We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Centrotel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Centrotel Hotel
Ranked #25 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very good and cheap hotel. The service is perfect, efficient and kind. They will help you in everything you need.. With free parking and wifi. It's not in the center but the metro is near. The only problem is the neighbourhood that is not clean and looks poor and at night it can look unsafe, but by taxi it is just 5€ from the city center.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marariaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    394
    83
    17
    10
See reviews for
162
645
83
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Union, New Jersey
Level Contributor
248 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Great budget hotel. 3 star hotel with 5 star staff members. The staff really make this place great. About a 4 block walk from the Victoria Metro station. Good bakeries nearby for sweets. The front desk staff are excellent. They gave us great instructions on how to travel via Metro/Subway as this was my first time in Europe. Also called in dinner reservations at our request. Great value!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fries_with_Ketchup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

The service and standards of Centrotel are near perfect. We were upgraded to a larger room on arrival, and the staff were really friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and had everything you could need. Wifi strength wasn't great might be the only thing they could improve on. Jacuzzi bath, star lights on the ceiling, and fluffy bathrobes were the extra special touches. Location unfortunately wasn't the best, not very many shops or places I'd be comfortable sitting down for a meal or a drink, which would really be the only reason I wouldn't stay here again. It's a very short trip to the centre of Athens though, and made an ideal spot for crashing at the end of a long day of sightseeing!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenCorcoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long beach, ca
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

The rooms are spacious with plenty of closet space, good Internet access (wireless), well designed bathrooms and exceptional staff. The staff is very helpful and ready to provide suggestions. They even made some phone calls to Mykonos for me.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erickrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I had a good experience at the Centrotel. Friendly, courteous greeting by reception staff and was given an upgrade which was a lovely surprise. When I opened the door I was truly surprised by the room - it completely exceeded my expectations. Modern decor, very clean, largish sized room with balcony overlooking the street, bathroom complete with jacuzzi. Plenty of space to put things. The bed was comfortable enough. I am a light sleeper and wasn't disturbed by street noise.

I arrived at the Metro in the evening and did find it a bit difficult to get my bearings - I ended up taking a taxi to the hotel but it is easy walking distance. The hotel isn't in the most attractive part of Athens, its not a tourist area more a residential one. I didn't feel unsafe walking around - having said that I didn't walk around the surrounding streets at night time just during the day.

I have stayed at several central Athens hotels during the past five years. In the same price range, the others were much noisier, needed refurbishing and often smelling of cigarette smoke however they had the advantage of location. If I were staying in Athens for 2 days or more I would definitely stay at the Centreotel again. For just one day its probably better to be closer to the action.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nessie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

A great choice for a reasonable and very nice place to stay! The desk staff were exceptional (always a big smile and friendly greeting, and after the first time each one knew my room to give me my key without my having to tell her); room was modern and comfortable (marble bathrooms, comfortable bed, and most effective black-out “curtains” I’ve ever experienced!); free wi-fi and bottled water in mini-fridge—can’t think of anything else I want. Location will put some people off because despite its name the hotel is not central, and the neighborhood isn't the poshest, but it’s totally safe and only 200 meters from Victoria Metro station and 500 from Larissa, both of which are easy to reach by subway from the airport train’s termination at Syntagma. I didn’t use the Metro, though, because I like to walk and walked to/from Monastiraki, Plaka, and Syntagma Square all three days in 45 minutes or less each way (not sure I’d want to do that in the middle of summer, though). Everything considered, I’ll definitely think Centrotel first if I return to Athens.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardiner, Montana
Level Contributor
189 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

If you are looking to save money, this is your hotel in Athens! We stayed 6 nights and enjoyed ourselves. This hotel is in a residential part of the city away from the tourist areas.

The pros: Friendly and helpful service!!!! Clean rooms. Nicely appointed rooms. Free WIFI in the room. Nice property. Breakfast available. Easy walk to metro. Very quiet (especially since you are in the heart of the city).

The cons: Questionable neighborhood (make sure you walk to and from the hotel in the daytime hours, otherwise take a taxi back to the hotel) it is not a big deal. Very hard beds (we asked for the hotel to put a comforter under our sheet which really helped). View from the balconies is not the best, it is the view of an apartment courtyard complex which is run down - but again it is quiet.

I would recommend this hotel if you want to save money. It is worth it as long as you know how it all works.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the courtyard side away from the road since it is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YBIInnkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Victory Inn
#32 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Marble House
#27 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#20 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#35 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Exarchia
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
#52 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#37 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centrotel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrotel Hotel

Property: Centrotel Hotel
Address: 11 Peoniou, Athens 104 40, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#19 Family Hotel in Athens
#28 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#31 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Centrotel Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly built hotel, Centrotel offers 50 guest rooms and suites. All of the rooms are spacious, well furnished and modern in design. Each room is fully equipped with a range of modern facilities including satellite TV and hydro-massage bath, as well as a private balcony. The hotel is located just 2 stops on the Metro from the Acropolis and the Plaka area of Athens. Syntagma Square is just 2km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centrotel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrotel Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing