We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what i expected”
Review of Hotel Phaedra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Phaedra
Ranked #96 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed March 10, 2013

i expected to find a small room in a cute little family run hotel, which is what i got. the people at the reception desk tried to help us as much as they could. we didn't get breakfast there, because i am gluten free and breakfast is just bread products and cheese. the only problem is that there was some water leakage along the wall in our room. we luckily had nothing valuable near that wall. overall, location was great, room and bathroom were small, but fine, and it was a great value. i would go back there if i was going to return to athens.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindi_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Phaedra
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 328 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a small hotel very close to the new Acropolis Museum, and mid-way between the Acropolis and the Temple of Zeus. I have stayed in Athens before but never in such a super location for sightseeing. It's walking distance from everything - which was good for me as the public transport system was on strike.
The hotel is very clean, the staff are pleasant and helpful, and while i didn't have a view from my room - i was comfortable and content there.
I would definitely stay there again if I wanted to continue my sightseeing in Athens. Also it's cheap, it's not a high number of stars so it is not flashy in any way, just a clean and pleasant hotel in a super location.

Room Tip: Room 217 was perfect for a short stay - it would be too small for a couple - fine for a solo travell...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Irskaisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The location in the Plaka is great and I loved having a view of the Acropolis from my room. The staff though was varied, and about half of them were foul-tempered elderly women. I thought they were mean because my Greek is poor, but I had a Greek friend come over and the receptionist made her sit with her daughter at one designated table in the lobby while they waited a few minutes for me to come down.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank PdxTraveller994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I were traveling through Greece, and absolutely loved the Hotel Phaedra. The people at the front desk were always friendly and helpful (even when we couldn't quite understand each other). The rooms are simple, but have wonderful views of the Acropolis (make sure to request them!). I felt very safe here, and the rooftop is a lovely way to view the city.

This hotel is also the perfect launching point. We only had 3 days in Athens and spent one of them traveling to Delphi, so we were so glad to be in such a convenient location.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Request a "large room with Acropolis views"!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
2  Thank brittany9287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed in the Phaedra on our wedding trip in 1988 and decided to come back because it is truly the perfect place to stay in Athens. The windows of the rooms open to see the Acropolis right above you. The rooms are small and have everything a couple would need to see the ancient capital. The staff are always on the desk and were a great help to a couple of hungry vegans needing to find places to eat. The rooftop is terrific. You get a view of the city in panorama. In fact the was an artist on the roof painting the cityscape when we were there. There could not be a better vantage. You are in the Plaka, but strangely you don't hear any noise in your room, even with windows all open. Greek architectural ingenuity perhaps. Just outside the hotel is a ancient ruin site that constantly reminds you of where you are. Yes, we both loved and, 24 years on, still love the Phaedra.

Room Tip: The corner room closest to the Plaka are the biggest
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jackafca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in 12/2012. Great view of acropolis from balcony. Excellent location in Plaka with easy access to airport as Acropolis Metro Station in a 5-minute walk away. Rooms were simple, spacious and clean. Has daily room service, 24-hour reception and elevator. Computer with internet in lobby free to hotel guests. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandyVancouver2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Very close to the acropolis metro and museum. It's about a 5 minutes walk. It's in the middle of plaka. Very accessible to all tourist spots by foot. There's a small lift which was a bonus as we had big and heavy luggages. Wifi connection is fast and strong throughout the hotel. We requested for a room facing the acropolis and the staff kindly obliged. The rooftop is accessible to all and has great views of athens. We took the twin room which was slightly small but still passable. Shower water was really hot which was a bonus in winter. Recommended to stay! Will definitely stay again if in athens!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mooks06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Adams Hotel
Adams Hotel
#86 of 282 in Athens
256 reviews
Plaka
Hotel Nefeli
Hotel Nefeli
#111 of 282 in Athens
236 reviews
Plaka
Kimon Athens Hotel
Kimon Athens Hotel
#70 of 282 in Athens
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Byron Hotel
Byron Hotel
#177 of 282 in Athens
225 reviews
Monastiraki
Hotel Tempi
Hotel Tempi
#107 of 282 in Athens
381 reviews
Plaka
Hotel Acropolis House
Hotel Acropolis House
#84 of 282 in Athens
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Phaedra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phaedra

Address: Cherefontos 16 & Adrianou Street, Athens 105 58, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $44 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Phaedra 1.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Phaedra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phaedra Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing