We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to the port”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ideal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ideal
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Piraeus
Bombay
Level Contributor
187 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Close to the port”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We chose this hotel cos of its proximity to the port. The hotel is walking distance to the port which makes it convenient if you have to catch an early morning ferry. We were pleasantly surprised and did not expect the hotel to be so clean and with above average amenities. The hotel also has free WiFi. You get more than what you pay for... This hotel is definitely a good choice for a short stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rochelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    61
    31
    6
    5
See reviews for
15
48
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

I went to Greece with my family in 2008,this hotel was pretty great but the area is a bit frightening. I remember walking down the street and seeing an old man in his house worshiping something with candles surrounding him. It took us a while to find the hotel but once we did it was great.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Swimmerchick22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicosia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Well i agree that this hotel is proper just for one night if u have to catch the ferry or u need a place to sleep before taking your flight. The room is basically furnished and look clean enough. I would rather not to need an overnight hotel again but if i have to spend an overnight i would probably choose that one as is really close to the harbour (10 minutes walking or €4 with a taxi). And of course the reason for somebody to choose it is that is cheap..

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marigoulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

This accommodation is near the port, has basic accommodation, helpful staff at reception. Like some other reviewers say it is not in the best location, beside some dodgy late night bars, but then it is in a port area of a major city so that could be expected..

Close the windows and block out the sounds, get up early and make the ferry. Sheets are clean, staff point you in the right direction. Hotel Ideal does what it says on the tin but the photos put up by mangement make it look a little better than it actually is in reality.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dublin-Geneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Piraeus hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Nobody in their right mind would ever want to overnight in Piraeus but if you have die to ferry times this is a great hotel. Very God value overall, I didn't expect to get such a clean, well organised and friendly place for so cheap. It's located quite close to the ferry terminals too making your early morning rise more bearable. I want able to try the breakfast as I had to be out for my ferry at six thirty in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breagadoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kloof South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

stayed one night - reception staff really helpful, clean comfortable rooms - fresh towels in spotless bathroom - my only problem was not with the hotel but with the night club across the road - stayed open till early hours lots of loud music

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank traintravel0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Practical hotel situated almost 2Klms from the port......serves the purpose of an overnight stay if going to or returning from the islands.Nothing really special about it, but it is clean, rooms could use a little upodating, water pressure is good, decent wifi, lift is tiny so if travelling with more than 2 persons plus luggage will need several trips if on a higher floor.

Reception staff pleasant, will point you in the right direction if you need to go somewhere, breakfast 6 euros, basic but ok. Odd club over the road which seems to hammer out loud music till the wee hours but windows double glazed so noise not an issue during my stay here.

Nothing fancy but serves its purpose and would stay again if spending a night in Piraeus.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziggy154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Piraeus hotels
0.3 mi away
Piraeus Dream City Hotel
0.7 mi away
Piraeus Port Hotel
Piraeus Port Hotel
#4 of 27 in Piraeus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Faros 1 Hotel
Faros 1 Hotel
#5 of 27 in Piraeus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Phidias Hotel
Phidias Hotel
#1 of 27 in Piraeus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lilia
Hotel Lilia
#2 of 27 in Piraeus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Argo Anita
Hotel Argo Anita
#11 of 27 in Piraeus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ideal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ideal

Property: Hotel Ideal
Address: 142 Navarchou Notara, Piraeus 185 36, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Piraeus Region > Piraeus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Piraeus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ideal 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ideal is located in the very centre of Piraeus and just a few minutes walk from the Port. Leisure travellers wishing to find a value for money accommodation and business travellers looking for good services and convenient location will appreciate our hospitality, the hotel’s amenities and the easy connection to the historic and commercial centre of Athens, which you will reach in less than 30 minutes. Customers will enjoy a bar and lounge area serving breakfast in the morning, coffees, soft drinks and light meals. Free Wifi is offered throughout the hotel, room service is also provided, as well as 24 hours money exchange service and laundry service. A concierge service is also available in order to arrange your Ferry Tickets, Tour in Athens, Rent a Car or any other service or information you will need during your stay in Athens. Hotel Ideal proposes 31 single and double rooms. All rooms are modern, cozy and fully equipped. Within the room, you will find individually controlled air conditioning, private WC with shower, a small sitting area with desk, fridge, LCD television, free WiFi, opening window, telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ideal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ideal Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing