We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimon Athens Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Athos Hotel(Athens)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Omiros Hotel(Athens)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveler rating
110
153
63
19
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
153
63
19
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno liftsyntagma squarememory foamgreat locationflights of stairsroof garden terracemodest hoteleconomy roomthird floorsingle roomquiet streetspacious balconythree nightsgreek hotelssome great restaurantsmins walk awaycost euros
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 348 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Kimon for six days in late July. This coincided with an incredible heat wave that engulfed Athens (103 - 108 F for four straight days). The room was small (who cares, I was alone on business) but unbelievably clean. The bed was fine, pillow was great and the bathroom, though miniscule, fit my needs. The air conditioning, not usually a big selling point except for reasons pointed out above, was outstanding!!

I noticed that some on here have pooh poohed the Kimon's rule of leaving your key at the front desk when you leave. It turned out to be a really nice thing. Since the front desk people actually acknowledged you by asking for the key and returning it, you got to know them and it felt much more personal than most big hotels.

Overall, unless you'd like to get your money's worth out of a hotel by staying in your room all day and marveling at the acoutrements, save your cash for more fun things (like the great Greek food or souvenirs) and stay at the Kimon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mwbroucek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

The entrance doesn't look very inviting and the hotel overall doesn't have a particular charm but the room are renovated and clean. The location is perfect: in "Plaka", next to pleanty of nice bars and restaurants but it's not noisy at all. The employees are all very kind and helpful with any kind of information! One of the cheapest hotel in this area.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NicPato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

hotel is 5min walk from metro. it's clean and efficient. good for a quick stay. If you're looking to spend much time in the room then yes, there are more luxurious options out there. but this is a great safe, clean option for half the price of most nearby hotels. there is no elevator to keep in mind of you have huge heavy bags. stay here..then in the evening..go nearby atop the plaka hotel rooftop and enjoy a cafe or drink with a beautiful view of the acropolis.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yellowfish22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I have stayed here twice and on both occasions the service was second to none. The only let downs are smallish rooms. At the same time, I said to myself, we are only in the rooms for a minimal amount of time and that is to shower and rest.

Overall, great location, great staff, great service, clean and cosy.

Room Tip: go for the more expensive one.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ioannis86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I'm a huge tripadvisor fan and if I see a hotel has a 4-star rating or above, I'm sold. Well, this is the one time that tripadvisor reviews did not match my experience.

Yes, the hotel is situated in a good location. Yes, the staff are nice enough. But it's a budget hotel that feels like a budget hotel. The air in the room brought in cigarette smoke from other rooms. The bathroom felt dingy.

So you're saying to yourself, 'Hey what's wrong with a budget hotel, You Snob?' Well, for basically the same price, or a few dollars more, you can book a 4-star hotel using hotwire or priceline. So why stay budget if you can stay 4-star?

And believe me this hotel feels cheap. It doesn't feel cosy cheap. It feels cheap, cheap. And if you're there to see the Acropolis, which is so majestic, why not stay in a classy hotel to match the experience?

Room Tip: The best rooms are not in this hotel. Look elsewhere.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
2  Thank BocosTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews