We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing View of Acropolis”
Review of Hotel Phaedra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Phaedra
Ranked #93 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in 12/2012. Great view of acropolis from balcony. Excellent location in Plaka with easy access to airport as Acropolis Metro Station in a 5-minute walk away. Rooms were simple, spacious and clean. Has daily room service, 24-hour reception and elevator. Computer with internet in lobby free to hotel guests. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandyVancouver2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Phaedra
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 327 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Very close to the acropolis metro and museum. It's about a 5 minutes walk. It's in the middle of plaka. Very accessible to all tourist spots by foot. There's a small lift which was a bonus as we had big and heavy luggages. Wifi connection is fast and strong throughout the hotel. We requested for a room facing the acropolis and the staff kindly obliged. The rooftop is accessible to all and has great views of athens. We took the twin room which was slightly small but still passable. Shower water was really hot which was a bonus in winter. Recommended to stay! Will definitely stay again if in athens!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mooks06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

If you want to be in the Plaka. If you want to have a view of the Parthenon from your bed. If you are prepared to put up with a hotel at the rougher end of the market. If you are as mean as hell. If you can get by with Greek or are good at mime. If you hate smart International-style hotels. THEN you might rather like this place! Seriously do not go to the Phaedra if you want luxury, but it is fairly clean, rather noisy and great value. The staff were helpful when I turned up a week earlier than my booking (mea culpa!) - and let me into my room at 8am after an overnight flight - no extra charge for what was in effect an extra night's stay

Room Tip: Best have a look at what they are offering before you sign your soul away.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harehound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here in October 2012 for three days, after having seen recommendations on a travel blog website. We were very happy with our choice. The location is difficult to beat - in the middle of Plakas, with a very nice view from our room and balcony on the nearby Acropolis. A very nice roof terrasse on which to have breakfast. All the positive about the hotel makes one easily forget that the room is pretty basic, with even some overdue maintenance in the bathroom area. Still, with the excellent location, the view from the rooms, good room airconditioning, the friendly and helpful staff, and the very reasonable price, we think this hotel is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Room with own bathroom and balcony, with Acropolis view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCvD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here two nights in sept 2012.

Pros:
Great central location in Plaka
Free wifi
Clean room
Travelcot provided for free
Friendly reception staff who were able to answer all my questions
Balcony with an acropolis view
We paid 70euro per night for the 3 of us which I thought was good value.
Able to leave luggage safely after check out as we had an evening flight.
Most comfortable bed we had in our 3 week trip!

Cons
Rooms are small but I was expecting this and having a balcony made up for it. Athens is beautiful so we were hardly in the room anyway.

Room Tip: Get an acropolis view balcony. Great especially if you have a little one as you can put them to bed...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harrisonfamily_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed here for nearly a week in June. The location is very convenient, just a short walk from the Akropoli metro station, the Tourist Information Office, the Acropolis Museum, and the Theater of Dionysius. The entrance to the Acropolis is a 7-10 min. walk. Since the hotel is right on the edge of Plaka, there are endless tacky souvenir shops and the usual clutter of restaurants which have taken over all available space on the sidewalks.

I had a single with a large bathroom outside my door, exclusively for my use. There was also a small balcony. The room was taken up with the big bed and unnecessary furniture, so there was barely any space to move around in. This could often be exasperating. I slept fairy well and noise was never an issue.

The staff was friendly & courteous but beware of the cleaning maid who is half-crazed and shouts at the top of her voice if you ask her even a simple question.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank tunai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This hotel is located in such a fantastic area. It is near the main tourist attractions, bars and restaurants. A little difficult to find so do get detailed directions but if you plan to walk to everywhere most things are on this hotel's doorstep. Also it is really safe! The toilet and shower were across the hallway but it is a budget hotel. It is really clean and the sheets and towels are changed everyday.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor that had a great balcony that overlooked the acropolis.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy83_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Adams Hotel
Adams Hotel
#86 of 282 in Athens
255 reviews
Plaka
Hotel Nefeli
Hotel Nefeli
#107 of 282 in Athens
236 reviews
Plaka
Byron Hotel
Byron Hotel
#168 of 282 in Athens
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Kimon Athens Hotel
Kimon Athens Hotel
#70 of 282 in Athens
318 reviews
Monastiraki
Hotel Tempi
Hotel Tempi
#106 of 282 in Athens
379 reviews
Plaka
Hotel Acropolis House
Hotel Acropolis House
#83 of 282 in Athens
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Phaedra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phaedra

Address: Cherefontos 16 & Adrianou Street, Athens 105 58, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $44 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Phaedra 1.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Phaedra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phaedra Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing