We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice One” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novus City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novus City Hotel
Ranked #32 of 335 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk, UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice One”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The Novus City Hotel is modern, bright, clean, comfortable and friendly. Rooms are fairly spacious and attractive, with in our case, a good sized WC with walk-in (semi) power shower. Air-con worked but was a bit slow in getting the room temperature down to something reasonably comfortable. We were at the back on the 5th floor and had a wee bit of a view but also a wee bit of traffic noise from the corner of the square and street across the parking/garage area. Breakfasts are excellent both in terms of quality and range with only the synthetic fruit juice letting things down. The roof top pool and sunbathing area is lovely but small. The cafe-bar terrace has fantastic views of the Acropolis and other Athens landmarks. A bit pricey but I suppose you are paying for the setting and views.

The hotel is situated in a bit of a scruffy run-down area but we found some of the local bars and cafes with their varying Balkan nationality identities very friendly, interesting and atmospheric. Maybe best to steer clear of the Omonia Square area at night though. In any case the hotel is only 2 minutes walk away from Metaxourghio Metro station, so the delights of more central Athens are only 2 or 3 stops away.

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear are probably a bit quieter than those at the front and the higher up ones may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyTheBairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    260
    74
    14
    7
See reviews for
86
243
64
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great little hotel, very accomidating. Location not too far from Old Town to walk. Pool and roof deck are beautiful but watch out for the prices, they are outrageous! The Staff are wonderful and will go above and beyond typical customer service standards.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acruzicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I have now had the opportunity to stay at the Novus City Hotel in Athens twice. It is my new favorite hotel in Athens.

The hotel is located just a five minute walk from the nearest metro station (Metaxourghio on line 2--the red line). From there, one can easily travel anywhere in Athens. It is just two stops from Syntagma Square where one can take the X95 express bus to and from the airport.

The hotel itself has been renovated and modernized. It has a very hip, upscale feel to it right down to the music in the lift. The rooms are very clean, modern, and generously sized, especially by European standards.

When I stayed there for the second time in September, the manager at the front desk actually recognized me from my first stay in May. I had such a good experience on that trip that I didn't need to consider other hotels when planning my repeat visit.

I have never had time to try the breakfast, since I am always just passing through Athens on my way back to the US. I always seem to be rushing to get packed and get myself to the airport.

The rooftop pool and deck have an amazing view of Athens. I only wish the pool were open late at night.

I can recommend this hotel without any hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skyguyWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I travel often to Athens (just about once a month for 7-10 days), ever since I stayed at this hotel a year ago, I refuse to stay anywhere else in Athens. The service is really awesome, the hotel is spotless, the breakfast is unbelievable, the fresh fruit in the morning and homemade sweets are really good!!!! The location is excellent, walking distance to the metro, easy access to the national highway, walking distance to shops, bars, restaurants, (I highly recommend the roof garden restaurant, it has excellent food, the chicken kabob or the grilled vegetable dish is out of this world!!!). Can't say enough about this beautiful and clean boutique hotel.........

Room Tip: Any room is good at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hotel was a lovely choice. Bright and colourful with a clean room.
Pool area upstairs had a fab view of the Acropolis.

Hotel is in walking distance of the metro station and for the hop-on hop-off bus stops.
Cab is about 3-5 euros to Monastiraki where there is bars, restaurants, shops & the flea market.

I have given 4 stars rather than 5 as I feel that during the day there wasn't a great service up at the pool. One of the receptionist said we could get towels up there, but we never got one and hardly anyone about to ask.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sair1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night as part of our trip camping/hotelling through the Balkans. The view at night of the Acropolis is incredible! We went to Poros for 4 days after staying here and they let us store our tent & electrics here free of charge, for us to pick up before we travel to the Airport home. Very worthy of its good reviews. #2backpackingbrits

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mulzinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I visited Athens on August 1th 2013, on a business trip. To be honest, I expected more of the city. But the hotel was a great choice. Clean rooms, friendly staff, good food. And the view from the roof (there is also a pool and a bar) was spectacular. Would go there again...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plameto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#23 of 335 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 1,701 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#31 of 335 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 581 reviews
Novotel Athenes
#52 of 335 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#35 of 335 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 1,534 reviews
Athens Lotus Hotel
#40 of 335 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 731 reviews
Stanley Hotel
#80 of 335 in Athens
3.5 of 5 stars 1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novus City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novus City Hotel

Property: Novus City Hotel
Address: 23 Karolou, Athens 104 37, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 335 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novus City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Novus City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing