We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good price-quality report” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lion Hotel Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lion Hotel Apartments
Ranked #146 of 337 Hotels in Athens
Bucharest
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good price-quality report”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Me and my wife spend 4 nights at this hotel in december 2012.
Hotel and ammenities: good position near the metro station ( about 10 minutes’ walk) and within a walking distance (about 20 minutes) to Syntagma square. Lack of restaurants nearby (only some fast foods without tables to sit, selling sandwiches, burgers, hot dogs and so on).
Rooms and apartments: spacious, clean, but very old (furniture, bathroom, kitchen – everything is dusty, rusty and needs to be changed)… on the corridors and in the rooms it is a heavy smell from smokers who lived there before you. The personnel do their best, everything is shinny and clean in spite it is very ancient…An important problem is the fact that they are permanently trying to make savings (the energy, and that’s why the personnel systematically stopped the centralized air conditioning and consequently in the rooms it is cold, the water is not sufficiently warm, the coffee, tea, shampoo, soap –are provided only if you ask for them).
Reception: very polite and kind personnel.
Anyway, a good price-quality report.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catalin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    31
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
27
15
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Although the rooms are dated and a bit shabby, the size of the rooms and cleanliness make up for it. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the room I stayed in had a massive balcony which was appreciated. The apartments are equipt with everything you could wish for.
It is very close to the main Metro line which takes you into Athens centre within 5 mins.
I would definately stay here again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

I had to go to athens for a congress - far too late I thought of booking a hotel. At that point there was not much choice left. So a temmate and I decided to stay at the Lion Hotel appartments. We booked online for a price of 80 Euros per night for both of us.
When we arrived at the "hotel" the friendly staff was already awaiting us and we got our room. Okay not the newest furniture - but it was clean and it was really huge! A living room (with a very old tv, greek broadcasting only), a kitchen with everything you need, a bathroom and a two bed bedroom. We easily could have stayed there with the rest of our team (another 3 people). I
t wasn't the quietest hotel, you could hear the traffic outside - but for the area we stayed it was okay. We knew there was no breakfast, but at 5minutes walking distance you could find enough coffee shops - the staff told us the way.
Internet was free and allways available.
All in all for this price an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeurDicht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

I stayed at this hotel with my wife and our young children for 3 nights, during a visit to Athens (leisure). The hotel has an ideal location (Kolonaki, next to two metro stations, away from central streets), very spacious rooms 60m2 (bedroom, livingroom, kitchen and bath) and very good price (90 euros per night through booking.com).
There is also very fast WiFi.
There is no breakfast, however you have the kitchen and a supermarket next to the hotel.
The furniture and the equipment is quite old but functioning. The staff is very friendly, they resolve any problem with the equipment. The room is relatively clean.

Room Tip: Select a room in the upper floors (5th or 6th) to have good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ioannis70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

The best thing about this hotel is the location. (I needed to be in Kolonaki).
The second best thing, is the location.
The third best thing, is the free wifi.
The apt itself is somewhat shabby, especially the living room with a very old TV that gives very limited and blurry reception. But if you do not intend to stay in the room a lot, (and you should not...there is too much to see), then I can say that it worked well for me. It was quiet and clean. The kitchen facilties were a bonus. The bathroom is nice and large and renovated. I would stay there again if I had to be in Kolonaki.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller21421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Stayed for two nights in a two bedroom suite. Rooms do look a bit jaded but that is okay. Basic services, and really tiny but adequately equipped kitchen. Friendly helpful staff more than make up for any minor inconveniences. They kept our extra bags for two days till we got back from Santorini (even though we were not going to stay with them). It is located in a quiet green area full of embassies. You can also climb Mount Lycabettus from from here. There are also a few museums nearby.The mini mart's just around the corner. All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amustraveltales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Effective air-con and excellent fast and free WiFi. Clean, adequate kitchen facilities. Polite, friendly and helpful staff. Mini-mart round the corner. Short walk to Evangelismos metro. Quiet area with lots of trees and roomy balcony from which to view them. Stayed for 5 nights. Pleasant area to walk around and walking distance to boutiques. Comfortable walk to
Syntagma through National Gardens.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LitsaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.3 mi away
Delice Hotel - Family Apartments
0.3 mi away
Holiday Suites
Holiday Suites
#91 of 337 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Embassy Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Airotel Alexandros
Airotel Alexandros
#81 of 337 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 442 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ilisia Hotel
BEST WESTERN Ilisia Hotel
#187 of 337 in Athens
3.0 of 5 stars 198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Age Hotel Athens
Golden Age Hotel Athens
#41 of 337 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Hotel Apartments

Property: Lion Hotel Apartments
Address: 7 Efzonon, Athens 115 21, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 337 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lion Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lion Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing