We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GO THERE YOU WONT BE DISAPPOINTED”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mitsis Laguna Exclusive Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Anissaras
Certificate of Excellence
East Sussex
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“GO THERE YOU WONT BE DISAPPOINTED”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Absolutley fabulous holiday there in early october, arrived and no rooms available but were sent by taxi to serita beach sister hotel 2 mins away for 1 night, collected next day and given lovely sea view bungalow room with patio, and booked in for all the extra restaurants in advance. Beautiful hotel lobby, lots of pools and adequate sun loungers while we were there. Food choice is amazing, just about everything you could want to eat for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Day bar excellent too and open just after breakfast! Champagne bar is amazing, Maria will whizz you up a cocktail and then you sit on the top balcony there overlooking the pool, heaven. Will def be going back. All the staff are excellent, rooms brilliant and mini bar in room filled each day, not much outside of the hotel, you can wander along the seafront as far as you want but really this is a complex for lazing about. Ask for room away from the theatre as evening entertainment very loud and late. no need to add photos on here as the website pics are true!

Room Tip: sea view bungalows room numbers 514-518 excellent or the island rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SuitcaseStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,250
    486
    180
    54
    30
See reviews for
838
798
18
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

New last year so pristine interior, both in the hotel and in the rooms. We were glad of the extra space in room 923, as there are twin beds ajoining the main bedroom, which then opens on to the balcony. We had a sea view from the back balcony and outside the front door too. Good location away from the pool, bars, restaurants so that when you want quiet, you can get it.
Food was excellent, both in the hotel and in the four restaurants [best to book at breakfast time for the Cretan, Italian, Sushi or Mexican - usually for 3 days ahead] Loads of salad choices, and vegetable dishes to accompany any type of meat or fish. If you want English food, stay in Britain! Chefs on hand to cook especially for you, pasta, or omelettes. If you are a normal person, brought up on wholesome food, you can't go wrong. Crepes/ice cream bar serve beautiful flavours. Theatre bar is like a cafe... but like in England, has a limited drinks menu.
My main point to this review is that the staff were all friendly. We didnt just bark commands or demand drinks, we chatted, smiled, asked in a friendly way, and said 'Kalimera' occasionally... and guess what? We made friends, enjoyed a fantastic service, smiles all round and even a few privileges! They have name badges and are not slaves.
There's not a huge amount to do around the area, but when you're eating All Inc, why not burn off a few calories and explore on foot? We walked to Hersonnisos [25mins] and were rewarded with great views, coastal walks, pretty harbour when we arrived. Also a trip on the local but to Heraklion was easy, just ask the hotel staff for a bus timetable.
Beds by the pool are comfy with mattress. Free beds also at the beach, only a stone throw from the hotel, close enough to go for cool drinks to sip under your umbrella. Great for snorkelling. Sand is tiny pebbles, looks like rice if you pick up a handful, so much better than sand to brush off towels, skin and clothing.
Great holiday.

Room Tip: First floor better views, quieter away from pools and bars. Try 920-928,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

must start off by saying that I'm pretty sure if you looked up 'fur coat no knickers' in the dictionary, Mitsis Laguna would be there! such a shame.
hotel is beyond stunning- definitely got the 'wow' factor based on architecture and decor. colour theme (gold, cream and turquoise) is beautiful.
upon arrival (1am in the morning) on Friday 26th October, we checked in with the pleasant manager. he said 'how about a junior suite?!' turns out he was actually trying to con us, family of 4 we booked 2 rooms, he was offering a junior suite because they had no rooms left! disgusting, but hey, they found us 2 rooms and they were lovely. (and what we booked)
nicely decorated, few things needed fixing i.e cracked mirror (it is a 5* we're talking about here) but they were lovely none the less. beds were so comfy!!
balcony area backed right out onto pool, fab. they were lovely and big but freezing cold pools!! nice to cool off though. sun loungers were great, comfy and as we went at end of season, we had no problem at all getting 4 loungers next to each other every day. breakfast is nice- exactly the same every single day but eggs and breads are nice. i only tried lunch in the buffet one day and found it quite hilarious... food made from previous night's scraps!!! e.g tagliatelle pie...hmm yes seriously tasted as bad as it sounds.
evening buffet was pretty dire. anyone raving about the food must be used to dining at chesterfield 2 for 1, mcdonalds, wimpy etc. the same day in day out, small selection, laid out all wrong so that by the time you get to the table it's cold. very school dinner like. many kids lived off pasta and chips! few tasty bits but very dull, not at all 5*. must also point out that we were right near the sea.. no fish!!! dreadful. one fish dish every evening,.. cheap and nasty, not a single bit of seafood in sight. what a shame.
pool bars= also a joke. only cheap and nasty wine and beer, to get spirits you have to walk to main bar (again, money grabbing to increase profits!!) as they don't want you to have unlimited spirits. when we did go... they were watered down! unbelievable and so obvious. my dad wanted a certain kind of brandy that he'd had the evening before in the night bar... only to find they put it away when the Russians aren't around!!! so surreal, yes the staff really are like this. 95% are rude, arrogant and rudely uninterested. service to get drinks is shocking!!! nearly finished my meal before they brought drinks over...can't cope dread to think what it's like in high season! 3 days our room wasn't cleaned, therefore no clean towels. wouldn't usually mind, but 1) this is a 5* hotel (supposedly) and 2) when you've been covered in sun cream, sea water, chlorine all day fresh towels would be appreciated! beach= horrendous. shouldnt be allowed to be called a beach. washes away on high tide! not sand just shingly stuffy that hurts your feet.
saving grace was the creperie. fab idea! staff in there were very pleasant. lovely waffles/crepes/ice creams. entertainment was such a joke, for small children only i.e, mini disco, dancing, disco, more dancing!!! not at all imaginative, nothing for people over the age of 13! animation team were all nice people but again, too pushy. lay around the pool having a nap, a guy came and threw ice water on me to see if i wanted to play football! wanted to punch him! when i said 'no thanks' he stood there for 15 mins saying 'fine then, i hate you won't talk to you again' baring in mind i am an adult and do not want to run around in 25 degree heat with children playing football on the shingly beach! nightmare didnt get a chance to relax with him around! woke several people up. restaurant booking system= a nightmare. have to be queueing at reception by half 8 or they're all gone! it's just one large restaurant separated in 5 bits, each seating around 30 people (yes really) so you can imagine what a pain that is, hotel can accomodate thousands of guests! we ate in Italian one night (seeing as Asian and sushi restaurants were closed for 2 days of our one week stay) that was the best food we had. Mexican again was awful! i ordered mexican spring rolls to start... came out as a cold tortilla wrap with lettuce and cucumber in it! haha and this is meant to be 5* please, a child would make that sort of thing in nursery!! NOT a food snob but certainly want luxury food at a 5* where you're paying a lot of money for that sort of thing. spa was great. massages were absolutely lovely, spa girls were really nice. good value too as there was 20% off when we went. very nice atmosphere and was very relaxing. on the last 2 days of our stay (we stayed in the very last opening week without knowing) the bars were closed!!!!! every single one apart from the day bar. when we asked why they said 'closing now' HOLD ON we still have two days of our holiday left that we've paid for!!! leave it until the weekend before you start shutting the hotel!? we were mortified.creperie was closed, they put half the loungers away, food got so bad as they were obviously not trying because the hotel was closing 2 days later, that we had to drive into Malia instead. they even watered fruit juice and coke down... saw them doing it! THIS IS A 5* HOTEL. absolutely disgusting. all staff wiped areas down with vile smelling cloths! in the night bar one evening, it was so bad that a lady turned round to the waitress and shouted 'god change your cloth have some respect for your job here it smells awful!!' had to laugh, good on her. walked outside to hear people saying exactly the same thing, and pretty much what i've put in this review! was a general concensus with quite a few guests unfortunately. had to queue to get a table in main area at breakfast and dinner too. staff didnt have a clue. on our last day (Nov 1st) they closed the hotel so we had to move to another hotel for the day!!! can you believe it. maybe we expected too much... but in a 5* luxury hotel don't you have the right to? i can only assume that some past not so good reviews are correct- it's all down to the clientele. if they happen to be used to 3* then yes, this would be a treat for you. if you're used to 5* luxury then don't come here. you certainly won't be spoilt, they have made the building so impressive that they scrimp and save on everything else, making the experience stressful if anything. if you've been spoilt in the past DO NOT expect the same thing here seriously, not a snob, but was so excited to come here only to be majorly disappointed. 3* at very, very best.

Room Tip: make sure they give you what you booked!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank chloe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

First of all when myself and my partner arrived at the hotel we thought we had made a blunder! from the main entrance it doesnt look as nice, inside it is pretty stunning, we had a good room off the main pool. Visually the room is stunning, the mini bar could be better stocked with diet drinks, but was changed daily.

Location: Very much off the beaten path so if you like shops then you need to get a taxi, walk or get the mini train. Prices in Crete are higher than u.k for most things, not near as cheap as Turkey.

Staff: found them to be nice and with no issues, a lot of the mangers appeared control freaks especially in the restuarant. Johnny at that sushi was a very nice guy indeed.

Food:
i would say five star, all the ala cartes were of a high standard(sushi the best!) great choice warm and well cooked. hoever for alacartes have to book 3 days in advance which is poor!

Drinks: real let down for me, no international brands and the local produced alcohol really was terrible, same taste no matter what you had i.e whisky or vodka!, Mitsis up your game! less than 3 star

Beach, pretty rough sand but i liked it there as it was nice and quiet.

Well the verdict: yes! we would return its a fabulous hotel, a few short cuts for a 5* luxury hotel that it advertises itself as, i would say 4* star plus, 5 on food, 2 on location and drinks, btw the ice cream at the creperie, yum!

Hugh and Carly

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shugmeisteruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed in this hotel mid to late Oct 2012 and much to our disappointment with the weather when we arrived our eyes lit-up when we arrived at the hotel. Stunning hotel, amazing staff and impeccable service. The rooms were really nice, top class facilities, clean and comfortable. The hotel staff were very friendly, so nice and waiter service in restaurants were flawless. Food was great i don't know how anyone could moan, such selection of choices and different foods everyday. We ate in the Italian and Mexican restaurants and they were both equally as nice. The hotel bars were abit repetitive and drinks defiantly appeared to not be full strength!! The best bar was by far the champagne bar, the bar waitress Maria was so welcoming, friendly and so pleased to see you each evening, she ran the bar to a high standard and treated all her guests like royalty :)........................................................Now for the negatives......................the hotel had no life!!! there wasn't any entertainment any of the evenings we were there, No music in any of the bars or lobby areas. When we asked about this all we were told was it is end of season!! didn't think this was very fair as we all pay the same price throughout the year, therefore we should receive the same services.......due to the weather being a disappointment we thought they would at least put something on to keep us occupied. The beach was terrible, no way a beach you could enjoy being on, very stoney and littered. Finally not so much to do with the hotel but we found that this hotel was stunning but the island and surroundings it sat within were sad, run down, unkempt and dessertated. The nearest town Herssonisos was 8 euro taxi ride away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Me and my partner went here for 5 nights on the 26th october. First impressions the hotel was amazing, they had put so much work in to the building and the rooms i would deffinately rate that at a 5*. The sunbeds were very comfy they were cushioned with a pillow which was good. You get a mini fridge in your room, drinks included at no extra charge. Now for the bad points. The staff are extremely rude don't want to serve you except for the lady in the champagne bar which was lovely and the staff on reception were good. The soft drinks are horrible they are flat and watered down they dont even taste like what you ordered. They serve the drinks in tiny plastic cups not what you expect when you order a cocktail if you could even call it that. The food is repetetive in the restaurent same every day, not hot. You have to book in to the a la carte restaurents 4 days in advance.. not convenient when your only there for 5 days. The only place open all day to eat is the creparie.. you get a bit sick of icecream,pancakes and waffles after a while they should have somewhere which does burgers etc. The hotel has a fly issue, where ever you go you will have flys going round your head which drives you insane especially when your trying to eat and they land in your food the hotel is doing nothing to sort that out. The beach directly out the front of hotel is just sea,rocks and a load of mess which has been washed up and left in piles, no maintenance. its not a sand beach. We got quad bikes out and went around the Island which was amazing Crete itself is a gorgeous place, Stalis has some lovely sand beaches with clear waters.There are a lot of bad points in this review im not a fussy person im 20 my parners 22 were a laid back couple its just the horrible truth about the hotel something needs doing why put all that money into the hotel if everything else is absolutely rubbish. The location is in the middle of nowhere but we knew that when we booked. All thats around is a few other hotels a shop and car hire. you need to go in to heronissos if you want bars,restaurents,shops etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ljhxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level Contributor
517 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 830 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

stayed here for one week at the end of season with family which was a big mistake. don't know where to start really but here goes.............the hotel is lovely and very clean and bright. rooms are spacious even with four of us in the room. some of the staff work really hard. reception staff and a handful of restaurant staff are ok. the animation team are pleasant and friendly but do hassle you a bit to join in. chef's in the restaurant wear gloves and no shortage of plates. now for the negatives .............

waiters seem to begrudge you getting drinks and comment on what you get.

drinks are watered down / cheap weak drinks.

one of the manager's got a fresh orange juice ........the rest of us had to have cheap watered down orange juice.

pillow's on bed's were not that comfortable very flat.

champagne bar looks nice but has the most cheap cava i have tasted........asked for a rose and was given cava with grenadine added tasted awful and i had to leave it and i am not fussy.

bathroom tiling was not finished off and underneath the sink the wood shelf had come away with water that had dripped down. mirror also had a big crack init.

three shops in hotel which looked nice but were very expensive.

games room a total rip off.

main pool lovely but freezing cold. loose tiles at the side of pool, my husband gave them to the waiter who just shrugged and through them in the bin.

theatre pool bar just sold certain drinks and the man who worked there had some attitude problem. you just knew he was talking about you.

creperie very nice but waitress again was not very pleasant. the ice cream's they had there were much nicer than the main restaurant.

italian restaurant where you have to book in advance was nice but not much atmosphere and you have to wait for the waitress to check you in she seems to be running around the other restaurants seems a bit chaotic.

cretan tavern was ok but again not much character.

there is nothing around the hotel a supermarket a quarter of a mile away which had not been touched since the mid eighties and very expensive.

beach at the front is all pebbles with a pipe running through it.

steps in the children's pool were an absolute joke. very loose and a total hazzard.

food did look nice but often repeated. some of it tasteless.

sometimes had to wait a while for tables to be cleared.

all of the wine is undrinkable!!!

hotel has no music on apart from breakfast time where they play rock / 80's music which is great but not at breakfast could do with it later on in the day.

hotel lacking heart and soul which is such a same as it does look very impressive.

i found it odd that you do not wear any wristbands for your all inclusive stay as anyone could just walk in off the street and have meals and drinks.

10.30pm one night we were in bed and a man from the hotel came into the room and left 2 bruised apples for the four of us!!

spa expensive and miserable staff.

the mini bar was stocked up daily but it stated in the letter from the hotel that you got beer but this was not the case.

on our second last day we were left with no shampoo / shower gel / toilet roll just because the hotel was shutting the next day had to go to reception to get some.

we came here for some greek culture ............we felt we could have been anywhere did not get the experience at all.

all in all a lovely hotel to look at but with watered down alcoholic and soft drinks / nothing going on /nothing to see around hotel / staff grumpy most of the time. some people loved it and i heard say they will be back next year and others were bored stiff. i would not go to greece at the end of season as everywhere is shut or shutting down. if you do want to go to greece find somewhere different as this is not the greek experience we wanted!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank holiday032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anissaras
1.2 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,747 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#12 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
69.3 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort
Kiani Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kalami
1,066 reviews
6.3 mi away
Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Serita Beach Hotel
Serita Beach Hotel
#2 of 7 in Anissaras
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Laguna Exclusive Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Laguna Exclusive Resort & Spa

Property: Mitsis Laguna Exclusive Resort & Spa
Address: Beach Road, Anissaras, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Anissaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Anissaras
#2 Family Hotel in Anissaras
#2 Romantic Hotel in Anissaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Laguna Exclusive Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 351
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mitsis Laguna Exclusive Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Laguna Hotel Anissaras
Mitsis Laguna Exclusive Resort & Spa Crete/Anissaras, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing