We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible smell of cigarettes in the rooms”
Review of Faros 1 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Faros 1 Hotel
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Piraeus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We changed 3 rooms and then gave up at the end. They all had this terrible stench of cigarettes. If you are a non smoker I strongly advise you against this hotel. We ended up leaving the window open all night to be then woken up by sewer smell.The stripper club next door had music on till 6 in the morning. Needless to say we didnt get any sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vale999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
829Stratos829, Manager at Faros 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Sir,

First of all thank you for choosing Faros hotel for your accommodation.
This review in reality help in us very much because we get the decision to renovate a specific floor only for that reason.
Because we understand that someone, that is not a smoker need more fresh air and for that reason we fix that group of rooms (No smoking rooms) and when I tell you no smoking I mean no smoking.

I am really very sorry for that experience that you have in the past and thank you for your review.

Our best regards
Faros team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 270 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

We arrived in Athens late and needed somewhere easy for a one night stay as we were embarking onto a cruise early the next morning. We booked this hotel online and emailed through an inquiry straight after - concerned about our late check in. We received a response immediately not only with reassurance that there would be someone on the desk 24hrs to check us in, but also directions to the hotel and taxi recommendations. When we arrived by taxi late at night, the area admitting looked dingy (as always does in a foreign city where there's not much going on) - but the hotel was lit up like a shining angel. We were pleased that this was our hotel! The front desk was so welcoming and our room was big and pleasant and immaculate. Continental breakfast was big and only an additional 6 Euro - and the service was fantastic. All of the staff are so happy! It has been recently renovated here which gave a very comfortable and modern feel to this hotel and would recommend it for anyone who boards a cruise the next morning! Perfect and very economical.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
829Stratos829, Manager at Faros 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Kate,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Faros hotel for your accommodation in Piraeus.
Your experience reviews it’s very important for us, you are helping us to improve our services for your comfort and convenience and like that to be more effective in the nearly future.
Our staff at the hotel, restaurant and our travel counselors always are happy to be useful for you.
Thank you very much for your feedback and we are looking forward to seeing you again in the nearly future.

Our best regards
Faros team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

It is difficult to find somewhere nice to stay in Piraeus, but after several poor hotels I have found one to which I would be very happy to return. The hotel is well located for ferries and cruise ships and is about a 10 minute walk from a bus stop on the X96 airport bus. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms and hotel clean, bright and appealing, although simple. A nice bar and good food but limited choice in the restaurant. Breakfast plentiful, although mostly from packets. Included an unexpected boiled egg, cereal, juice, coffee, toasted ham and cheese sandwich, toast and cake. Hotel has free wi-fi and was extremely good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
829Stratos829, Manager at Faros 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear William,

I would like to thank you about your experience review about us.
Your experience is very important for us in order to improve our services, every year we improve our services in order to meet the individual needs of our customers that joins us almost every year.
Services like our restaurant that operates for the second year and our travel agency we build up for your convenience.
The clients have the opportunity to book their boat tickets directly from our web site and receive it from the hotel reception when they’ll arrive at the hotel without any kind of delivered worries, that from my opinion is one of the best and safest ticket services and of course you have always the help and advice from our customer support.

Dear William thank you again for your feedback and we are looking forward to seeing you again in our hotel.

Our best regards
Faros team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Booke for one night before our early morning ferry ride to Mykonos. Really good value for money. The neighbourhood is not the nicest one, but the hotel is nice and clean. it is about 15 minutes walk to the port pier where the island ferries depart from.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinde_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The hotel has nothing exceptional to offer except that it is close to the port and convenient to catch a ferry to the island the next morning. They have a booking office on the first floor from where you can book the ferries without any extra charge. So that was great. The guy at the desk was quite sweet and patient to guide exactly where to go to catch the ferry etc.
The room was clean and functional and the wifi was fast. The breakfast was just OK. I wasn't too pleased with their service. So all in all - a decent place for one night before the early morning ferry.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssuri81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed here for one night before boarding a cruise ship. It may not be in the nicest of areas when you arrive at night but to be honest you are in the main port for Athens. If you approach from the waterfront area is it fine. The rooms are extremely clean and facilities excellent, the sound proof balcony door blocks out any street noise, the air conditioning worked well abd it is furnished to a good standard and even includes a fridge. We found a nice small cafe a few street away called Souvalakia Sakis although there is no sign on the place, a few cold beers and light greek snacks at reasonible price. Staff were very friendly and helpful. This hotel is unbeatable for comfort and price. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you take the metro or bus from the airport take a taxi from the hotel from where you get off - on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grahamf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel one night because we took the ferry to Naxos the next morning. I already read al the stories on Tripadvisor and it was just what I expected. We paid 30 EUR (stayed in Sept) and it's totally worth your money. It's clean and actually looks kind of hip and renovated. The room is not very spacious, but big enough. Nice shower, AC was working perfectly and we even had a balcony. Only the bed was not really comfortable, but I think it is an average one for Greece because we had this kind of matras more often during our visit to the islands. The staff was nice and Pireaus is fun to start your vacation. I thought Pireaus was just a harbour.... But there are a lot of nice shops, it's lively and we had a great Greek dinner (real Greek and nothing touristic) at a small restaurant. The menu was only written in Greek and the chef translated everything in English just for us. We loved it! Next time we will not go to Athens....Pireaus is fun!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank logowesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Piraeus hotels
0.3 mi away
Piraeus Dream City Hotel
0.7 mi away
Piraeus Port Hotel
Piraeus Port Hotel
#2 of 27 in Piraeus
237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lilia Hotel
Lilia Hotel
#3 of 27 in Piraeus
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Phidias Hotel
Phidias Hotel
#1 of 27 in Piraeus
1,404 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Anemoni
Hotel Anemoni
#7 of 27 in Piraeus
147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#6 of 27 in Piraeus
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faros 1 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faros 1 Hotel

Address: Notara 140, Piraeus 185 36, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Piraeus Region > Piraeus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Piraeus
#5 Romantic Hotel in Piraeus
Price Range: $37 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Faros 1 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Faros 1 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faros 1 Piraeus
Hotel Faros 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing