We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brief one-night stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Piraeus Dream City Hotel
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Piraeus
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Brief one-night stopover”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Late evening, I arrived at the X96 bus stop near ferry gate 7 and I took a taxi to the hotel costing 3 euro 60 for a solo passenger. Check-in was straightforward. I took the lift up to floor level 2 where I found my room which was clean and tidy with ensuite facing towards the port. A few noises and closing doors could be heard through the walls from elsewhere in the hotel, but I believe that's not uncommon in many Greek hotels. Slept fairly well nonetheless. Got up early to catch a 7am ferry so breakfast, served from 6am, had to be swift but was satisfactory in an upper floor refectory without windows, or windows with closed blinds - not sure which. Check-out was efficient. All in all a very satisfactory stay even if the hotel is slightly removed from the Piraeus metro station and several port gates. If you're prepared to risk life and limb crossing the main road drag opposite the gate 7 terminals, the walk from the hotel takes about 10 to 15 minutes mostly along the back roads which are fairly quiet at that time on a Saturday morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwbcab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    434
    112
    22
    18
See reviews for
151
513
67
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fuerteventura
Level Contributor
837 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 494 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have probably stayed at the Piraeus Dream (PD) 20 to 25 times over the years either on the way to the islands or one the way back for a flight. We have even stayed there rather than in Athens and taken the Metro into the city. I agree that it can be a bit hit and miss which room you get allocated. The PD is well located for the bus stop to and from the airport. Get off the bus at the first sop after the bus turns right at the traffic slights in the big square in Piraeus. The road descends to the port.

It is also extremely convenient for Gate 9 and the ferries to the western Cyclades and not far for the Argo-Saronicos ferries, hydrofoils and catamarans. It is only a 10 minute walk along the harbour side through Gate 9 to the boats for Syros, Tinos, Mykonos and Paros, Naxos, Santorini and the Lesser Cyclades.

For eating and drinking there is a very reasonably priced cafenion just opposite the entrance to the PD, O Assos – very handy for a drink after a flight and the bus ride from the airport or a ferry trip. There is also a very good restaurant, Beer and Steak, 2 or 3 blocks west (away from the centre of Piraeus and the bus stop) and 2 or 3 blocks north up the hill. It has an outside terrace overlooking a big park. The typical Greek food is quite stylish and very good and not very expensive. We have eaten there many times. Also two blocks or so further away on Notara is the top rated Trip Advisor rated restaurant in Piraeus the Kebab and Indian Curry Restaurant

After all this, what about the PD? The rooms are generally fine, well decorated and well lit. The beds are generally very comfortable and the AC very effective. Some of the bathrooms can be very small with a tiny curtained shower but they are always clean and pleasant.

The PD is obviously doing well as can be seen by the new reception area, up a half level from where it used to be. The staff are always very friendly and helpful.

We would be extremely foolish not to go back there. It was acceptable value at the €60 a night that we paid, though it must be said there are cheaper OK places in Piraeus.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room as high up as possible. If you want to walk up or down the stairs be aware th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NomadicTraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This was the first time we had stayed at the Piraeus Dream Hotel and it won't be the last. We liked absolutely everything about the hotel. The staff were brilliant, so helpful and polite. Due to a delayed flight from Scotland on the morning of our planned arrival, we were going to miss our connection to Athens from Heathrow. I telephoned and explained that we would not arrive until the following day. According to our booking conditions, the hotel would have been quite correct to have charged us for that night but no mention was made of the issue. We stayed the following night at the very preferential rate quoted when we made the booking many weeks before.
The room was lovely in every respect and the evening meal tasty and very good value and the walk to the ferry port took only a few minutes. Well done, Piraeus Dream Hotel!

Room Tip: Try to get floor 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have often stayed here and recommended it to all our friends. My reviews have been full of praise and I could not understand why some people criticised the hotel?
At the end of August we arrived back again late at night having booked months beforehand and given the key to room 105, the first time we had stayed on that floor as we were usually given rooms on floors 4 or 5. The room was clean and the bathroom was a bit sparse, no range of usual toiletries, slippers or dressing gown. Awakening next morning I went to make a cup of coffee for us but there were 3 cups, no coffee a single tea bag and a small sachet of brown sugar.
In the breakfast room we met old friends who were staying on the 4th floor and they raved about all the things that our room lacked and they were paying the same price as we were.
We met up again at the port and they raved about being given small bottles of wine at checkout ...... and we went left handed, although the last time we were gifted little bottles of Ouzo. Very strange indeed and I will think twice about booking again. A one teabag rating.

Room Tip: Perhaps best to try for floors 3 or 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C2FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel three times since 2010 and it just gets better and better. It's a budget hotel (with a budget price) with smallish rooms and bathrooms, as many reviewers point out, but it is BIG on service and amenities. A noon check-out is valuable as is the broad availability of breakfast until 11 and a late night restaurant. All staff are friendly and obliging, but in particular I would like to thank Vivian and Katherine who communicated with me efficiently and organised a courier to bring my laptop charging lead to Poros, after I had stupidly left it in the room. The hotel is an oasis in a desert... and perfectly placed for airport bus and ferries to the islands.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrissieJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire England
Level Contributor
110 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I spent 3 nights at this hotel and was overall very pleased. Difficult to find but luckily we went by taxi. The room I had was large and very comfortable with all the facilities you would expect. The only issue was the size of the bathroom which was very small especially the shower.
The food was excellent and well coooked. The staff was very helpfull and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christophergiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Amazing service and after arriving at 1am restaurant still rustled up a beer and a snack. Front desk were perfect in our lost luggage escapade. Need to sort 'non smoking' rooms as they smell. Perfect for the port and the x96 bus from the airport, which at 5 euro each is a steal. 200 character minimum for reviews is silly as this is why I'm writing these final words. Surely my review can be as succinct as I wish, it's my review? Now tempted to bin the whole process if after this final sentence I do not hit 200 characters?

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PodPack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Piraeus hotels
0.4 mi away
Piraeus Port Hotel
Piraeus Port Hotel
#4 of 27 in Piraeus
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phidias Hotel
Phidias Hotel
#1 of 27 in Piraeus
1,314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lilia
Hotel Lilia
#2 of 27 in Piraeus
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Piraeus Theoxenia Hotel
Piraeus Theoxenia Hotel
#15 of 27 in Piraeus
422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#6 of 27 in Piraeus
291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Faros 1 Hotel
Faros 1 Hotel
#5 of 27 in Piraeus
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piraeus Dream City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piraeus Dream City Hotel

Property: Piraeus Dream City Hotel
Address: 78 - 80 Navarchou Notara | Notara 78-80, Piraeus 185 35, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Piraeus Region > Piraeus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Piraeus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Piraeus Dream City Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Piraeus Dream City Hotel is located in a central area just 50 m from the main port of Piraeus, opposite gate E9. It is enjoying great connection to all the islands and to Athen's main attractions since it is just 500 m away from the metro station in Piraeus. The fully renovated hotel offers spacious and well equipped rooms with all the modern facilities such as free wi-fi access and a satellite TV, at affordable rates combined with a good service. This 3 star hotel offers a 24 hour service from the reception, guaranteeing your pleasant stay. Should they wish so, guests can enjoy a rich American breakfast buffet from 05:30 a.m. or also try our Greek dishes and cocktails on our roof garden restaurant with a great view of the port of Piraeus. Make your reservation now through TripAdvisor and we offer you a bottle of wine and fresh fruit on your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Piraeus Dream City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing