We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, good food”
Review of Daphne's

Daphne's
Ranked #687 of 3,750 Restaurants in Athens
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Plaka
Description: Dafnes is a classic in every sense of the word located in Plaka and the preferred destination of visiting public figures from the international political scene and business world.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Excellent service, good food”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Ate here by chance - was passing by
Pleasant courtyard in midst of busy Plaka district
Service was attentive, but not overbearing
Tasty moussaka, and offered a post dinner digestif which we both enjoyed.
Would recommend as nicer than most of the restaurants in the area, mainly due to the setting and the service

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AustralianOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    175
    95
    41
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Athens! Great food, atmosphere, value and service! ”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

I am not a fan of 'fancy' food and for anyone who is looking for a place with the service and style of a fine dining restaurant but food which is in large portions and is very tasty but not too fancy, this is the place to go. It was the perfect combination. For starters we orfered the Greek salad which was the nicest Greek salad we had our entire stay in Athens. For mains my girlfriend is a vegetarian and enjoyed the spaghetti napoliten. I had the chicken which was cooked to perfection. But the main surprise was the delicious chocolate moose gateau which was the nicest desert I have ever had in my life. Hands down. The atmosphere of the restaurant is amazing, would definitely go again next time I am in Athens! A shared starter, two mains, shared desert and two soft drinks was just under ?50, great value for the delicious food and great service.

Helpful?
Thank LukeDG1994
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Chose from the Athens guide and it did not disappoint. A friend whom we met joined us. That is myself and my 19 year old granddaughter, we had a delightful evening with great service and delicious food. Would recommend to all, and such wonderful history attached to this site! Shall return next year. Maudii







  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maudis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“So good we went here twice”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The location in Plaka just east of the Acropolis is very convenient. We could never get used to the late dinner hour and so we were glad that the restaurant was open all afternoon through the evening. One day we sat inside and one day outside. We ordered their lamb souvlakia with tzatziki, tomato, red onion and pita both times. You can argue that this is pretty basic fare but we kept trying to find its equal the rest of our time in Greece. The service was very good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A little expensive but great ambiance and excellent service.”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband swore that he had the best grilled salmon he had ever had here. It was thinly sliced and grilled on a brazier and came with veges too so no need for side dishes. We had some lovely bread and olive paste probably the best I can recall. I had the rabbit and it was lovely and came with carrots and tiny onions. We drank a bottle of very good local wine which took the price up a bit but without the drinks it would have been a reasonable night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eulys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daphne's also viewed

 

Been to Daphne's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing