We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonably priced proper Greek food, so hard to find in Athens”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oikeio

Oikeio
Ranked #184 of 3,648 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $27
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Kolonaki / Lykavittos
oxford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced proper Greek food, so hard to find in Athens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We loved everything about this taverna. The food was authentic, good quality, plentiful & served with a smile. The waitress was very patient with my husband's attempts at ordering in Greek & they were happy to adapt a meal for our fussy child!
Nearly didn't leave a review on Tripadvisor as restaurant is actually called Oikeio. Glad I persevered & found it in the end as it deserves the 5 stars I've given it. During our week in Greece we ate in some horrible poor quality overpriced places. Shame we discovered Oikeio on our last day! Next time we'll be eating here every night!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rebecca w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    140
    44
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
greece
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Greek Taverna at its best...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Inviting Atmosphere, backed by a great kitchen make this one of the best spots to try out truly Greek Gastronomy. On the other hand, pricing policy is a bit steep.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madpan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“great dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

After a couple of more "basic tourist food" in athens we were delighted by our meal here! Great wine and food, inviting atmosphere and good service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lady A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous taverna!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Want fantastic home style Greek food, like the yaya you never had would make? Oikio is for you! No pretension, just great traditional food and fun atmosphere, perfect for solving the world's problems over another carafe of the surprisingly moreish house wine. Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank modern_gipsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
246 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Greek Tavern Food at Its Finest in Kolonaki”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Arriving early, we were able to find a nice table in the street next to the window and could enjoy the beautiful day outside and see the action within the restaurant. The menu featured primarily Greek typical food at affordable prices. The service was professional if a bit distant. For appetizers we had the grilled oyster mushrooms and an octopus salad both of which were excellent. The main course was a daily special of grilled fresh sardines wrapped in grape leaves which was an unusual and highly tasty dish. Also, we had a huge grilled pork chop with nicely fresh cut French fries. We enjoyed two bottles of Greek white wines, both of which were affordable and tasty. The restaurant becomes very busy in the mid afternoon so a reservation would be in order. Overall, a very nice experience on a beautiful Athens spring day. I would return to the restaurant again for sure and recommend to any traveler in Athens.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pensando42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oikeio also viewed

 
Athens, Attica
 

Been to Oikeio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing