We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and central”
Review of Kimon Athens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kimon Athens Hotel
Ranked #68 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We had a couple of nights here either side of a trip to Santorini in order to explore Athens a bit, and found that it was right in the heart of things - taking only a few minutes to get to Syntagma Square, the Acropolis and other sights, and there are some great restaurants just nearby.

The rooms we had both had lovely balconies, decent air-con and memory-foam mattresses. Everything was clean and fresh and everything seemed to be working OK, and our only criticism is that the bathrooms ended up getting a bit wet, since one had only a poorly-shutting shower curtain, and the other had a dodgy seal on the shower cubicle, but otherwise, great.

Staff were fantastic and very helpful, both about our late arrival requirements and places to go in Athens.

Taking the good value breakfast (try the island special) on the roof terrace gives you a morning view of the Acropolis.

Don't expect the Hilton - it's a great little private hotel in a great location and won't break the bank.

Room Tip: Rooms 2 and 7 were great, with nice corner balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pc3356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 332 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2012

For 70 euro/night, this room was a great value. Easy walking to all historic sites and in the heart of the Plaka. Free wifi, plus a shared computer downstairs available to all guests. Very comfortable bed. Rooftop balcony open to all guests, two of the tables have a view of the acropolis. The balcony was never crowded, usually we were the only people up there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EuroTraveler U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I was here for a few nights and had booked a superior room. It was worth the extra bit of money: the room had a walk around balcony and it was great to be able to sit outside. I love Athens, I’ve been many times and every time again I enjoy it. This hotel it right in the middle of the centre, around the corner from the Plakas, so walking distance to sights, restaurants and café’s. When you walk around there is a good chance you’re blocked by an excavation,
which I love: it’s all still there! You walk around it or find a place nearby to have a coffee and wonder about life in Athens 2000 years ago. How often do you get the chance?
Visit a museum, go up mount Lykavittos, it’s all great. The people at the hotel were very friendly, the room was very good: not top quality but you would pay four times as much if it were. The bathroom was very small but doable. The only weird thing was the cupboard: you’d have to climb into the windowsill to hang anything up there. I have never seen anything like it.
I decided not to try and live out of my suitcase (plus there were some drawers I used).
Anyway, as I said when I left: I’ll be back... :-)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PetraRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed here for five days in April 2012 after looking for somewhere in Plaka. The location is great for many ancient sites and although it's in a touristy part of town, it's much better than Monastiraki, which is grungier by comparison. The hotel is very clean, there are no lifts so be prepared for some windy stairs. The room was simple but sufficiently furnished. Our bathroom was very small but did the job. There is a pc for general use in the lobby which is useful plus there is free wifi. The staff at reception were all really good. A special mention to Alix who was a wealth of knowledge and who entertained us with his stories.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Very nice rooms. it seemed that they were recently renovated. and the price was really good for what was offered.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tasos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Hotel "Kimon" is in a nice location and clean,but the service was disappointing! Internet was not working,breakfast was not served,even was agreed day before! the stuff was not cooperative and not reacting on complains.The answers were "i don't know". I really don't know how this people can work in tourism sector.There are better and more economic places around,so good luck!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thessath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Good location, clean rooms. Staff were almost freindly... except one :)
It is 5 minutes walk to monastirak, and 5 minutes walk to anafiotika..
and in parallel with ermou street..

the price is better if you just drop by, I get a single room for 35 euro, while i checked it in hotels.com it was 68 euro /night.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
3  Thank mina_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#53 of 282 in Athens
615 reviews
Plaka
Hotel Acropolis House
Hotel Acropolis House
#81 of 282 in Athens
506 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#31 of 282 in Athens
1,830 reviews
Evripides Hotel
#51 of 282 in Athens
786 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#45 of 282 in Athens
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimon Athens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimon Athens Hotel

Address: 27 Apollonos, Athens 105 56, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $52 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Kimon Athens Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimon Athens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing