We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel with very good price”
Review of Crystal City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crystal City Hotel
Ranked #99 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed August 30, 2013

It is a nice 3-star hotel of great value for money. If you have limited budget yet still want to enjoy the convenience of transportation, clean and comfortable accommodations, and a nice view of Acropolis, this hotel is highly recommended!
My room was on the 6th Floor where I could enjoy the view of Acropolis from my balcony. The night view was especially beautiful. I stayed in this hotel twice, booking the same type of room (twin room). Room 604 and 602 both enjoy the view of Acropolis. But Room 602 was much smaller than Room 604. The Room 604 was spacious and comfortable.
The breakfast was good, with variety of choices. The hotel receptionists and cleaning lady were nice and friendly.
The hotel location was quite convenient: the nearest metro station (Metaxourgeio) was just around the corner. The National Archeological Museum was in 15-minute walking distance. Before I went there, I read reviews about the concern of the rundown neighborhood. It wasn't so bad. During my stay, I never felt unsafe.
I liked everything about the hotel except the shower nozzle in the bathroom. The shower nozzle couldn't be fixed above the level of my waist (and I'm a small-sized girl). It was impossible for me to wash my hair.

Room Tip: If you would like to enjoy the view of Acropolis, request "a balcony room with Acropolis view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenleaflovechina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 286 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there four times while in business in Athens , very good value for money , breakfast buffet very nice and even got fried eggs the way I like them , rooms a bit small but the all are in Athens .

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevefoutoulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I liked this hotel overall. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very nice as well even though they were a little small. For staying in Athens on a budget, this is the place. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Cemohn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The location of hotel towards centre is good, but!
The centre of Athens (geographical centre) is not the best place to see in Athens. The quarters (blocks) between Metaxurgio, Omonia and Monastiraki are really NOT a touristic places. They are dirty, ugly with lots of people with low level of life and low level of culture. Also I was told it's not safe to walk there during night times which I would easily believe. The hotel has nothing to do with it, but just to let you know. It's easy to find this hotel it's next to Stanley hotel which is straight on the metro exit (Karaiskaki square).
View from our room was into the inside courtyard, so there is no view in my case.
WiFi works in lobby and in the restaurant. No wifi in rooms, rooms are small and elevator small as well. Breakfast was ok, but could be better.
Hotel has a luggage store which is a plus.
Overall - this hotel is good for 1-2 nights, staying too long doesn't make sense in my opinion.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Rooms are clean, bit small. The elavator is very small. The hotel is situated advantageous: not so far away from the hotspots in the city-centre. Around the hotel the neighbourhood is a bit bad, but during the daytime it's not a problem.
Dinners are moderate, breakfasts better.
The most striking and pleasant service of this hotel is the nice lounge bar. It offers nice places to sit, good drinks and tasty and fresh pastry.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anneke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Great location. Very clean rooms. Good staff. The hotel is 50 meters away from the metro station. Breakfast is excellent. Cost is proportional to the service. No WIFI in rooms, only in the lobby - bad!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flopy_EU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

For a start, some of the reviews that suggest the area is dangerous are, in our opinion, incorrect. Yes, the area is a bit scruffy, but we never felt unsafe. Even late at night it seemed to be perfectly safe to walk around the area, as there is so much traffic passing by. We were never hassled by anyone and didn't see any type of crime or feel any threat of crime.

The hotel itself has a very nice reception area and bar. The dining room is nice and the breakfasts were of good quality with a reasonable amount of choice.

The bedrooms are a bit small and the decor is a bit out-dated. However, the rooms were clean and perfectly acceptable for a short stay. There are several useful features in the rooms such as a safe, a fridge, and air conditioning (all provided free). The flat screen TV had (surprisingly) quite a lot of English channel TV stations, which was also nice.

The bathrooms have a shower and a tiny bath. The bathrooms are very clean and have a hairdryer provided along with complimentary shampoos, soaps, etc. Unfortunately the bath is so small that unless you're a young child (or a midget), then having a bath is not an option!!!

The best thing about the hotel is its convenient location, which is literally only one minute's walk from the underground station. The station is only a few stops from the Acropolis and all the other main attractions. This makes the Crystal City hotel an extremely convenient place to stay if you want to get about quickly and easily on the excellent cheap underground system (which incidentally, is very safe, even at night).

We would definitely consider staying at the Crystal again for the convenient location, and would recommend it for anyone who wants a reasonably priced, basic standard hotel for a short stay in Athens.

Room Tip: Don't bother asking for an Acropolis view room. We had one, but the view of the Acropolis isn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LeedsRonnieRhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Golden City Hotel
#194 of 282 in Athens
260 reviews
Achillion Hotel
#107 of 282 in Athens
392 reviews
Stanley Hotel
#84 of 282 in Athens
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
Athens Odeon Hotel
Athens Odeon Hotel
#158 of 282 in Athens
137 reviews
Hotel Phidias
#133 of 282 in Athens
217 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#35 of 282 in Athens
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal City Hotel

Address: 4 Achilleos, Athens 104 37, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $50 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crystal City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal City Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing