We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent.”
Review of Alexandria - CLOSED

Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $36
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek, Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: Exarchia
Athens
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Alexandria is one of the few restaurants that (based on my personal experience) keeps it's standards for more than 15 years .I don't really know (or care) if it 100% egyptian cuisine ,I believe it has strong influences from Greek side ,I don't care if for all those years the menu stays the same at more than 90% and more or less the same happens with the wine list or desserts.
All I know that EVERY time the food is amazing the ingredients are all fresh,the wine is fine,the desserts are fantastic,the service is quick ,polite and discreet ,the atmosphere is cozy on the winter and romantic in the summertime, and above all Cleopatra from Alexandria every night,no matter how tiring day she had, will serve you with a big smile and a real touch of home made hospitality.All that for a great value of money. TIP: A hidden cultural hot spot that actors,dancers,directors prefer after theater's last show.A definite must .

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GreekAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    38
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great time with new friends”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The food and service was great. The food had many unique flavor combinations from the because the owner, Cleopatra is from Egypt. The red housewine was delicious. It was nice a quite a relief to sit in the cool basement after trekking around Athens in the heat. We mentioned our travel plans and Cleopatra helped us set our island itenaries with numbers for contacts to get rooms. Needless to say, the service went above and beyond. And the food was a nice departures from the usual fare. We returned and dined on the back patio when it was cooler and that was great too! It was outside and very private and relaxed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The food was very good and the service was fantastic. We were not completely sure about the location at first but you cannot tell a book from its cover. Everything was perfect!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not authentic Egyptian food”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Unfortunately, the food is far from Egyptian. The "fool" and "falafel" were a touristy version of the real McCoy.
Clean, good service but no Egyptian food

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
107 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure in the center of Athens”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Just behind the Alexandras avenue, on a basement is hidden this Egyptian/Greek restaurant.
We were on a meeting on a nearby hotel and we wanted to have a dinner nearby.
So we looked on the internet and it was one of the closest in the hotel and we decide to go.
What an unexpected good restaurant was that!
Excellent food, more than excellent service, fluent in English, very delicate in general.
Average to high prices but definitely deserved every single euro.

I would go again very soon, highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gadgetakias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexandria also viewed

Athens, Attica
Athens, Attica
 
Athens, Attica
Athens, Attica
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing