We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acropolis Museum

Acropolis Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$27.61*
and up
Skip the Line: Guided Tour of Athens New Acropolis Museum
Ranked #1 of 342 things to do in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Modern, uptodate building on the foot of the Acropolis housing important ancient Greek statues and much more
Rennes, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“beautiful.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

A beautiful museum with great use of natural light. it was easy to do in a morning or afternoon. I was sad photos were not allowed, but we found a great little paperback in the museum bookstore for a reasonable price with some good photos and information. Well worth the visit. My children (10 & 12) enjoyed the museum and displays, it was not so big that they had time to get bored

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jakrovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21,577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16,384
    4,029
    942
    171
    51
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Visted outside the museum only”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

The outside of the museum has ruins remains clearly visible under the entrance not costing 5 euro to visit.
To qualify this review, we have been travelling for 3 months and have seen so many galleries, churches, museums and after awhile we want to go back to the outdoors.

We went to the restaurant level which is free to visit but decided the menu was a bit too pricey.
Do your own research but you can see stepping out of the elevator what is install for the low cost of 5 euro.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Davidandiori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veroia, Greece
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Breathtaking. I felt jealous of people who work there but also very proud to be Greek. Desperately want to take my children there and introduce them to their ancestors. A very touching experience. Congratulations to everyone who has contributed and please, keep up the good work.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank kosmelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

A breathtaking display of the marbles, arranged in their original formation, complemented by plaster casts of the ones stolen by Lord Elgin. Low entrance fee.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a great museum! Amazing building, collection, location and restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I liked it all. The building is just perfect, the collection unbelievable, the light, the boards explaining the marbles one is admiring... Everything is just perfect. Don't misss a meal, lunch or dinner, at the museums restaurant! Unforgettable views and excellent menue and service. As an international tour guide I have visited many museums around the world. This one is among the very best.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mariajoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acropolis Museum also viewed

 

Been to Acropolis Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing