We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - modern, clean and very good staff”
Review of Novus City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novus City Hotel
Ranked #34 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Very modern and chic hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Good location to see the sights of Athens. The pool and bar on the roof is a relief in the heat and the view of the city is good. Would stay again without doubt.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanaryWharfSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (756)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 756 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

Pros:
The biggest pro to this hotel was its location to Metro station. It was only a three-minute walk from the nearest station to the entrance. The hotel was also very modern, clean, and had a very quirky style, which made it interesting. The room was spacious and had a large desk area. It had a small refrigerator and a flat-screen television along with an in-room safe. Another huge pro was that there was free Wi-Fi. You just had to ask for the code and password at the front desk and it was good for 12 hours. The major tourist sties were about 3/4 of a mile away. Breakfast was included in price and served every morning from 7 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. with some variety of foods. The terrace was nice and had a small pool. Another bonus was that there was a small deli right next to the hotel that was great for a light snack. We used it every night of our stay as a cheap way to have dinner. The hotel is also close to a couple of ATMs as well.

Cons:
The biggest con to the hotel was the surrounding neighborhood. It wasn't exactly in the safest area. We didn't have any issues, but if you wanted to walk to the tourist sites, instead of using the Metro, you had to go through some shady areas that looked dirty and just not well kept. Some of the locals looked questionable as well. It made us a bit on-edge, especially once it started to get dark. So, if you want to explore, be on your guard. Otherwise taking the Metro is a simple solution to this problem since the touristy sites were not as sketchy. Another hotel con was some of the room features. The "queen bed" was just two twin beds put side by side. They were on rollers too, so sometimes they'd move away from each other and it was a bit annoying. Also, the shower in the bathroom had no door. I don't know why exactly it was designed this way, but whenever we took a shower, the water would splash and wet about half of the bathroom floor, so we had to clean up the floor after every shower. It just didn't make any sense.

Overall I thought the hotel was nice and the staff was friendly. The price was ok for what we received, but if I were to go back to Athens I'd probably stay somewhere closer to the sites. If you don't mind the walk or time it takes to get to the main attractions, then this hotel will do just fine.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Great hotel. Free wifi for multiple computers. Very helpful staff. Great breakfast. Modern, clean rooms. Not in the very centre of the city but close to a train station and the Athens metro is easy, quick and efficient. Loved the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

When I think of City Hotels, I think rooftop bars, sleek interiors, great location with easy access to all tourist hotspots. I picked the Novus because it had good reviews and because being from a cold-ish rainy climate, I knew I'd need a pool to cool down in after trekking around the sites of Athens in the 30+ heat!
And I was impressed.... it ticks all the boxes. It's literally right beside the Metaxourghio Metro Stop that will bring you to the Airport(albeit non-direct, with one change) and directly(only 2 stops away) to the main tourist area where you are within walking distance of all the attractions : The Acropolis and the Acropolis Museum, Tomb of the Unknown Soldier etc.
It has the lovely, but small rooftop pool, where you can order a frappe and take in the amazing view of the Acropolis in the distance. At night this is spectacular as it's glowing in the distance.
The staff and breakfast need a mention at this hotel too. We arrived late, after travelling from Santornini and we were greeted by helpful staff, who supplied us with a map of the area and directions to local attractions. Our room was beyond spacious, spotlessly clean and a welcome fruit basket and 2 bottles of water proved just the thing. It really is the little touches. The breakfast is really the most varied breakfast I've ever seen. You can have almost anything you want and you could easily fill up for the day. Hot savoury food, greek cheeses and olive, fresh breads and cakes, pastries and fruits which seem never ending.
I really enjoyed Athens, and the Novus. It proved to be a nice retrieve from the bustling city at the end of a busy, hot day. Please, don't pay any attention to the reviews regarding the area around the hotel. Yes, it's not exactly gleaming but nether is Athens as a whole. I felt perfectly safe even returning after midnight. Just don't let it deter you from the Novus hotel, as you will be in for a treat once you step inside the door.
The Breakfast and room size alone are reason enough to stay at this chic city hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CazTreacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

good breakfast, free wifi or use of hotel aptop, roof top bar, good food, nice view of acropolis ( 7th floor room) area is not that nice but next to the hotel is a metro station which leads you after 4 stopps at the acropolis.

Room Tip: 7th floor with view to the acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Novus City Hotel is like a hidden gem in Athens. It is so close to the metro that it makes it convienent to get any where in and out of the city (ferry ports or airport). The hotel is trendy and CLEAN. The rooftop has to be the best part of the hotel. Great view of the Acropolis and great rooftop pool (which is necessary with the temps in Athens). Also a hearty -free- breakfast was included in our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelloves25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Even though I booked for 2 nights, online 6 months earlier, when we arrived, we were told that we were being sent to another hotel, for the first night. Very disappointed - The whole point of staying 2 nights in one place is so you have a full day for sight seeing in the middle and don't have the pack/unpack, check in/checkout performance. The reception staff were very apologetic, and offered us a free taxi transfer to and from Hotel Meliai, and a free dinner on our second night (this was not off the menu, which I expected, but a very ordinary chicken and veg dinner, with ice cream desert). It actually worked out OK, because we thought The Melia was a very superior hotel, we had a wonderful room with spa bath, and it cost 20 Euro less per night including a very nice breakfast buffet. We took a taxi back to Novus City and they stored our luggage untilwe rechecked in later that afternoon. Breakfast at the Novus City was very average, the common areas of the hotel reminded me a bit of a modern backpackers. They obviously cater for package groups of young people. The roof pool was very nice, small but unluckily dominated by loud youngsters when we wanted a relaxing sunbathe, before leaving to catch an afternoon flight on day of departure. Over all, loved Athens but would have liked 2 nights a the Melia!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynchmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#27 of 281 in Athens
2,118 reviews
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#33 of 281 in Athens
2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Novotel Athenes
#58 of 281 in Athens
2,316 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#25 of 281 in Athens
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novus City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novus City Hotel

Address: 23 Karolou, Athens 104 37, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $100 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novus City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Novus City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing