We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Oasis in Greece”
Review of Phidias Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Phidias Hotel
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Piraeus
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our Oasis in Greece”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This hotel is incredible...My husband had been released from hospital three days before we were to fly...He had three major surgeries plus a pace maker withint 15 days and I had planned a cruise out of Athens...OH MY!!! God supplied all of our needs...the first e mail to The Phidias Hotel came back with a most encouraging confirmation...Yest we can pick you up at Airport or you can take bus X96 to Dimotiko stop and van will pick you up...Clear directions from Athens Airport. Only thing I had to do was get both of us on the correct but, call the hotel and tell them we were on our way. Such a God moment...I was frazzled with luggage, weak husband and I did not have cell phone that worked in Greece. Local man on bus called the hotel to arrange the van to meet us, got to stop two men helped us with luggage and van was waiting for us. After a quick trip to Phidias Hotel and friendly check in, taken to our room, a Bottle of wine for a weary traveler was delivered to our room...humm husband cannot drink alcohol I will just enjoy it. I took what was left on our cruise. Clean room and wonderful 'bathtub' for relaxing after 20 hour flight. Delightful restaurant and convenient market with in walking distance. Breakfast made to order and so fresh and good. Coffee ... oh my delicious. Plus van took us to our ship when we wanted to go...Would we stay at the Phidias Hotel again...YOU BET WE WOULD...

Room Tip: We were on the side away from the street...very little noise and a fun view of apartment next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,051
    252
    39
    9
    9
See reviews for
307
647
118
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Checked in late on a Friday evening for a Saturday afternoon cruise departure. My room was ready and the front desk man was friendly and helped answer my questions. The room was fine and updated. No problems there. Quiet and in the middle of the block made for food sleeping. Near shops ,restaurants and the Marina area made for a nice walk in the morning. Even got a shave at a local barber.
The hotel provides free transportation to the cruise terminal. Nice touch.
I highly recommend this hotel if your needs are similar to mine.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank RichAChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We spent one night here prior to a cruise. The hotel was clean and nice, comfortable room on a quiet street. We walked down along the marina and ate at a nearby restaurant. It was charming. The next morning, we walked down around the marina, had a bite to eat, and then took photographs of the fishing boats and people. The hotel provided a shuttle to the ship (without charge) and the friendly staff was helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meems316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

If you are looking for a four-star room in a quiet yet picturesque and full of shops-nice restaurants area,for a reasonable price do not look for anymore!i enjoyed my stay and I will definitely come back!!!

Room Tip: I stayed there twice,both rooms were wonderful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Best hotel ever!!!great rooms with anything you may need,in a great location with shops,restaurants right next to a beautiful marina,Pasalimani..I especially loved the smart tv in the room and the excellent breakfast.finally I was impressed by how clean all the areas were!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flora L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 1 week in december booked through hostel bookers i only mention this because they are choosy as to what reviews they will allow on thier booking site be warned because i booked a deluxe suite because of the pictures displayed on thier site, false advertising.I make this statement because i received a e-mail from the hotel telling me how to get there but the name of the hotel was PHIDIAS not PIRAEUS INN. On arrival at 10.30pm the woman on reception gave me the keys to a room on the 4th floor DELUXE i do not think so i have stayed in many hotels in piraues and this was not even budget.I returned to reception and explained this to the receptionist and ask for another room she stated they are all the same unless i wanted to stay in the other hotel, my wife asked where was the other hotel ? you guesed it i was already in it i:e the first 2 floors are THE PHIDIAS the rest PIRAEUS INN.Next to add insult to injury it would cost me another 80 euros to stay in the same hotel on floor 2 is it a scam make up your own mind but if you book make sure you are on the 1st or 2nd floor and to be fair they are decorated to a very high standard as is the lobby and the breakfast was good so all in all i dont know if i am reviewing the phidias or the piraeus inn please take this into account if you read this review.

Room Tip: 1st or 2nd floor or you will be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vasilli50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phidias-Piraeus, General Manager at Phidias Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all as mentioned in your comment you did not have a reservation for Hotel Phidias but for Piraeus Inn - Phidias Hotel, after all, is not cooperating with Hostelbookers.
The two hotels are two completely different properties - in the same building block - with different standards, rates and services.

The mail that you mentioned receiving was giving you directions from airport to Inn. In this mail you were advised to look for Phidias sign so as to facilitate your arrival since Inn's sign is not clearly visible.

Regarding the 80 euros extra charge for a Phidias Hotel room, we would like to clarify that the "extra charge" was for a seven day accommodation and NOT per day. Therefore the additional charge was 5 euros per night - breakfast for two included.
All in all, you paid 290,40 euros for seven nights including both, breakfast for two and 10,40 euro charge for mini bar usage whereas your Piraeus Inn reservation would cost you 245 euro for accommodation and breakfast. Therefore the extra charge is a total of 35 euros for a seven day stay and NOT 80 euro, as you mention.
Just for the record, Phidias normal rates for doubles, for this period, were 49 euros/night PLUS 16 euro for breakfast for 2. Actually you got a great discount from Phidias Hotel although we were not responsible for Inn's guests.

Additionally, it is clear to everyone that our official website does not have a section with reviews. There is only a link to Phidias page in tripadvisor.com where all customers can post their comments, as you just did! So we cannot possibly "choose" the comments of our guests.

Finally, we would like to assure you and all customers that "Phidias Piraeus Hotel" is the newly renovated part of the building therefore all rooms offered online under "Phidias Piraeus Hotel" brand name in all websites are exactly what is described in our guests' reviews and seen in our photos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

An amazing hotel. A real gem in the centre of Piraeus. First of all it is located next to Pasalimani and Marina Zeas; a neighbourhood known for its beauty.There are also some very good restaurants only a few metres away from the hotel.Pasalimani and the nearby marina has nothing to with the shabby commercial port area!

The room was spectacular. Materials and furniture are brand new. Kettle, tea bags and coffee come with the room. The bathroom is modern and there's a king sized bed. One more advantage is the smart TV that we could easily turn into a fully functional computer. Surfing the internet, watching videos and films at the convenience of our room is definitely a novelty for most greek hotels.

Breakfast was great!. It was the best we've ever had to put it simply. It kept us all day long. But the most amazing of all was the free shuttle service which made moving to any part of Piraeus, a piece of cake!

Overall, it is a great hotel by the highest european standards, worth double the price we paid at least! We will definitely go there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Piraeus hotels
0.2 mi away
Piraeus Dream City Hotel
0.2 mi away
Lilia Hotel
Lilia Hotel
#3 of 27 in Piraeus
578 reviews
0.5 mi away
Piraeus Port Hotel
Piraeus Port Hotel
#2 of 27 in Piraeus
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Piraeus Theoxenia Hotel
Piraeus Theoxenia Hotel
#14 of 27 in Piraeus
435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Faros 1 Hotel
Faros 1 Hotel
#5 of 27 in Piraeus
254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#6 of 27 in Piraeus
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phidias Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phidias Hotel

Property: Phidias Hotel
Address: 189 Koudouriotou | Pasalimani, Piraeus 185 35, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Piraeus Region > Piraeus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Piraeus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phidias Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phidias Piraeus Hotel is a newly renovated hotel in the centre of Piraeus, next to the port. Guests enjoy free shuttle service and refurbished rooms with free Wi-Fi and full American breakfast. The hotel’s private shuttle offers guests free transfer to and from the port of Piraeus, to the X96 bus stop (airport bus line) and the railway station. Phidias Hotel offers bright and spacious guestrooms with en-suite bathrooms. Each air-conditioned unit is well equipped with work desk, comfortable beds and satellite TV. Free of charge internet facilities are also available at the hotel lobby. Phidias Piraeus Hotel offers a full American Breakfast from 6 am, an ideal start off for those who are traveling to the islands very early. A leisurely stroll away from the hotel will take guests to a variety of cafe or Greek taverns offering sea views. The Naval museum and the archaeological museum are located conveniently nearby. The hotel is within easy access to every means of transport travelling to and from Piraeus port and the airport. In addition there is a convenient express bus route connecting with the international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Phidias Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing