We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Centrotel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Centrotel Hotel
Ranked #27 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We only stayed one night on our way to the Greek Islands. And we absolutely enjoyed it! We had original booked a double room and without asking they upgraded us to a bigger one. The rooms are decorated so modernly. The bathroom looks like a 10 star hotel! Really it is so nice we would definitely go back if we would return to Athens some day. The location is not the best but nothing major. The staff is excellent so helpful. Overall excellent stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank narizberta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    394
    83
    17
    10
See reviews for
162
645
83
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Nice hotel with a nice room. Somewhat unusual location, but there are other hotels located in this area as well. Easy access to any part of Athens with two Metros within a 5-6 minute walk of the hotel. The room was spacious with a nice washroom. The bed was very firm, not quite the quality one gets in North America but still good. Overall, GREAT value.

Here is some more information that I hope you find helpful. There's a small restaurant that is a 20 second walk from the hotel (when you leave the hotel go left). Nothing fancy but cheap and half decent Greek food. There are two mini-grocery stores within a 40 second walk of the hotel. When you leave the hotel go to your left and then take the first left for one or continue straight for the other. Also, the two Metro Stations are Larissa and Victoria. Victoria is about one minute closer (via walking). However, Victoria is uphill and Larissa is downhill. So when we went to the airport with our luggage we took the Larissa Station (it sounds like a silly point but when you have a bunch of luggage you're hauling uphill or downhill can make a world of difference). I hope you find this helpful!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank FrenchRok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

10 mins walk to 2 Metro lines,either of which can connect to the airport with one change or to Pireaus port. The area is somewhat cosmopolitan but always felt safe. The reception staff were outstanding and the room very nice with a well equipped bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

My friends and I stayed here in June 2013. Below are some of the pros and cons of our stay:

Pros:
- Reasonably close to tourist sites as long as you're willing to walk ~10 mins to a subway line and take a 10 min subway
- Good value for Athens
- Bathroom was spacious and room was comfortable (we overslept one day until 2:30 pm because the blackout curtains were so effective and it was relatively quiet..! Oops)
- Nearby were a few bakeries and supermarket

Cons:
- A subway ride away from main restaurants in Plaka etc, so if you care about being close to those areas it may not be the best location
- Breakfast looked basic, though we didn't have a chance to try it
- Service by the front desk staff was a little sporadic; one guy answered the phone "Yeah?" when I called and gave wrong info about the opening hours of a site..

Overall, we were happy with our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a gem of a hotel with super friendly staff. The area is quite nice and safe, especially when arriving from the Viktoria metro stop. It has a great location and we were delighted by the low price!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Centrotel Hotel is definitely a very nice place which we for sure would recommend.Very nice , clean and spacious rooms and a beautiful bathroom with bath . Very friendly and helpful staff . It is located in a regular working class neighbourhood but what's wrong with that . We never had an unsafe feeling even at midnight when we came back from the center . The Victoria subway station is at walking distance just two blocks away , and once in the subway it is only two stops to the Acropolis station . If your familiar with taking the subway , the hotel is in a very convenient location . So the trip from the hotel to the old center of Athens doesn't take more than 25 minutes . We liked the hotel so much that we booked also our last night in Greece again in this hotel and we where very surprised that we got offered a suite for the same price .
In our opinion absolutely value for your money . The only remark we have is , the internet in the room is way to slow but close to the reception area are a few laptops available . Just a small detail .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickZVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is a very good hotel. Very clean, comfortable, well appointed and with exceptional service (George in particular is excellent). Take normal precautions with valuables as Greece is suffering economically and therefore inevitably there are pickpockets around.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Victory Inn
#31 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Marble House
#24 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#20 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#34 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Exarchia
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
#52 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#36 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centrotel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrotel Hotel

Property: Centrotel Hotel
Address: 11 Peoniou, Athens 104 40, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#19 Family Hotel in Athens
#28 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#31 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Centrotel Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly built hotel, Centrotel offers 50 guest rooms and suites. All of the rooms are spacious, well furnished and modern in design. Each room is fully equipped with a range of modern facilities including satellite TV and hydro-massage bath, as well as a private balcony. The hotel is located just 2 stops on the Metro from the Acropolis and the Plaka area of Athens. Syntagma Square is just 2km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centrotel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrotel Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing