We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but shortage of restaurants”
Review of Centrotel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Centrotel Hotel
Ranked #25 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
El Salvador
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good value but shortage of restaurants”
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is good value. Rooms are clean and a good size. The location is out of the centre, but only a short tube journey away. On the downside i could hearing talking from the next room and there is a shortage of restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanielGreenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    407
    86
    17
    10
See reviews for
171
662
87
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night after returning from a Meteora tour. The hotel is Awesome. Superb value for its price in Athens.

The location is 350 m from Victoria square and walking distance from 2 metro stops - Victoria and Larisa.

The hotel is an modern oasis among most other rated Athens Hotels, which are old. The rooms are spacious as seen in the photos uploaded. Great light fittings, good ac, lots of storage space, comfortable beds.....mark the essentials of this hotel . The wifi had a good signal in the room. 
The elevator was very spacious compared to some of the Plaka Hotels. 
The lobby area is nice and spacious and good to have a drink or two. 
The bath area was real good. Nice tub with conveniently placed shower and a spacious table top area.

Would appeal to tourists on a mid rung budget who want top class facilities, to tourists used to traveling on the metro to around the city, to tourists who want a feel for another part of the city.
The hotel is near Omonia and Kypseli. With a bit of longish walk - you can also visit To Petalo in Kypseli , which had awesome lunch buffets on Sunday.
Centrotel is also very close to the National Archeaological Museum.

The reception staff are very helpful and would guide you to the good restaurants nearby for all kinds of budget.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rajiv_Gopinath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Great hotel . . . not so great area of town. I had read a lot of reviews that talked about the bad part of town this hotel is in. It's not so bad. Definitely not a touristy area, but a nice hotel for a great price. Metro was a little further than I hoped, put plenty of life within walking distance. Fairly high police presence in the area made you feel safe, though they were there for a reason. Once you master the metro, everything in Athens is close.
Due to the great reviews I'd read and the low prices in January, I booked a larger room. As I went to sleep the first night I was a little taken aback by the "light show" on the ceiling - a large 4x4 sheet of wood with lights in it that changed colors. Kind of reminded me of a mirrored ceiling. Unique.

Room Tip: My balcony door had a large sliding metal outer door that blocked outside light and noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We were led astray by all the great reviews of this place. It is in a very poor area of Athens and far from any attractions. We did not feel safe walking at night in the area and you have to walk to the metro to get anywhere. Not really any places to eat or have breakfast around the hotel. The hotel itself is fine, but there is a destroyed building right across the street, which is what you will have a view of. We were really dismayed with the area. When we told locals where we were staying they frowned at us and shook their heads. Not what you want to see on vacation or any other time! Really, find a better place to stay!! We paid for three nights in advance, but checked out after the second day without a refund so that tells you what kind of hotel it is.

Room Tip: Awful location with debris and destroyed buildings around. Felt unsafe to walk around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank Sari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Don't be too put off by this hotel being a little outside of Athens true centre - it is only two stops on the easy to understand metro or a 25 minute walk. It might not be the nicest part of town either but we always felt safe. And it is worth it as Centrotel was one of the nicest places we'd stayed at an absolutely amazing low price - only 50 euros per night. The rooms were very clean, had comfortable beds and well-stocked bathrooms. And the hotel staff could not have been more helpful. If it is value you're looking for, you can't go pass this place

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KentP81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Very nice hotel. Slightly nicer than Plaka Hotel, but Plaka Hotel has a much better location. We got out and walked a bit here, this area was scarier (Im female) from my perspective. I preferred being closer to the Plaka area. We stayed here just one night before going to Mykonos island. It was a great layover room-very clean, big balconies. I'd recommend it highly for 1 or 2 nights. But to really experience the tourist areas you want to be a little closer than where this hotel is.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in December 2012 with a group of friends. The hotel is very clean and modern. Staff was helpfull and friendly. It is close to 2 metro stations. The hotel is great value for money. Just buy a daypass with which you get access to all busses, trams and metro for 24 hours, costing €4, and you are good to go

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hardus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Victory Inn
#49 of 326 in Athens
299 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#26 of 326 in Athens
608 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#36 of 326 in Athens
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#24 of 326 in Athens
1,346 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#31 of 326 in Athens
1,863 reviews
Exarchia
Best Western Museum Hotel
Best Western Museum Hotel
#62 of 326 in Athens
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centrotel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrotel Hotel

Property: Centrotel Hotel
Address: 11 Peoniou, Athens 104 40, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#19 Family Hotel in Athens
#28 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#31 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Centrotel Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly built hotel, Centrotel offers 50 guest rooms and suites. All of the rooms are spacious, well furnished and modern in design. Each room is fully equipped with a range of modern facilities including satellite TV and hydro-massage bath, as well as a private balcony. The hotel is located just 2 stops on the Metro from the Acropolis and the Plaka area of Athens. Syntagma Square is just 2km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Centrotel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrotel Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing