We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveler rating
69
163
78
15
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
69
163
78
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station busy road minute walk air con fifth floor free breakfast clean hotel the breakfast area decent hotel kalambaka wifi bathtub balconies taxi piraeus santorini
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 332 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2011

The Ariston in the centre of Athens offers very good value for money. Situated right accross the road, by subway and 20m down the street from Larissis station, a direct link from the airport brings you right to the front door where friendly and helpful staff will quickly help you check in and settle you in your room. No room services, but a nice and modern restaurant on the ground floor can fulfill all you needs. The night manager was extremely accommodating in that he opened the kitchen early every morning to make us coffee.
The lift is always in working condition, although small, and the landings on the floors are neat and clean. The hotel is over all a quiet, relaxing one.
The rooms are small but sufficient, with new furniture and finishes, and the same goes for the bathroom. Most rooms have balconies facing onto the street, where a glimpse of Greek suburban nightlife can be had. Unfortunately there are no views of the Akropolis.
In the immediate vicinity are some conveniece stores but the real shopping happens downtown - hop accross the road and take the Metro to Syntagma Station for more upmarket and designer shops, or get off at Monastiraki Station which will put you right in the middle of Plaka and its myriad of small streets, ancient ruins, markets and wonderful restaurants. From Plaka you can walk a block or two to get to the Akropolis.
A nice enough hotel offering good value for money, clean and modern rooms with all the required facilities and easy access to all the sights.

Room tip: Ask for a higher floor, it is more quiet and the views are better.
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TravelreporterSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Great, clean, value for money hotel. The staff are friendly and eager to please. Neighbourhood a bit rough, watch for pick pockets on the metro. We would stay at the Ariston again!

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IOANOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stopped by Athens for 2 nights while going for a trip around the islands. Probably the best hotel we stayed in during the whole trip, complying with the most basic european standards (...yes we do consider hotels in the island a bit overrated compared to the rest of europe, but this was not the case).

staff is genuinely helpful, breakfast is abundant and definetely good value for money, also location is ok, 2 min walk from a metro station, even though the area might look a bit dodgy but it's ok.

the only downside: rooms facing the main road might be a bit noisy. We shut the window and turned the air conditioning on, still fans got pretty noisy as well, but nothing really you can get too much annoyed for.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bum_around2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We had an amazing vacation in Athens and Ariston Hotel made it even better! From the moment we walked in, we were greeted by an amazingly nice receptionist (thanks, Matina!) who upgraded our room form a regular one to a deluxe. When we got to our floor, some of the regular rooms were being cleaned and we got a peek: they look comfortable and the design is wonderful, but the deluxe is more spacious, has a bathtub and 2 balconies. They cleaned our room and changed our towels everyday. Oh, and it isn't that noisy! We bought earplugs, as suggested, because we thought we won't be able to sleep... we didn't need them. The hotel didn't have a map, but Matina got us one the next morning. Ariston is a great hotel, with extremely kind and helpful staff, great location (a few feet away from the metro), clean, confortable and has a cute, fresh design. We got a lot more than what we paid for! We will definitely stay there again!

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank InahcuH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

I stayed at Hotel Astor for a few days in mid-June on my way to Crete. The location was spectacular--the front door was about 400 meters from the entrance to the Larissa metro station, which is only a couple of stops away from all of the main sites. There was also a Carrefour right next to the metro station, which made shopping easy. Some people in other review have described the neighborhood as 'dodgy', but I didn't feel at all unsafe. I probably wouldn't have walked down the quiet side streets alone at night, but I wouldn't do that in most foreign cities.

The rooms were very clean and decorated simply, but tastefully. There are all equipped with mini-refridgerators and split units (A/Cs), and there is a free DSL connection. The beds are standard for Europe--not particularly comfortable.

The people who worked at the front desk were very kind, but most of them (except for one woman) were not particularly helpful with questions about the city or the surrounding areas.

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LEOleprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews