We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel, decent location”
Review of Centrotel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Centrotel Hotel
Ranked #21 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2014

great budget hotel to stay while you are in athens. the managers were extremely helpful and the service was extremely good. hotel is located very close to all the tourist attractions in athens.

the rooms were extremely neat and tidy and the amenities were more than for a budget hotel. will definitely return :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ankit s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

291 - 297 of 1,203 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

located 30 Minutes from International airport (ATH) cost 40 EU (hotel staff can arrange it in advance.) it's also 20 minutes from the ship port (30 EU).
locaed near Victory tram station where you can go most of the attraction; Monasaraka market where you can walk to most of the other important things you must seen in Athens.
Watch for shop lifters on the tram and neighborhood around the hotel.
advise you not to book any private tours because everything is within walking distance. Also try the happy train which take you around the city, its fun specialty for kids.
Don't have the hotels breakfast
they have internet and printer (free)
The hotel is clean, good service, but not
safe around it, because there... I was robbed.
C U around.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank majeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

It's always good to return to an old friend after a break, which is what the Centrotel is becoming. As always the staff are welcoming and friendly and the standards of this good value hotel in central Athens have been maintained. Good location, well appointed clean rooms, decent size balconies - nothing more is needed for a short break in the city. I was grateful for the help provided by the reception staff in booking bus tickets for a trip to Olympia.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrPokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This nice little hotel has everything we need. Few minutes walk from victoria metro station, quiet neighbourhood, good heating system and hot water (for early winter) reasonable price for a nice and clean hotel with great service. The front office manager, George have good, honest advice on short overnight stay at nafplio. He called the taxi to pick us up ftom hotel to the bus station, where we took a public bus (2.5hrs for 13.10 euro one way) to nafplio. His valuable advice saved us much trouble and money. The hotel also helped us to store our luggage while we travelled to Santorini, which helped us save a lot of hassle. Thumbs up to Centrotel!

Lee

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank leettl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights during the winter low season. The hotel staff were very friendly and whenever I have requested for something (a kettle, a bottle opener) they brought the items up to my room almost immediately. Free underground parking was also very handy.

I only have one small complaint - the heating in the hotel room cannot be adjusted and the room gets incredibly hot in the night.

The hotel is located near two metro stations and is 2 stops away from the main tourist attractions. The local area is pretty quiet and restaurant options are limited.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IppyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Very nice hotel, small rooms but new. The staff is heplful and the breakfast was very good. My room was a very nice view and at night in the terrace the pictures was great. The only bad thing we went with my family 10 people in minibus, my husband use wheelchair and the street is to small and not allow minibus so we stop in the next street with suitcases my husband and walking to the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Irma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We followed Tripadvisor reviews on this hotel and weren't disappointed: you are 10 min walk from the main train station or the victoria subway station (2 stations from the center, 4 from the Acropole museum), you get free parking, a big room with a balcony and a bubble bath, free wifi and a very helpful staff for 40 euros a night in october!

If you are feeling hungry, as the clerk told us, you have a gyros (kebab) next door and 2 supermarkets plus a bakery within 200 meters on the left when you leave the hotel. If you go on the right, towards victoria square, you will find a moms and pops canteen (4 euros for meatballs (ketfedes) with potatoes) and close to the subway, numerous cafés with sweet and savory options, a souvlaki (chicken or pork brochettes on the BBQ) corner shop and even the Kroyskas restaurant where we ate often.
This is a typical greek restaurant with local customers and an english menu. The choice of main dishes can be small (around 5) in the evening but they never run out of moussaka (6 euros), Greek salad (one for 2 people, 5 euros) or "burgers" with tomatoes or potatoes. You can even get some fish dish for less than 8 euros if you are lucky.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
11  Thank cmdpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Victory Inn
#52 of 282 in Athens
305 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#23 of 282 in Athens
622 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#35 of 282 in Athens
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#22 of 282 in Athens
1,409 reviews
Exarchia
Best Western Museum Hotel
Best Western Museum Hotel
#65 of 282 in Athens
937 reviews
Marble House
#20 of 282 in Athens
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centrotel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrotel Hotel

Address: 11 Peoniou, Athens 104 40, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#15 Family Hotel in Athens
#24 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#26 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $40 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Centrotel Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly built hotel, Centrotel offers 50 guest rooms and suites. All of the rooms are spacious, well furnished and modern in design. Each room is fully equipped with a range of modern facilities including satellite TV and hydro-massage bath, as well as a private balcony. The hotel is located just 2 stops on the Metro from the Acropolis and the Plaka area of Athens. Syntagma Square is just 2km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Centrotel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrotel Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing