We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very convenient for ferry but would try not to go again”
Review of Acropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Acropole Hotel
Ranked #24 of 27 Hotels in Piraeus
Charlbury, Oxford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very convenient for ferry but would try not to go again”
Reviewed June 21, 2009

Good---straight across road from the ferries: friendly man at reception.
Not so good---damp patch on carpet where shower had seeped out, slightly odd smell, ants (those these were quickly dealt with), very basic room.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    22
    11
    12
See reviews for
13
21
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2009

Great staff, perfect loation to catch ferries (we stayed for 2 days prior to island hopping and 2 days after), rooms were great value for money and ticked all the right boxes for us!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilton4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2008

We spent the last night of our trip to Greece at the Acropole because at the last minute we couldn't find a decent hotel in Athens. This one worked out OK for us. Furnishings were basic and space was cramped for three, but it was clean and the en suite bathroom/shower was decent. There's a parking garage directly adjacent to the hotel, which was handy for us--we paid 15 Euro to use it overnight. I can imagine this hotel would be a good choice for access to early-morning ferries--the port is literally right there. However, do not expect much of a cultural experience! Piraeus (or at least the part we stayed in) is ugly and dirty, and we had to walk a looong way to find a halfway decent restaurant. But the hotel owns an African Grey parrot, Coco, which sits in its cage outside and loves attention. Staff is friendly enough.

  • Liked — The parking was convenient, and the room was clean.
  • Disliked — Room was on the small side, and location felt shady.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank monkbythesee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2007

We stayed at this hotel on as we returned from a week on the islands. The good parts of this hotel:
- close to the ferries
- served a hot breakfast
- newish furniture

Bad parts (which in my opinion TOTALLY discount anything good)
- I don't think that they have a housekeeper on staff. I was traveling with kids we left the room that morning with a pile of cookie crumbs on the table, crusty bread crumbs on the floor and who knows what else. We came back the first night and they were all still there! I'm not talking poor housekeeping ...I'm talking NO housekeeping! I know they had been in the room because there were fresh towels and the sheets had been pulled up (no the bed was not made). And to top it all off there were ants on the floor in the bathroom. Yuck. So we think...hmmm maybe the maid had a bad day. We came back the next evening and the same crumbs all over the table and the floors had still not been cleaned.
- They sell their hotel as having Jacuzzi tubs... Take a look at the pictures and see if you would take a soak in that tub. Yes... that is mold around the edges and some kind of crud stuck to the jacuzzi jets. I guess the maid had a bad year.
- Check out the view from our room in the other pictures.
- Yes, the other poster was right, it was very damp in the room.
- They keep your passport at the front desk as a guarantee. It seems that they would have a system to make sure the guest received it back as they left. Guess who got to the airport (an hour and a half away from the hotel) without their passport? I think it would have been nice if they had offered to pay for the 50euro taxi ride my passport took. Yeah right.

You can tell they put a lot of money into the place sometime recently because the furniture was nice and the fittings were pleasent. I guess they spent all of their money and didn't have any left to clean the place!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — It was dirty dirty dirty
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littleeurotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Piraeus hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, england
Level Contributor
171 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2007

We arrived late and left early to catch a ferry. We would not have wished to spend and longer in a smelly, damp room. The only saving grace about this hotel is its close proximity to the ferry terminal. Yet despite the fact that most ferries leave early breakfast is not served until 8am!

  • Liked — Proximity to ferries
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank taxdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2004

I spent two days at the Acropole Hotel. It is located at Omonia Square Station. This is an ideal location if you want to be busy all the time. I was able to travel directly to the hotel from the airport by metro for only 12 euro. By metro it is quite close to other major attractions. The night scene never ends. There are kiosks that are open 24 hours and a plethora of fast food restaurants. The downside is the incredible noise level if you leave your terrace door open. The upside is the busy street scene that can be watched from the large terrace with its view of the square. Some rooms had balconies that overlooked a courtyard with flowers and some small shops.
The hotel has a full restaurant and provides a free American breakfast that was quite good. The internet room has high speed connections and free printing. The staff was attentive and quite cosmopolitan. I would return to this hotel.

Helpful?
11 Thank MsThea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Piraeus hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#6 of 27 in Piraeus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ionion Hotel Piraeus
Ionion Hotel Piraeus
#21 of 27 in Piraeus
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Piraeus Port Hotel
Piraeus Port Hotel
#4 of 27 in Piraeus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Niki Hotel
Niki Hotel
#18 of 27 in Piraeus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Anemoni
Hotel Anemoni
#8 of 27 in Piraeus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Piraeus Dream City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acropole Hotel

Property: Acropole Hotel
Address: 7 Gounari Dimitriou, Piraeus 185 31, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Piraeus Region > Piraeus
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 27 Hotels in Piraeus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Acropole Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Acropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acropole Hotel Piraeus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing