We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, but needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mistral Hotel Piraeus
Ranked #24 of 27 Hotels in Piraeus
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed here in July while we traveled back an forth from islands and the airport. The hotel was in a nice location- close to restaurants and a short taxi ride to the train. The hotel had a beautiful pool and restaurant and a great breakfast. The staff were excellent. They helped us with any questions or requests we had. The hotel itself and the rooms in particular are in need of some updating in the worst way. The hair dryers were terrible- they were a plastic hose which barely blew out any air, the shower heads sprayed water everywhere except where you wanted and the carpets were pretty gross.

Room Tip: Rooms need to be renovated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlyChristou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 64 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2011

Second time of staying at the Hotel Mistral after being told the hotel had been refurbished. My last visit was in 2001 and absolutely nothing had changed in the hotel bedrooms since then. The rooms, at best were shabby.
The best feature was the view overlooking Microlimano harbour. Although the balcony was tiny and no room for a chair or table.

The bathroom was dated but adequate apart from the hairdryer which was plainly rather dangerous. The tube was split and got very hot when used. The hot air escaped at various points apart from the nozzle!

The updated roof terrace and pool area including bar were very pleasant and definitely the best thing going for the hotel.

Location is good. Within easy walking distance of numerous restaurants and bars. Slightly noisy at the weekend in the street outside though. This was a problem because the hotel air con didn't work and the room was stuffy and hot.

Breakfast was basic with poor choice of bread and coffee disgusting. The breakfast room on the ground floor was very tired an dull. The hotel should allow guests to take breakfast upstairs on the roof. That would be a much better option. Sadly though the roof bar and roof area are not open (doors onto roof locked) until 10am.

All in all I would NOT return despite having a reasonable rate of Eur80 per night. The hotel is in need of a big update especially in the rooms. Lumpy pillows, hard beds and hot, sticky room meant I had the worst 3 nights sleep ever. Definitely not good when on a business trip!
Ps don't bother with the Internet .. It might be free but it's also mostly non existent!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

When w e stayrd there, they hosted a group of teens for a football exersize camp. The noise , the shouts, the running from room to room - was terrible. We called the reception but they could not help.
Do your utmost to avoid this hotel

Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank kfiri1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

1) The room does n't provide a refrigerator. 3) No non-smokers room (the room was terrible smelling ciggarete smoking), 3) Hot water quantity in bathroom, was poor. 4) Breakfast was very poor and there was no substitution of food when empty. 5) The Internet wifi speed was extremely poor (10kb/s) so I could n't in fact use it at all. The price for the room in this hotel (90 Euro) was extremely too much for this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NikosGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2010

Very convenient location. Easy to access. Our room was very clean,comfortable and quiet. The roof garden has a fantastic view, nice restaurant and pool bar, to have dinner or a drink if you don't want to go out. The staff was very helpfull and kind. I believe it is what we say Value For Money.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ria_Sig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

After a wonderful holiday in Sifnos, we had to spend a night a Athens and we decided to have a nice dinner in the Mikrolimano harbour in Piraeus.
I checked the internet, and booked a room at the Mistral hotel, that seemed to be ok and in walking distance from the harbour.
We checked in and went straight for dinner and around midnight we walked back to the hotel happy and sleepy.

When I woke up on the 21st of September 2009, the sheet had fallen to the floor during the night and found myself directly on the most disgustingly stained madras I have ever seen. I got really sick and it will take a long time to forget !! - I checked the mattress my wife had been sleeping on, and it was equally repulsing.
Beside the above unacceptable condition, the TV were real bad, the room was worn down – and very noisy - and I cannot recommend this hotel for any purpose!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KilroyDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

We paid for a double room 120 euros, with sea view, parking and breakfast included. The room was acceptable, spacious, bathroom again acceptable. A very bad TV however and a poor breakfast selection. It is not a great hotel, but the location is good and the hotel is clean. If you could not find a better one for this price this one will do.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stelu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Piraeus hotels
0.5 mi away
Lilia Hotel
Lilia Hotel
#3 of 27 in Piraeus
607 reviews
0.9 mi away
Piraeus Dream City Hotel
1 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#13 of 27 in Piraeus
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Piraeus Theoxenia Hotel
Piraeus Theoxenia Hotel
#11 of 27 in Piraeus
466 reviews
0.8 mi away
Piraeus Port Hotel
Piraeus Port Hotel
#2 of 27 in Piraeus
248 reviews
0.8 mi away
Phidias Hotel
Phidias Hotel
#1 of 27 in Piraeus
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mistral Hotel Piraeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mistral Hotel Piraeus

Address: 105 Al. Papanastasiou Ave | Castella Hellas, Piraeus 185 33, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Piraeus Region > Piraeus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 27 Hotels in Piraeus
Hotel Class:3 star — Mistral Hotel Piraeus 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mistral Hotel Piraeus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing