowed everyone to have the opportunity to use the restaurants during their stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank DJSwaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anissaras
2.1 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,659 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#14 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#7 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
69.3 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort
Kiani Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kalami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
6.3 mi away
Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Laguna Exclusive Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Laguna Exclusive Resort & Spa

Property: Mitsis Laguna Exclusive Resort & Spa
Address: Beach Road, Anissaras, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Anissaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Anissaras
#2 Romantic Hotel in Anissaras
#2 Family Hotel in Anissaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Laguna Exclusive Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 351
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mitsis Laguna Exclusive Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Laguna Hotel Anissaras
Mitsis Laguna Exclusive Resort & Spa Crete/Anissaras, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing