We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ignore bad reviews”
Review of Hotel Argo Anita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Argo Anita
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Piraeus
Reviewed October 7, 2013

It is clear that some reviewers are confused in respect of purpose of this hotel. This is not a hotel to spend a holiday in it but designed as and intermediate step on journey from mainland to Greek islands and the hotel perfectly fulfill this role.
It is absolutely adequate and absolutely reasonable.
It is clean, reasonably comfortable (beds could have been a bit wider and a bit longer but nevertheless they are comfortable), breakfast is perfectly adequate and it is very convenient to catch ferry for further journey. I also was surprised by canned fruit for breakfast (in particular as it is peak of fruit season) but when you put this in context of Greek crises, then nothing surprises me.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samist755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Argo Anita
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 342 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Anita hotel locates in a decent, walking distance around the port and street market in Piraeus making it a great overlay for Santorini. A great way to get to it is to take an Express 96 from the airport and then off at the last stop and walk to it. It is 5 blocks away. I find the hotel is a very tiny with tiny beds that I thought I walked into the house of the Three Bears!! All in all it is a great hotel for a short overlay but I wouldn't recommend staying here long. It is not that cheap for what it offers to consider value for money so I would recommend to check other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed here for one night on our way to Santorini. We had an early ferry and I didn't want to try to get here from Athens in the morning. I was a bit nervous about this hotel, because it was so cheap and some of the poor and terrible reviews made me nervous. Well, I must say the Anita Argo blew me away.

Don't get me wrong, it is basic, but that's their goal. They provide clean simple accomadations at a reasonable price. I was actually very surprised by the decor, which almost made it look like a fancier hotel that it was supposed to be. The room was very small, and very basic, but it was clean. The shower was small, but clean. We explored Piraeus. There is NOTHING going on in that city, so why do you need a special room? Go there for your night, have your quick sleep, and get on your boat.

Also..the breakfast...
I can't believe some of the negative reviews about the breakfast. For a hotel breakfast, it doesn't get much better. The breakfast includes the shuttle to the port, and it was a pretty decent breakfast. Sure it's canned fruit, but I've gotten that everywhere in Greece. It may be that they don't have a ton of fresh fruit growing on their island. Other than the canned fruit, I saw no issue with the breakfast. They had egg patties, some cereal and some other pastries. The coffee was actually quite good. In America, the hotel breakfasts you get are usually pretty basic, maybe a little better than this one. There was no back or sausage for example, but the yogurt was very good yogurt.

All in all, this was perfect for our quick little stayover.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank garek007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night only on my last trip to Santorini and couldnt fault it. Yes it is basic and from some of the pictures posted I can see that some rooms are small. Perhaps I got lucky but I had a large well proportioned room. Ok so the view from the window wasnt anything to write home about but I arrived at the hotel late at night from the airport knowing I was leaving at 6.30am the following morning so I wasnt there for the scenery.

The hotel was extremely good value - €30 for the room - the front desk staff were very helpful and friendly and pointed me towards a bakery when I arrived as it was late and I was hungry. I must admit I was a little apprehensive walking the side streets up to main street alone as they are dimly lit and I did see one or two roaming dogs but once I hit the main street it was busy enough and I felt safe enough, no issues.

My room as already stated was large, well cleaned, tv, air con, comfy bed and reasonable sized bathroom. Perhaps it wouldnt be ideal if you were to stay more than 1 or two nights but for an overnighter on the way to catch the ferry its perfect and certainly cheaper than staying in Athens and getting a cab to the port early next morning.

this hotel is minutes away from the port and if you splash out €6 for breakfast (cereals, fruits, yoghurt, omlettes etc) then the hotel will give you a lift to the port for no charge.

I would have no hesitation staying here again. Staff were lovely and I felt safe and comfortable at all times.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank halfpint08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had a 7:30 ferry, for which we needed to pick up tickets, and the Anita was a perfect place to stay the previous night. We received a warm welcome and good advice on restaurants. In the morning, they took care to ensure we were up in time and had breakfast, before driving us to the right place, with all the right guidance - all done courteously and thoughtfully. WeI would definitely recommend it to anyone catching the ferry.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MartinKJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The hotel, while not the most luxurious does not fail in terms of hospitality. The staff were incredibly friendly, and were always available to help when I needed it. You have to remember that you are getting what you pay for, and that is exactly what you get. Comfy bedrooms with functioning bathrooms, as well as air conditioning. The location too is perfect for getting to the port, and they offer shuttle services to the ferry docks so you do not have to worry about missing the boat to the islands. Overall, a comfortable, friendly place to stay. The only difficulty I had was finding it, but that was too minor to consider a huge negative. Job well done Anita Argo, one satisfied customer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gecm231990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel was only a few mins from the bus stop from the airport. We arrived late and check in was easy and fast. The room itself is basic but it was very clean and had good a/c. We were getting an early morning ferry so chose to get the breakfast and shuttle to the port. However when we asked about ferry we were told it was full. I was not aware when booking hotel or even when checking in that it had to be booked. We didn't mind having to walk to ferry as it was only 10-15 mins but if someone was older or less agile it might have been a bigger problem.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ciaralimk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Piraeus hotels
0.3 mi away
Piraeus Dream City Hotel
0.1 mi away
Piraeus Port Hotel
Piraeus Port Hotel
#2 of 27 in Piraeus
225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Anemoni
Hotel Anemoni
#7 of 27 in Piraeus
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#6 of 27 in Piraeus
312 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ideal
Hotel Ideal
#9 of 27 in Piraeus
137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lilia Hotel
Lilia Hotel
#3 of 27 in Piraeus
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Argo Anita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Argo Anita

Address: 23-25 Navarchou Notara, Piraeus 185 31, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Piraeus Region > Piraeus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Piraeus
Price Range: $38 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Argo Anita 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Argo Anita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Anita Argo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing