We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nefeli is a good overall experience”
Review of Hotel Nefeli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Nefeli
Ranked #117 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nefeli is a good overall experience”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The area that the hotel is in is very nice. Plaka is nice, too. No worries. Good to be in the middle of Syntagma and Acropolis and Ermou. Staff is very helpful. Rooms are typical of that age of hotel.... basic decor, plumbing, etc.. Not fancy, and not run-down/broken, either. Let the desk know if you have a problem. Nice to have a cooler in the lobby with water and beer and juice, when you head out or are coming back in. We will stay here the next time we visit Athens/Greece.

Room Tip: I read a lot of complaints about the noise of the doors. I agree, but, I found out a way to avoid A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    98
    62
    17
    6
See reviews for
35
105
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
U.S.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Can't ask for a better location, staff, and value for the money. Hotel is a bit old and could use some updating. We stayed here 2 times, and one room was good, but the other room had a bathroom toilet that was a bit difficult as water would come out of the tank and onto the toilet. Smelled a little, too. We were a bit tired, and in fairness to the hotel, we did not complain, as we did not want any interruptions. Breakfast is good, with bread, eggs, toasts, jelly and coffee (hot nescafe was great !), but we are used to more fruits and some fiber in our morning meal. Regardless, it does help to have something to eat if you're in a hurry to get out and do things. I can't say enough about the professionalism and helpfulness of the 3 staff members who we had contact with. Will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaCNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed at the hotel in June 2012 and have been back this year! I stayed two nights in June (both for stopovers as we were going to and from Mykonos).
The hotel staff are incredibly friendly, the location is amazing! About ten min walk from Acropolis and it's in the Plaka district.
Only problem is that it can be a bit noisy due to other people slamming doors (it's a bit echoey). This is no fault of the hotel, but can be a bit annoying.
It's basic, but it's a nice hotel and for the money, in that area, I think it's a bargain.
I will definitely be staying again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelsbytrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Family run Hotel in the heart of Athens - probably the best base to explore the city. 2 minutes walk to vibrant Plaka , lots of great eateries nearby . Acropolis ? Just a pleasant 10 minute walk away .Small ,comfortable Rooms........good,wholesome breakfast served by a lady who's always smiling .If you're looking for luxury however , this is not the place.
Me , I would definitely come back!

Room Tip: Take a room on the higher floors .....acropolis views at night are stunning !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderlust68_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I've been staying at the Nefeli for a week or so every summer for years now. Rooms are simple, clean, and well suited for visitors seeking a hotel in Plaka, which has so much to offer that you will not want to spend much time in a hotel. All rooms have private baths with lots of hot water. Breakfast every morning is part of the deal, an egg, various breads, good butter, honey, coffee or tea, instant juice, all served in a cheerful room. The maid who serves breakfast and cleans is another plus -- very good at her job and with a sunny disposition as well. The owner is helpful with advice of all kinds. Highly recommended, a good deal on a quiet street in one of the most interesting, and central, parts of Athens.

Room Tip: Solo travelers should ask for exterior window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amymone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The rooms were relatively good but the hotel owner-receptionist in the mornings- and " general major" showed a terrible behavior to his employees. Early in the mornings, when we were started enjoying the simple but fine breakfast, we were hearing the guy shouting at the cleaning lady about every single thing he considers improper. He generally behaved as a merciless boss, grumbling and shouting....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Athens hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My family and I stayed there. Plaka is so beautiful and the location of the hotel made us really easy to visit other places as Monastiraki, Syntagma Square, Gazi, Kolonaki and many others( it is located really close to Metro). Beautiful and comfortable hotel, friendly staff with reasonable rates. Recommend it, especially for family holidays!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Hotel Acropolis House
Hotel Acropolis House
#87 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Plaka
Kimon Athens Hotel
Kimon Athens Hotel
#73 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Plaka
Adams Hotel
Adams Hotel
#106 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Hotel Niki
Hotel Niki
#134 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Plaka
Adonis Hotel
Adonis Hotel
#120 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Plaka
Hotel Phaedra
Hotel Phaedra
#101 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nefeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nefeli

Property: Hotel Nefeli
Address: 16 Chatzimichali Agelikis (Plaka), Athens 105 58, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nefeli 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of beautiful Athens city (Greece), in the scenic area of Plaka, on the foothills of the magnificent monument of Acropolis, you can find the comfortable "Nefeli" Hotel. Established in 1976, this small (18 room in total) family run hotel, has managed to gain many loyal customers over the years, both from Greece and abroad.Also, Nefeli Hotel has recently been refurbished in the neoclassical style to fit in harmony with its' surroundings. Nefeli Hotel is situated only five minutes on foot from Athens' city center and yet in a very peaceful area. It is located between the Metro Stations of Syntagma and Acropolis, close to tram and central bus lines. Staying at Nefeli Hotel is very convenient, as you are able to reach the many sights of Athens very easily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Nefeli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing