We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in Athens”
Review of Dio Dekares i Oka

Dio Dekares i Oka
Reserve a Table
OR
Ranked #30 of 3,027 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Koukaki
Description: Three brothers with extensive business activities decided to join their forces and their passion and created an amazing tavern! A unique and very welcoming place with delicious traditional Greek cuisine that you will simply adore! Homemade food, delicious seafood and appetizers, along with a variety of grilled meat is what you will taste in "Dyo Dekares i Oka", as this cozy tavern is called. Its name means "two dimes an oca", with oca being an old mass measurement unit, and will take you to the past. The flavours will do the same, as they resemble of an old, experienced Greek housewife's way of cooking. Pure ingredients, rich spices and lots of imagination are shuffled daily to offer you original culinary experiences. As for the space? Simple, cozy and welcoming. With beautiful decorative details that will make you feel intimate, like if you ate at a friend's house. At the evening, live music makes the mood take off. People become one... they celebrate, they dance and sing, as only Greeks know how to do! Create memories and take them back home when you leave this country... Many smiles, kindness, delicious flavours and affordable prices are what you should expect from your visit at "Dyo Dekares i Oka" restaurant. And we're sure that if you ever come back in Greece, then you'll definitely come back to the tavern as well.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great food, great staff, great value. This restaurant is fab and so friendly. The food was the best we had during our stay in Athens and the experience, the most enjoyable. Go.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jjjk896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 1,251 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The sign says "Better food than your grandma's" and we would not disagree! This was a recommendation by our Airbnb host and we were SO happy we chose to check it out. We went back the next day The staff is super friendly, portions are large, smells absolutely delicious when you walk in, and then tastes even better! We took our leftovers home for breakfast. The owner clearly takes pride in his restaurant and you can feel the love. 100% recommend!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank janesalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I visited this restaurant after researching local Greek/Athens Taverna’s. We stayed in Koukaki, so it was super convenient for us, but even if we stayed across town, I would still travel to eat here. The restaurant is run by three brothers, fronted by Dimitrious who is one of the best guys you’ll ever meet. Warm/friendly/welcoming and made us feel right at home. He explained all the local food and the restaurant’s dishes of the day and recommended us some excellent dishes. We ate like Kings and were pleasantly surprised when it came time for the bill. Starters, Mains, Deserts and Drinks, for 2people was less than 40euros and we couldn’t eat it all.
The one part that won’t get mentioned elsewhere is the atmosphere, full of locals, so friendly and I already want to go back.
If you are wanting to experience the real Athens, avoid Plaka and the other tourist hot spots and walk out to the fringe (10mins at Max) and you will be well rewarded! This place is a hidden gem!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank cduff1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Amazing food and extremely friendly staff. We had a huge reasonably priced meal and the staff sang with us (we even got to break plates)!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tomparkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Had the most amazing Greek food and excellent service here. The waiter showed us all the specials upon arrival and we wanted one of everything - it all looked delicious. And it truly was. Avoid the tourist traps in Athens and come here!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank jamielee716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dio Dekares i Oka also viewed

 

Been to Dio Dekares i Oka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing